How I feel about being late for work.

in #life5 years ago (edited)

I don't care. I do not care. If I do care, I kick my ass for caring because I don't really care. Of course I don't want to be late, but some things I am not able to forsee.

I cannot control if the train is late.

I cannot control if I wake up with diarrhoea.

I cannot control if I had a hard time sleeping and feel sluggish in the morning.

I cannot force everyone to adopt my laid back approach to life either. So when I see you I'll try and be a little extra nice because you are probably a bit bent out of shape over my untimely bowel movement. But like hell I'm going to keep something toxic inside me in order to be on time just because that is the social norm.

I try to leave early for work every single day, and 29 out of 30 I succeed. That's a pretty good success rate as far as I'm concerned. I do not care if it's not for you. I am doing my best. If it's not good enough, fire me. I do. not. care.

Of course I do not want to be fired, but it's better than feeling oppressed by some imaginary social pressure that we are supposed to pretend that things don't come up and then feel guilty when they do.

I will not be fired though. In time you will realize that I'm doing my best and my attitude allows me to give more to others and in turn help your business. If you don't I will quit and find something better when I am ready to.

So when I'm late, the only thing I need to worry about is not worrying.

Any questions?

P_20190225_141401.jpg

Sort:  

The weird thing is that the answer is synchronicity.
When you are in the groove, you are there at the time you are needed to be there.

So, today we do things by the clock... and lots of people, even if they try, it just doesn't work for them. My roomies are constantly late, no matter how early they get up, or how important the appointment.

Fortunately, the world is changing to a 24/7 type arrangement. Everyone has voice-mail and messaging. There isn't a need to be there at 9:00:00 to pick up the phone.

But, the aggravating feeling of always waiting for someone because they are always late and obviously do not care about your time.

And, us "good" timely people hate when that kind of thing happens to us, so we don't want to do that to others... and so we feel guilty. (even though we will never be that bad even if we tried)

That's for another post! Fully agree about syncronycity. There are different reasons I could be like, one is that it's a reflection of something a bit off about my state of being and a challenge to stay calm, or it could be a blessing in disguise, or it could be my desire to quit telling me to make the move.

I only agree to be on time because it's literally a requirement for working most jobs and all the jobs that I'm willing to work here. If the person you are waiting for is late there is also syncronycity in that.

Today i sent a message warning then I'd be late and was met with smiles and understanding. It seems my good attitude allows me one slip up a month and I really don't care either way. I only want to be on time because smooth is nice.

I feel your pain. I'm lucky enough to have an understanding boss when things veer off course... Hope your health improves!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Mine is not bad. Some of this stress I used to give myself and some is experience from past jobs. I can essentially work or not work whenever I want, just need to give fair warning

I hope it reaches the intended readers.. :-)

But I think 29/30 is actually very excellent success rate.

Posted using Partiko Android

Isn't it! It depends on the country and the company. In Japan and the US that is considered pretty bad, at least for most jobs. I also don't follow orders, I do what I have agreed to do so if my boss starts bossing me around, in going to storm out of the room and if he threatens me I'll threaten him harder. Luckily my boss is a good guy.

Hi @whatamidoing!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.016 which ranks you at #1113 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 354 contributions, your post is ranked at #136.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75