Day 3 in the RV - I'm Wounded

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Two of my typing fingers have been impacted by two separate situations.  The first was getting used to cleaning the fiery range too soon after cooking and I blistered my index finger last night.  This morning as I headed out the front door to drink my morning coffee outside, I poked a bee in the stinging end as I grabbed my chair.  I think both wounds are very mild, but it sounded dramatic in what is turning into a very undramatic settling into the RV.

My day consisted of checking out the nearby town.  It is about 10 miles on an easy country road, I enjoyed an iced coffee, did a bit of shopping and memorized the local amenities.  Last night I asked my husband if he had any special requests from the store and he asked for watermelon, I ended up home without watermelon.  I felt bad enough that I nearly went back.  However, I didn't.

It is 102 here today, but the air conditioning is keeping up just fine.  It is nice and cool in the RV.  

I'm still working from my hotspot which is frustrating I am looking forward to better Internet, but I do have to say, this is workable,but not desirable. 

Strange little issues:

The bathroom door opens when we walk or stand near it.  It's a little frustrating, and yes the auto leveler says we are level.  :)  

The shower is terrible, and although the RV park has a shower room, that is not appealing either.

It is dark in here.  Even with all the shades up it is a little of a dark cave.

Overall everything is fine and going well.  It still feels like an adventure and I get the added benefit of feeling really good when I find a good spot for something.  Which is a silly thing to feel good about, but hey, I will take a good feeling anytime I can!

On a side note there is still a little time to present your #steemstory.  I will not likely look through them until tomorrow afternoon.  https://steemit.com/steemstory/@whatsup/let-s-create-a-library-of-steem-stories-what-s-your-story-usd20-sbd

@whatsup


Sort:  

I hope you will tell them all there about Steemit :D I imagine a whale in an RV it's kinda interesting. Like the movie Finding Nemo or something.

I don't want to scare you, but I think your wounds may be fatal if left untreated. If you do not seek emergency medical assistance immediately, you may perish.

You have watched too much The Walking Dead lol

I have watched the show.

haha... :)

Don't die on me yet! You're good to talk to!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

So that is whatsup's voice... Interesting

I don't think my #steemstory would be as good as your #rvstory lol
Sorry about your wounds.

Where ya camping? I did RV living full time for a few years and have lots of tips ;) Bathroom door issue seems like latch issue. Like the henge shifts down when stepped near and the weight shift lowers the latch lose.

We are in a little park, it doesn't seem much like camping in a park in a camper. We are living in the RV for a while while we search for our next home.

Oh, the burnt fingers from trying to clean the stove too soon...I wish I would have remembered to warn you of that one! We bought a good shower head and replaced it, but at the very least, take yours apart because there's probably a water-saver device in the shower head. It should help a bit. But if it's anything like our shower, it's just a little small.

In terms of the darkness, we had a light fixture over the table and just replaced the frosted bulbs with clear ones. It made a huge difference.

Funny I was thinking of you today and wondering if you have a convection/microwave in your unit. I hated using the oven, but for the first time in my life figured out how to use the convection oven and it worked amazing! I think in the two years we were there, I only used the oven once.

And I totally get the thrill of finding a good spot to put something haha

There is a microwave as well as a gas oven. In my house I almost never used the microwave. Here I've used it a few times already.

I haven't yet braved trying to figure out the pilot light in the gas oven. Also, it is very hot so cooking hot doesn't sound that great anyway. :) I'll need to make a roast when it gets cooler out.

You mentioned being in Mexico, are you still in the RV or did you move back into normie housing. :)

The microwave we had doubled as a regular oven when I put a metal pan in it and pushed "convection" instead of "microwave". So cool and something I'd never used before. It worked just like a regular oven and no lighting of a pilot light needed. I do remember the first time I lit it, with my head basically in the oven trying to figure it all out haha

We thought about bringing the RV to Cabo but changed out mind and went to the opposite coast near Cancun (Playa del Carmen). Yes, we are back to normie housing :) but there are times we really do miss the RV life :)

You were lucky it wasn't a killer bee...

killerbees.jpg

omg the watermelon incident is me all day haha. And I'm glad the bee was you and not me, because I'm crazy allergic to bees. The only time I got stung, my foot turned literally black and blue and hugely swollen. The doctor said I couldn't walk for a week and if I had waited longer to go in, they might have had to amputate my foot.

" added benefit of feeling really good when I find a good spot for something. Which is a silly thing to feel good about, but hey, I will take a good feeling anytime I can!" <---- This isn't silly! It's legit!!! I finally got to unpack my suitcase for the first time in 2 months and it felt like heaven!!!!!

"feeling really good when I find a good spot for something"

Successfully achieving objectives is always delicious, no matter the objective. One of life's most delightful secrets. :)

been living in a RV for months now, its rough but better than being homeless, now we're having a problem finding a campground to go to :( help me make my own and you're welcome to come :) https://steemit.com/farming/@fry/organic-farm-colony-in-nj

I read your post. If you are serious you should flush out the plan a bit. Although the idea sounds nice. Many will not donate to an idea without a plan.

How much is a piece of land?
How much will you try to raise?
What relevant experience do you have?
Do you have partners?
What are the legalities of having multi-family properties in the area..

I am not asking those questions for you to answer here. Just saying it would be pretty hard to send money off to a stranger who has an idea, but not a plan!

Good luck to you in gettng it rolling!

Anyone is welcome to become my partner if they have something to bring to the table. I have experience with electronics and gardening. Obviously we would have to find land with the correct zoning. I believe a farm would be best. Raising the money for me will be the hardest. This idea I've been planning 5 years already.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16