What’s in a Name?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I don’t agree with Shakespeare on giving no importance to nomenclature. Philosophically, Shakespeare’s stand is understandable but in practice, it creates a lot of trouble at times. I don't know about you but for me, it shatters all reference points.

Have you ever visited a city after a long gap and found it difficult to find your way due to new names cropping up all the time?

I live in a small city. So, many times people have to go to nearby metro cities for some occasional work that cannot be carried out in my city. So I know and recognize many places in large cities from my past visits.

But for some time, changing the names of cities, roads and localities has become a political agenda in my country. Once I visited Bombay but couldn’t return back from it to this date. You know why? By the time I returned, it was called Mumbai!

Some months back, I happened to visit Mumbai. I was staying at a friend’s place in Oshiwara. One day, I wanted to go to the nearest local train station to take a train for somewhere. So I asked my friend, “Which one would be closer, Goregaon or Jogeshwari?” He thought for a moment and told me to ask the driver to take to Ram Mandir. I was puzzled. I repeated that I want to go to a train station and not a temple. He explained me that Ram Mandir is a name of the train station. I was still sceptical but told the driver as he had instructed. He dropped me to a small station with the name Ram Mandir:

IMG_20180121_103540.jpg

The station appeared very newly built up with hardly any passenger on the platform. I checked the info and came to know that this station was built a year back between Goregaon & Jogeshwari. This station was added to the Western suburban railway of Mumbai after several decades. On Central Line, a station named Kopar was added in 2007.

But it’s not just about new additions which embarrasses me. By just changing the names of existing places, people like me can get lost in big cities like Mumbai. So we need to be more aware of new local developments in the city we are visiting to.

The naming of the new station as Ram Mandir based on a 200 year old temple in the vicinity has created several waves for renaming of many other sub-urban stations in Mumbai. Political leaders are demanding a name based on worshipping place nearby several renowned stations.

They want Elphinstone Road to be called as Prabhadevi, Marine Lines railway station to be renamed as Mumbadevi, Dadar railway station be named as Chaityabhoomi and Grant Road as Gamdevi.

All railway station appears to be taking a name of some religious temple, so that people will always say they are going to some temple while doing their daily commute! Now this will confuse me even over phone ...without paying a visit to the city myself. If my atheist friend calls me telling names of temples he had visited that day, wouldn't I be confused?

  • If you wake up one morning to a new name for all prominent public places of your city, displaying a new signboard, would you still think you are in the same city?

Footer GIF xyzashu.gif

Sort:  

Yes @xyzashu... This trend is even here in Mangalore and actually the name of our Mangalore is Mangaluru now... :)
Even the name of our road in our locality got changed after the demise of a senior member, two years ago, previously known as 2nd main road to his name now! :)...

Now this is a news to me. I wasn't aware of its new name as Mangaluru. Thanks for the information!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

You got a 4.16% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @xyzashu!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

I am guessing your political beliefs are influencing your writing.

Well, tbh I don't have any political beliefs. If you are interpreting any, then perhaps it's because of your own exposure or preoccupation to some prevailing political belief regarding this subject.

I am pretty sure you are against ruling party and probably a businessman

I am pretty sure that there has been all kinds of research on how words, sounds or the way things are being spoken can affect the human as a whole.

With that being said, I do fully agree with the notion that there is some major importance to nomen-culture. And we can see it in day to day life.

Taking my country as an example. Recently, the name "Kevin" is being plagued by the stigma of being a name for stupid men. The reason for that is that the name is somewhat common and also because of some unnecessary TV-Productions apparently having quite a few Kevins who play into that.

Of course, people who are called Kevin now suffer from that by having to listen to all kinds of Kevin-related jokes all the time. And clearly, something like this leaves impressions.

Yeah, popular TV productions and Movie shows do have a great influence on how we relate to certain words and names.

Absolutely.

And I hate it when certain words get ruined for me because of that. It's the worst.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10