San Francisco street photography, friends edition - 11 original photos from Dec 27 2017

in #life6 years ago

011_KIMSF_2017.jpg

My father (not pictured) never really had any friends. I realized this later. Professional acquaintances and people from the church sure, but lately I realized that he never really had any actual friends. And for a long time I didn't either, like it was something not done by proper dutchmen. Seemingly true for his brothers and my mom's brothers, except one.

007_KIMSF_2017.jpg

George (not pictured) had a neighbor building a garage when I got a tour. Describing what he had done, it was like a part time job. He told me Brian had helped him drill a well (by hand) and I realized that they probably didn't count hours. At the time I was trying to bill everyone for everything. Like a lawyer who won't give advice over cocktails, I wasn't going to be taken for granted. I remember realizing at the time that these guys probably weren't keeping score.

006_KIMSF_2017.jpg

A pioneer returned to northern Alberta with a fancy US degree. I was going to carve a hold on the barren world and stake new ground. Claiming my right, I would master my domain. I built a business, got a mortgage, didn't really have any friends and for some reason my first wife didn't want to stay around.

008_KIMSF_2017.jpg

Scott claimed to not seek money, yet he was all about trying to set off liabilities against home made bonds. It was a pretty fascinating dichotomy, and he was excited to help me understand. He didn't bill me for the education, though I probably made him more than a couple meals. Because I was still in the trade this for that phase. Looking back, I think he was well beyond. He literally owned nothing but gave everything he had.

009_KIMSF_2017.jpg

Cheryl and I left Phoenix to try anything else. Photographers there are probably working again now, but there was a time when architectural photography was literally over. No work, flat broke, and family telling us to apply at fast food.

010_KIMSF_2017.jpg

We soon met others who in a similar financial place. I didn't know how many people were living in RV's full time, some at the campground hadn't moved in years. I noticed those with RV's (and titles, registered) still had the pretence, they were still kinda like my dad - upwardly and financially mobile, still hoping to staking their rightful claim in a cruel world.

012_KIMSF_2017.jpg

It was the ones without the RV's that really taught me something. When everything one owns is in their backpack, there is a corresponding humility, there is a sense that their Abrahamic mission has failed, they will never have the economic resources of an oligarch. It seems like once they let go of their attachment to building mountains of things, it seems their life changes. I'm not sure I've entirely put the idea away, its a scar that may last my entire life. Still I've had enough time off its track to begin to see the significance.

013_KIMSF_2017.jpg

When all possessions are replaceable in a thrift store for $20, theft stops being a main concern. Once one is able to let go of the idea of ownership, it seems there is a real liberation. Owning that camera bag and this computer, we never got there. But we got close, and we got to spend time with plenty who did. Leahroy could leave her tent for hours and worry not at all. Met another guy who made glassware, if he lost everything it would cost about $300 to rebuild. Like all of them, he didn't really care because he was on food stamps and the new batch would be coming out shortly.

014_KIMSF_2017.jpg

Years ago I met homeless guy in Edmonton. Thats a commitment, being homeless up there. Some tv crew helped him and Diane find a place, get furniture, success! Three months later they were back on the street. He described trying to pay bills and the rent and just said forget it. He was about the least stressed soul I've ever met.

015_KIMSF_2017.jpg

I don't really know the story of these two in these pictures. I don't know their names or where they're from. I'm sure they each have a story of personal goals, dashed, then a sense of liberation when they finally let it go.

016_KIMSF_2017.jpg

It wasn't until I really needed others that I learned what friendship actually was. A guy named David made it crystal clear what it meant to be decent and loving. Maybe I heard him because at that moment, I was finally ready to learn.

017_KIMSF_2017.jpg

We had no fief, couldn't pay for weeks in a hotel, no credit card to bail us out when cornered. Until we got a job and section 8 housing, the bank of mom and dad was apparently closed. Tough love, they were helping us, see.

004_KIMSF_2017.jpg

After a couple years of this I'm beyond many levels of judgement previously held; I realize the real solution to friendship is to base one's future on relationships built now. For those who are looking to long term security in the form of dollar bills, they mostly just call me lazy and justify not helping someone who won't help themselves. Yet those that have nothing, they somehow look at me like I too am free and then immediately try to help with whatever they can. It really is nearly 100% consistent.

