Complimentary Breakfast by Steemit

in #life6 years ago

Six months ago was a time when dreams came true, a boost in life for some, a little improvement in life and an unforgettable experience. I could say surreal which not anyone would believe. December was the time when SBD price rocketed high reaching USD exchange rate up to more than $14. We joined the community July last year and seeing the price breaking the $1 mark we felt was already ground breaking. Let me share with you one of our experiences four months ago made possible by Steemit.


Complimentary Breakfast by Steemit

1.JPG

7.1.png

It is still very fresh from my memory how I was sitting at the breakfast table. A normal day and I was getting ready to go to work. Just when I was about to leave my wife hysterical and said, "The price has gone up! The price has gone up!" I immediately checked the price which has broken the $10 mark. My head was whirling and was still trying to process what I was seeing. Immediately we converted some of our SBD as we wanted to experience what it felt like to earn from blogging.

My wife booked an overnight stay at a hotel inside the historic walled city of Intramuros in Manila. You could read more about it here A Walk in the Walled City.

2.JPG

The name of the hotel is called The Bayleaf and checking in at hotels is something we don't usually do. The accommodation included a complimentary breakfast buffet at the 9 Spoons restaurant just below the roof deck.

After a magical romantic night with my wife A Night of Romance Powered by Steem we headed back to our room to get some rest from the long day. We woke up at 6 am as we were told that the buffet would be ready at that time. The kids were all so excited to see what was for breakfast so we headed up to the restaurant.

4.JPG

The moment we entered the restaurant the crew greeted us with a smile and guided us to our table. Just two tables were occupied at this time and the place was so quiet. Maybe we were too early but that's fine best to be ahead of everyone. More time we could spend going around the city after an early breakfast. There were fresh fruits and salad. The fruits my wife would love but salad for breakfast is something we may want to skip for now.

5.JPG

They had Siomai which is local version of dumpling which is very popular in our country. Every breakfast buffet is not complete without the omelette station. I skipped the omelette and just asked for a sunny side up.

6.JPG

7.JPG

The bread section which had a couple of spreads including peanut butter to strawberry jam.

8.JPG

They had freshly baked croissant which I love. Back at home our local bakeries don't sell croissants you would need to go to a bakery at the mall to buy one.

9.JPG

White bread, wheat bread and the very popular local bread pandesal. Now pandesal is something you could buy in any bakery in our country. A breakfast companion to the majority of our population. I tried my hand at baking pandesal back in my baking days and I'm proud to say that our recipe was delicious.

10.JPG

Roasted tomatoes sprinkled with dried rosemary and some tuna roll which I did not try.

11.JPG

During breakfast I always look for meat. Here I was a bit disappointed as there was no bacon or even tapa which is a local cured beef. What they had instead was this sausage and adobo which I did not take a photo of as I was a bit depressed. Just to mention they also had pancit canton which is a local noodle dish.

12.JPG

Well there are still some other options and no use whining over the bacon. I went for the sausages and the adobo which was surprisingly good but not as good as my adobo lol Annato Chicken Adobo.

13.1.JPG

Everyone had their plates filled and was ready to eat. My son just took what I took except for the roasted tomatoes. @Bearkid just went for some bread and also tried the bread beside the croissant with a strawberry filling, which I forgot what was called. My wife had a little rice, adobo and tried the bread aswell.

13.JPG

The breakfast was free which still amazes me until now all earned from Steemit. It's a dream, blogging and earning. Well not like the ones with huge company sponsors and unlike the whales we have in our ocean who travels the world powered by Steem. Still mind boggling how we ended up having breakfast here. It may not be extravagant to some but to us it was like living a dream even for just a moment.

14.jpg

Steemit was originally meant for blogging and get rewards by publishing quality content. I still believe that it still does although the price has dropped. I still have faith that one day it would pump back up and allow us all to experience little or big things. Maybe yet again give us a little boost in life with a little travel here and there. A little breakfast and dinner somewhere all powered by the community and Steemit.

Thanks for joining us at the breakfast table and Steem on!

15.JPG

Photos are original and shot from
9 Spoons
The Bayleaf Intramuros

7.png


Follow @surpassinggoogle to witness an extraordinary person in this platform and vote for @steemgigs as witness
Discovering exceptional content in the community follow @curie and vote as witness
To have a glimpse of awesome content from the Philippines check out @bayanihan
See unique culture from around the world and join the challenge thru #culturevulture by @eroche

All photos are original and taken with

Lumix GX85 and 12-32 mm

Snake new 2.jpg

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

watersnake101.png

Sort:  

I totally understand your feeling of able to see the real money coming from Steemit, it was an exciting feeling for me as well. So glad you able to enjoy yourself with it, cheers!

It was an amazing feeling my wife and I could not believe when we cashed it out. We were looking at each other and said, "It's real! We got rewards out of Steemit." Still amazes us every time we talk about it.

Totally can relate! :D

Yay positivity and hope we will reap again the rewards one day. 😊

Yes, still waiting for that day to come... haha

Kelan kaya ulit magiging ganyan ang value lol! Buti naabutan nyo un ganyan na kataas.

Kulang nga un menu nila. Basta breakfast buffet may tapa at bacon e hehe.

Yung $2 sobrang saya na namin and ang bilis ng spike nung Dec. From three to 10 at almost the same day. Don't stop bro one day it would just come as a surprise. Oo nga kulang dapat bacon laging meron ahahh.

Awesome post! Hopefully we can see another run up in Steem by then end of this year. Maybe it can be an annual thing for you to be able to take a trip on your earnings!

We hope so it does pump back up hopefully by the end of the year. It would be great to go out again somewhere further, I hope just to experience the rewards once again. The true Steemian way of life. Cheers!

Steem 🚀🌙 !! It will happen and then you can all come visit me!

Ha ha that would be the day and we know it will come one day. If it does we are all heading you way lol.

Wah! I was also able to reap the rewards of steem being way, way up! I love buffets and I love that you were able to share it with family!

I know we will soon reap the benefits of holding our SBDs and get more rewards.

For now, I'm just enjoying the community and the people around here and save, save, save. ^^

Ha ha thanks for checking during that time I was ready to give up my day job. Good thing I didn't probably won't be eating anything today if I did lol. Anyway hold hold hold things hopefully would turn bright.

I feel you! I was supposed to quit my 2nd job, which thankfully I didn't. ^^ Maybe we can treat ourselves something by end of this year so will just have to hold what we can. :)

What a lovely idea! I cashed in some SBD when the price rose too - just around Christmas. It was a nice present. The price of all crypto seems to be plummeting now. Good time to buy!

Correct if you have extra cash perfect time to buy right now. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80