Just relax and everything goes so much smoother

in #life5 years ago

A few days ago, one of the events that caused me to feel that perhaps I needed to spend more time on acceptance and just letting things be was a conversation I had.

A friend and I were talking about #deepshit and she said something rather disturbing to me. I won't go into what it was exactly but it was one of those things that makes you feel like "this is why there is so much suffering in the world, ideas like this. It did not help that this friend has way more money than most people I know and seems blessed with all kinds of skills, connections and ability, and lots of insight in general. She's kind of resembles the best version of me that I am aiming towards minus a few aspects of her ideology.

Rather than get into a heated debate like I used to often do, I retreated into a hole to contemplate why I should let anything deeply disturb me, to contemplate what good that would do, and to try and knock my ego down a few notches, to quite it completely.

It was a challenge. For 2 days I didn't talk to anyone. I cried a lot. It wasn't about her or what she said, it was the process of accepting that I could be wrong about everything, even though I don't think I am. It's not easy to crucify your convinctions. It's not easy to find a balance where you still have desires but remain unattached to your own desires.

And two days passed and I started to feel better. She sent me a message saying that she had thought long and hard about what I said and realize that there is some truth to it. I did my best not to fall into the ego-trap of "Oh yeah! I win!". Instead I just thanked myself for letting go enough to just let things flow, to trust in life more.

The other person might not always end up agreeing or coming back and saying sorry, but I think that remaining in a positive state of acceptance inwardly (it doesn't always have to look like that outwardly, you can protest loudly and still feel at peace) will result in a more harmonious outcome than inner turmoil. Every time.

P_20190403_161908.jpg

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @whatamidoing!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.027 which ranks you at #1110 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 186 contributions, your post is ranked at #155.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85