The benefits of ignoring reality

in #life5 years ago (edited)

By ignoring whatever drama is occurring in the world, and what this one or that one is doing, I am will fully uninformed and you may think this is a bad thing, but is it?

I know generally what the state of affairs is according to these ones and those ones. I'm not apathetic. What does it matter if I know all the details of this tragedy or that scandal? Is it information that will help me to make better decisions? If yes, still, how much attention does it actually need? At what point are we forfeiting our energy to the fear that we are not informed enough? At what point do we stop allowing ourselves to be sucked into the drama of others?

So much of the news we hear (be it from the mainstream or underground sources) is fueled by our desire to turn away from our own lives. It is part of the victim mentality. This life is HAPPENING to me. But there is so much you could do that could come from your own volition.

You could face your fears. You could be support for others. You could build and create. Why waste that energy searching for drama to be sucked into?

When I encounter someone who has personally been affected by a tragedy, that may be a sign for me to take more notice of that particular drama. It means I have a direct relationship and a chance to do something, or understand from a personal level rather than from a the perspective of a third person whose perspective is not mine and should not be.

An example would be life and politics in particular country that had a lot of problem s at the time. I did not go out of my way to fill my head with drama that i was seeing in headlines (I do read headlines just to have some semblance of what is happening outside of my experience). I did however make a point to keep my eyes open for potential friends from that country and I found one, someone with a very compatible personality and who could understand my perspective very well. So I learned a lot from him.

Later when people mentioned the topic, I shared what I had learned from him without expecting to convince them of anything or getting sucked into arguments.

This is how I approach most issues. I only want to spend my time and energy on things which I can reach, and actually I can reach a lot, but most of those things i will not discover on TV or other media.

I care what's happening. But the best I can do is come at life with as much energy and love as possible. For some people, watching the news may fill them with passion and creative energy to fix something. That's great, but it's not me.

Do more of whatever fills you with passion and creativity, and less of what doesn't.

Sort:  

An old adage ( i think its Mark Twain)
If you don't read the paper you are ill informed.
If you do read the paper you are misinformed.

However, in today's era
If you watch the MSmockingbirdM you have been brainwashed.

So, being brainwashed or ill informed?
Well, most information has little to do with you at wherever you are.
What is happening in Venezuela is horrible, but i can't send a food package, and my vote wouldn't even be counted.

But, if i watched the MSM, i would be sure that all of Venezuela's problems are because orange man is bad.

You have to get rid of the brainwashing.
after that...?

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @whatamidoing!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.046 which ranks you at #1070 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1071).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 166 contributions, your post is ranked at #132.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I mirror you in this. I am too sensitive a person to not be sucked into the news and feel bad. It won't make me change things, it just creates more negative energy and there's more than enough of that already. So, like you, I focus on improving myself, so I can help others as much as I can, making the world a little bit better and spreading those positive vibes.

P.S. The only news I check these days, besides occasional sports, is the crypto news and even there, I try to focus on the positive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70541.68
ETH 3582.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74