Light it up

in #life5 years ago

image
source
Ignite the way for me.
Light it up.
Darkness frightens me.
Illuminate the darkest path
With the brightest spark.

Brighten my mind.
Light it up
When I feel down or low.
The dark thoughts help me keep away,
Above all, my mind make glow.

Let my world shine
Light it up
With your gorgeous, sweet smile.
Distance every evil, dangerous acts.
Everything that is despicable and vile.

image
source
Let my light shine.
Light it up
Light my candle up
When I walk in the world,
No matter the distance,
Safely I may always return home.

The poem is a request for guidance and companionship in one's every day life. The persona is writing the poem to someone close to remind, urge or inform about the need to always be by his/her side at every point in time. Both in darkness, tough times, during depression and ensure he/she is free from evil and dangerous acts that may want to befall him or her.

It depends on your interpretation. The poet may use the persona to represent a lover writing to another lover, a child writing to his mother, a wife writing to her husband etc.

NB
Persona: A character different from the poet who the poet uses to pass his message across in a poem.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84