My favorite thing in the whole world!

in #life5 years ago

Yummy lunch ✔️
Play with makeup ✔️
Rings filled on my Apple Watch ✔️
Have a successful family fun day ✔️✔️✔️



Midway through the week @guthrie suggested that we read books under a tree for family fun day. First off, I’m super proud of him because he’s gotten so good at reading and secondly, I’m all in when it comes to hanging out and reading under a tree because that’s one of my favorite things!

My love for trees peaked after reading, The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein. I was a little one and I wanted to be friends with particular trees. Of course I knew that you couldn’t communicate with them in real life but I wish I could. Maybe that’s why I’m so into the Ents from The Lord of the Rings and I play green in Magic: The Gathering. Ohhhhh!! For those MTG players out there- did you hear? RUSSO BROTHERS BRINGING MAGIC: THE GATHERING ANIMATED SERIES TO NETFLIX. Yup. I’m excited. Anyway, let’s backtrack.... I used to own a copy of The Giving Tree but my cat accidentally peed on it. It sucked and I was pissed buuuut what’s done is done. If you’ve ever had male cats then you know the struggle.

Besides the book, I have so many childhood memories of lying under the shade of what I thought were the tallest tree. Picture a tiny little foxy cradled in a brightly colored hammock, gently swaying in the backyard. One end was tied to a growing pear tree and the other on a much larger black walnut tree. Another fond memory I have was spreading out a large fluffy blanket in grandmas backyard and dozing off with my cousins and aunts beside me. I still do this!

When I got to an age where I could work for my own money, I found myself spending less and less time outdoors. I’d spend the day dreaming about leisure activities like reading a book under a tree. I would pencil in a reminder to do this on a day off but end up sleeping instead. Sure, it doesn’t seem like a big deal until time passed you by.


Our family hanging out at the park today. We had a blanket, pillow and snacks.


Even though it was @guthrie’s idea to read he did everything but that.



Thanks for reading. 🦊

Sort:  

have never opened a comic book ever, sorry is that what you call them?
I'm very ignorant! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10