What are people voting for?

in #life6 years ago

wilpic.jpg

Are people really reading what they are voting for?

I came across a post titled "I like fish" and the only thing in the post was the question "do you like fish" that was all, nothing else, no pictures, no story, just "do you like fish?" and this guy made over $361 and 660 votes.

WHAT THE @#$%?

How does that happen?

There are so many great stories, photo's, artwork, music etc.. on steemit. The people creating these post's probably spent hours working on them and most are lucky to make $1.00. So at the risk of ruining my reputation on my next post I'm going to ask 1 simple question to see how many dollars I make and how many votes I get.
If you don't vote that's cool, I don't mind and I totally understand.
If you do vote then maybe you just really love me or maybe you didn't read the post or I guess there's always the possibility that you really liked the question?

Whatever folks do for whatever reason It should be interesting to see what sort of results I get.

Please don't think that all future posts will be simple and poor quality as this will be just a one off test.

Thanks for reading and don't forget to look out for my next post

Sort:  

Great and valuable information my dear friend @what-is-life!! I really appreciate your work. I definitely agreed. Waitimg for your next post. You are doing such a great thing, a person who are spending lots of time or a full 1 day in writing a post for spreading awareness in between in people get nothing, no upvotes. Only the kind persons or readers can understand and give upvotes to that person and I truly appreciate them just like you. I'm so lucky to have a friend like you!!

Hats off to you

Thank you stardivine. I think its a shame that so many great posts slide through the feed unnoticed. There is so much amazing art, stories etc. that won't get the votes they deserve. There are also many that share important messages and inspirational words such as yours that's can be of great benefit to many. Thank you stardivine for sharing your beautiful, amazing words of wisdom.

Stuff like that usually happens as a combination of one or more of the following (this is by no means an exhaustive list):

  • whale self-upvotes near the 6.5 day deadline
  • lots of money used to purchase upvotes from bidbots
  • spammer with botnet mass upvotes target post near 6.5 day deadline
  • misfired voting trail (so one must be careful when utilizing Steemvoter, Steemauto, or other similar services)
  • other forms of reward pool rape
  • lack of a mechanism in the STEEM blockchain to recognize and automatically strip bad actors of their stakes

You get the idea. What @mattclarke described is the "polite summary" version. The fully detailed version would be long enough to fill up a book, whose content would consist largely of anecdotes of multiple Steemian psychopaths and thousands upon thousands of expletives.

Thanks for the info! good to know, much better than thinking people are silly enough to vote for such a ridiculous post. I still have much to learn when it comes to the deception of others lol....

That was a whale, trolling and upvoting himself.

Well, that explains a lot! I do wonder how many votes did come from others though?

He has a tonne of shadow-puppet accounts and a couple of fans who upvote everything he does.
He's doing okay for money, just making a statement.

hmm crafty... fans are probably family and friends lol....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83