MINDS - Crypto blog banned on Twitter and FacebooksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago

Just what the title says.

While reading my email I received a message concerning an article on Medium.com stating that a number of alternative media sites had been simultaneously banned, or more properly "purged" on both Twitter and Facebook.

Most troubling among these was MINDS, a fellow crypto-based blogging site. I have an account over there but haven't done much with it yet. What truly concerns me is that if they have targeted MINDS due to it's platform for anti-establishment voices, they may decide that Steemit needs to follow suit, both for political reasons and the very real threat that it poses to their social-media hegemony.

fredrickkearneyjr762709unsplash.jpg
Photo by Fredrick Kearney Jr on Unsplash

Though I'm not one to spread rumours on the internet without confirmation, it appears that this is a legitimate story, reported by both Lee Camp, a dissident comedian, and published on RT, an international news site with a fairly decent record of journalistic integrity.

Considering that Google+ is going the way of the dodo, this could severely curtail our ability to reach our prospective audiences, and possibly damage the growth of Steemit as a whole.

Please do your own fact-checking and research on this, as I -could- be wrong, don't want to start a panic, and know that some of you are far more internet savvy than myself.

Raise your horns,

Silas Danois

Sort:  

@yestermorrow
I wondered about this too. But I am not worried, if this platform is what is't supposed to be, then, purge or not, it will be. The approach to how we share it may change, but that can happen when marketing any endeavor. Thanks for the heads up, I'll be watching this for sure.

Thanks. @paintingangels just informed me that this is not a new phenomenon. puts on well-meaning rube sign

I responded by telling her that "Gullible" isn't in the dictionary. Heh. =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34