No Internet Service

in #life6 years ago

I had been having problems with my internet service for several weeks. The first time I was without service for two days. One hour before someone was scheduled to come out, I was able to get online so I canceled the appointment. Approximately 5 days had passed when the internet was off and on; more off than on, until the day it was off for good. This time, my ISP (Internet Service Provider) told me that I needed a new modem. I was told that most modems usually last 3-5 years, 6 years max. Mine was 12 years old. They gave me the exact details on what I needed and told me to go to a certain store, as they would have the modem. That couldn't be done for another 3 days.

Off to the said store and I asked for a modem with all of the specifications that my ISP gave to me. The sales person told me that I needed to buy a modem and a router. Price was $149.00. But wait! I was then told that I needed a special kind which brought the price up to $250.00. That's not all! When I was asked how many wires were plugged into my modem and I answered "three," I was told that I should only have 2, so once again, I needed another special modem which brought the cost up to $350.00. He then told me to go home and write down exactly what wires were plugged in and what each one was used for, and return with the information.

I did just that and went back to the store where the sales person was now helping a much higher paying customer, so I was told to wait. After waiting for 20 minutes, he finally sent another sales person to help me. I had to tell the same story again and this sales person said that they didn't carry the modem that I needed. Out the store I went; frustrated, tired and empty handed.

I ended up at Office Depot and they had exactly what I needed for $60.00. The sales person was very nice, helpful and he didn't even try to sell me something that I didn't want or need. What a breath of fresh air. So, if you ever find yourself having problems with your internet service, you might want to check the age of your modem and inquire if a new one is needed. Hopefully, my story will save you a lot of time and expense...and...the agony of Steemit withdrawal.

Image Source: 100% own work.

Sort:  

What on earth $350.00.. that was complete rubbish they were definitely trying it with you @whatisnew so glad you didn't buy into that, does your ISP not provide the modems needed for using their service?

Now that is a word that isn't used here in my neck of the woods..."rubbish." Love it @simonjay! : )

No, our ISP does not provide modems, but that sure would be nice. We can either rent one of theirs for $4.00 per month or go to the store and buy one. You see what I chose.

Glad you are back @whatisnew!! 💕
Sounds like isp in kahoots with said store? yikes!!
Wondered what happened to you, looked often to
see what was up!

12 years WOW!!

This stuff flows through the air, it's a shame we all
need devices to use it ☀

Welcome back my friend ❤ 🐱

Thanks so much @shasta! It feels good to be back. : ) I was thinking that the clerks must get commission on what they sell. Thanks for checking on me...what a good friend you are! : )

Sorry to hear that you got problem with the internet service for several weeks and I'm glad that you finally solved the problem.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. This is much helpful. ;)

Thank you @tangmo! If I can help at least one person, then it was all worth it. : )

You're welcome! Ah! That's really nice of you! ;)

I'm glad you're back!!!
I cannot live without internet. I better take good care of my modem!

Thanks @djynn! I am glad to be back too.
I was going crazy when I didn't have internet service. I sure hope that I do not have any more problems. : )

Hello @whatisnew; I got to thinking that you were sick because I had not seen anything else on your blog; but, fortunately you are back! ... This is typical of internet service providers and "specialized" stores, it seems that they are there to further complicate our technical problems ... but the good is that in all that entanglement generated, you obtained a good economic result.
Greetings.

Thanks for your concern @cjao20! It feels so good to be back. Yes, I sure was lucky with the end result and hopefully I will not have any more internet problems. Hope you are doing well. : )

That sounds like an awful chore. It's much handier here in Ireland where your ISP always supplies the modem free of charge. Any company telling you to go get your own would soon be out of business.

Lucky you! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17