Still alive

in #life5 years ago




Harsh winter and lack of sunlight.

I’m seriously in awe. I’ve been told numerous times that it’s fairly difficult to kill an aloe plant and those friends were right because my aloe plant has been through the worst. When I first brought it home, the pot tipped over twice in the car, so most of the stems were broken. I was devastated because I expected the worst but accepted that it was totally my fault. Instead of securing it in a steamed box on the floor, I had it beside me in the passenger seat and neglected to buckle it in.

Fast forward ⏭ I’ve forgotten to water it on busy weeks and for awhile it was in an area with little sunlight but still survived. The plant also began to produce so I gifted @tarotbyfergus a small portion of it.


Our friend Kelli also surprised us with another houseplant that she grew in her fish tank.

Super cool idea but I’m not sure if I’d be able to do something like that in our home. Here’s a video I found of someone growing sweet potatoes using this method.





I was a bit worried that her gifted plant would die but it’s doing fine as well. :)

The sun decided to make an appearance so I thought I’d have a little photo shoot with my plants. 🌱







Would you ever grow your plants over a fish tank?


Thanks for stopping by! 🦊

Sort:  

Someone brought this for me, hopefully I'll take a good care of it hehe :)
53221791_425068054898592_9077211705611649024_n.jpg

I’ll cross my fingers for you! Maybe if you talk to it and give it your love everyday then it’ll thrive!

thank you dear :)
I'm sure I'll do my best for it <3

I remember pleading with my neighbour when i was younger for a plant. I wanted to apply the slimy white on face. I had read it somewhere it was good for the skin. She said my skin was ok, i had a clear skin no form acne then so she refused. I stole it😂😂😂

Hahah! That hilarious! I’ve worn lots of facial masks that have aloe in it and I love how soft my skin feels. I haven’t harvested any gel from my aloe now because I’m waiting for it to get much larger.

Hello, @vermillionfox.
Aloe vera, "sábila", as we call them in my country, are tough people. They endure extremes with incredible "entereza".
In my region, the Venezuelan east, they are wild (I have 14 of these plants and they are exuberant, because I irrigate them and give them other cuddles). They can withstand the hot sun almost without water and remain very green. On the other hand, the cold can make them suffer a little.
I see your aloe survives like a champion!
I leave you the photograph of one of my "sábila" posing next to Rita (she loves them too).

Aloe y Rita.png

Wow! 14!? I envy you and I wish I could plant mine outdoors. My mother’s Aloe Vera is as large as the one you’ve got pictured. Aww your Rita looks adorable snuggled next to it! <3

I have no fish tank but if I would fill it with cactuses or so. I heard the aloe vera does need a lot of light. Might try it as well. It sounds like a great plant for me

Posted using Partiko Android

I’m very curious to see if a cactus would thrive over a fish tank! You should definitely give this plant a try!

I have a plant just like that. A spider plant. How it's survived through all the abuse it's had over the years is amazing.

I have a friend that’s offered me some of her spider plant! If you’ve given it a heavy beating and it’s survived then I don’t see a reason to not accept it. ^^

I would do that @vermillionfox and have thought about it, though an aloe would die if it's feet were wet. Any succulent or Mediterranean plant would NOT like to have it's feet wet all the time.

That’s good to know! I have succulents and they’re still alive. I felt a little guilty because they always get watered last. They’re growing vertically to reach the light and I’m not sure if I should let them be or if I should trim them. 🤔

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63956.04
ETH 3066.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31