How I Got Hacked on Steemit... and Made Money $$$$$

in #life6 years ago

So about 6 days ago I tried to go login to Steemit and my password didn't work. I tried my private key and everything, but quickly realized I was locked out. Frantically I submitted a password recovery request and then went to my account page and looked at my wallet.

At first glance it appeared that someone was trying to withdraw all my SBD and Steem and I was pissed! Then upon closer inspection I noticed that whoever was moving my money to various bid bots, was actually boosting my own posts!

I have no idea why someone would do this, but I think I'm the only person ever who got blessed with a benevolent hacker. I want to give a huge shoutout to the Steemit team for helping me quickly recover access to my account so I can keep on posting!

Screen Shot 2017-12-30 at 5.46.16 PM.png

Sort:  

Big thank you again to the steemit team for helping me recover my account!

@ned @the-alien @michael1

APPARENTLY, the hacker was oblivious to the fact that we have account recovery, thought he had complete control and decided to inflate everything until he could rape the power-downs... That's my guess!

@underground I'm still confused by what happened, but yea seems like he was boosting away to grow the account so that he could power down with more $ in it.

Is it possible you will get your account back? @woodrow

I got it back @majidawan ! the awesome people at Steemit were great!

I had to go and check your wallet was tempted to do so 🙈

All good @rudee, so weird right! They started the power down, then stopped it.

What a story! You'll be glad you SBD and Steem were boosted...

Cool to hear this, Facebook's "team" doesn't do anything for anyone lol

Glad you got back into your account and your SBD was still there.

Yea me too, couldn't believe that all of it hadn't been transferred out!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by woodrow from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Sorry for being hacked but its like the person did you a favour

the hacker seemed to have provided you with christmas and new year present ..happy new year 2018..happy steeming journey :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11