005_KIMSF_2017.jpg

Money that loses its spending power is not real security, its a game boomers play to protect themselves when they're old. They didn't build relationships with people who will voluntarily help later, instead they built a financial obligation network where full faith in banks is backed by credits previously socked away. But beyond their control, the credit buying power diminishes over time, and lately it seems to be getting worse. All boomers know this, so they figure to sock away even more. As they get older, their growing loss of control makes them squeeze every opportunity harder.

025_KIMSF_2017.jpg

People about 60 years old now almost always have either friends, or savings. New millionaires are the worst. They trust no one, because to them, everyone might be in it for the money, and they have no idea how to tell the difference. The chairs in their theatre rooms are pristine and the carpet has no stains, because no one has ever lived there. Its all protected. No one feels free to explore, create, or do anything remotely out of control for fear of damage to stuff.

021_KIMSF_2017.jpg

My theory is that when we lose our attachment to the security of money, then we gain an ability to be friends. I have almost no examples of rich people having close friends, and endless examples of poor people being decent loving and generous.

023_KIMSF_2017.jpg

©2017 ramsayphotography

Sort:  

Nice Photos

I really enjoyed the sentiment of your post.

"When all possessions are replaceable in a thrift store for $20, theft stops being a main concern."

I have noticed this. Also, when you live under a bridge, there's just nothing you can do to keep your possessions. People will take them when you can't protect them.

This is just like the girls trapped in brothels, trafficked for sex. They can't keep their virtue, anymore than the poor can keep their possessions.

Just like the poor become generous with what possessions they have, so slaves have no compunction about virtue.

What was it the Peppers said? 'Give it away, give it away, give it away, now.'

We see exactly the same feature of generosity of that which has no value in the wealthy. They have arranged to secure their money and possessions, if rarely their virtue, but they cast their 'friendship' far and wide.

They are networking beasts!

Their friendship is every bit as valuable as the possessions of someone living under a bridge.

Thanks!

Great comment! I think I see what you're getting at, that the wealthy view friendships as disposable. I would absolutely agree, and suspect that concept is probably worth a whole post itself.

very inspiring story..

Pretty much what goes around comes around! The more you worry the more problems you notice! Stay positive and enjoy the life!

Great post! Thanks for sharing your personal philosophy about photograph and photographing. The pictures are quite good. I follow and upvote you.

Poor man trying to survive and navigate the Fog and Sun Belts of San Francisco.

I read a lot of stories about the San Fran homeless problem. They always seemed to be tied up with contrast between them and what effect these big tech companies have on asset prices. In my own country the homeless problem is going bananas too. This is a good report on it from Channel 4 in the UK.

That was great for me to watch. Thanks for adding that. I'll look for street vets in SF, we're back in two weeks and I'll see what I can find. Never heard of one yet, but I'll ask around. I suspect the European nations have a tendency to provide more services than here, or authors there suggest as much, but that looked really similar.

Worth imitating!

What a wonderful compliment! Thanks. :)

Its compliment of true worthiness my friend!

Yes... Fellow steemian if we Want a better world we need to achieved the essential elements that are love, respect, and kindness regardless of race and gender... Thank you @ voder..!

Your photos are fantastic! I wouldn't be as courageous to make so many photographs of one couple - normally I snap just once or twice to capture the scene before me. I love the way you have interwoven a story in your images, and you raise some interesting points about material possessions and our consumerism based culture nowadays, looking forward to seeing more!

First, thanks for such a great comment. It is weird always, no kidding, that never seems to go away. Two best tricks: 1. Long lens. These were all shot at 105mm (which is about the limit I can carry around town without breaking my wrist) 2. Pretend you're paparazzi and they are Sophia Loren. Before 2001, mostly people took it as a compliment and maybe I still try and project an expectation of that? I don't really know to be honest. So far I've only been threatened a couple times and no one has yet taken a swing. :)

You have an interesting take on money and friends. Your photos & story complement each other. Great job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63014.19
ETH 3071.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83