The Poetic Way To Deal With Stress

in #life6 years ago (edited)

The older I get, the more responsibilities I have. That has been the case since I was born. First it was, hold your own bottle, dress yourself, do your homework and now it's get roofing estimates, new tires for my car and fix the get the proposal in before noon.

Life is only getting crazier, and the stress is only mounting.

I find that having a way to distance your self from reality, even for just a few minutes a day, can really help make me more efficient overall. 

Being on a beach is a great way to relieve stress, but I can't do that every day... unfortunately.  

There is one thing that I do to help simply the world, that works every time. I write a poem.

I know it sounds silly, but try it.

Here is what I do. I open a blank document and I start with a random topic or picture. I put on some background music, like the below video from YouTube.

Then, I write a poem. I give myself permission to make mistakes and it doesn't have to be great. The key is getting lost in the words. Drowning out the world and only focusing on imagination and inspiration. 

Picking a positive topic really helps me. It sets my mind on a path to write something that inspires. The by-product is my getting inspired too, and ready to move on with my day.

That is why you see a lot of poetry on my Steemit blog. When I get stressed, I produce a lot of poetry. I generally could do a new poetry book each year if I was more motivated to share it.

So the next time you get stressed out... write a poem. Write with no rules and just unbridled focus. See if it doesn't take away some of your stress.

Let me know in the comments what you do to relieve stress.

Thank you for reading. You are awesome.


Sort:  

What do you think about day dreaming? I get involved to it too much. Is it normal or should i get help?

there are some errors in your html

Thanks, I fixed it.

no need to say thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27