My fiction is hardforking...

in #life5 years ago

Art is a funny thing. It truly has a life of it's own. It comes to us from somewhere when we are ready, whether we are seeking it or not. Often times when we don't stay tuned in, the download is incomplete. Sometimes files download instantly and other times there are buffering problems. The files may be corrupted if we hurry. I tend to download too many files at once, slowing the whole process down.

Recently my inspiration is starting to look a lot like the blockchain. It's forking.

For anyone new to crypto, a hardfork is (according to my limited understanding) when a blockchain branches into two separate chains with different rules or parameters.

My art is doing something very similar.

Originally I envisioned my project, Confessions of the Damaged, as a single collection of short stories, all of which would loosely tie together based on similar themes and overlapping characters.

I imagined it would reach about 150 pages, which is roughly what I have now, and because I wanted to promote the idea of pay-what-you-want, I saw no reason to hold back releasing the stories until the whole collection was finished.

In the process, it became way bigger than I imagined. The stories began to clump together and form more complex worlds with more complex characters. At first I imagined two main characters but then a 3rd appeared. Their back stories started to become important. This would be fine if there was a single narrative with a tangible overarching theme or two, but the themes started to multiply as well.

At this point I no longer want to group these stories together as a single collection. They will need to become 3 different different novels. Each novel will be made of pieces which can function as individuated short stories, or as chapters in a longer, flowing narrative.

Confessions of the Damaged

These stories follow a man who becomes a street dweller of his own free will. As he wanders the street we discover his reasons for choosing to opt out of society and follow him as he becomes the master of his own reality.

The Reflection of a Village (tentative title) - Metaphysics and politics set the backdrop of a this story about the push and pull between community and gentrification. The village is the sum of the emotions which boil inside of it.

I will continue to release stories from both of these collections (free to access) at I+Everything. Please tell me what you think!

pexels-photo-1516191.jpeg
dreaming

Sort:  

Yep that’s what happens 😆 have fun exploring your head universe!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I just hope the forks won't fork....

Ahh yeh about that... XD

hahahaha super nicely brought!

Your mind is getting peace for a totally new direction, forking the thoughts!

It's crowded inside my mind, I download more stuff than I can carry...

gotta get rid of the unnecessary stuff dude!

New post is about exactly that hahahah

Are you on whaleshares less these days?

Nope still there just as much as here on Steemit, but just have a load less time in general hahahaha

Have to be a bit more cautious with my spare time!

I know what you mean! It was so easy to be the best steemian ever back when I wasn't working...now it's hard to even get a few minutes in a day if I want to keep working on my album and novel

I think its awesome...

Highly rEsteemed!

/ᐠ=ᆽ=ᐟ\

Hi @whatamidoing!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.008 which ranks you at #1110 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 368 contributions, your post is ranked at #134.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69