How writing is changing my life – [The pilgrimage of a zoexanthellae]

in #life6 years ago (edited)

A baby surrounded with art.
The lights shine on her eyes.
A child's book waiting to be read.

1.jpg


"Hi there, mom! This abstract is the perfect playground for my mind!"

2.jpg


When I was three years old, I discovered how to interpret printed symbols into meaning. From there, I have been reading non-stop. It's my predilect hobby, the sustentation of my scientific vein and a great way of travelling beyond my mind's borders. Perhaps you can relate to that feeling about the multiverse of books.

I developed a taste for correct spelling, orthography and grammar. As a hobby, I subconsciously search for details in literally everything that crosses my path: publicity, signalization, articles, magazines, books, everything I can read. I know it sounds a little maniac but I love the proper use of language.



In my posts I have mentioned several times the artistic background in which I grew up. Listening about art since early ages gave me interest in forms, colours, symmetry, textures: elements that you can perceive in nature as well as in art creations.

Science seemed like an obvious pick for me, being innately curious and methodic, as my family used to say while watching me play. One can encounter art in doing science and science in doing art.

















Having these facts about me in consideration, you may understand why I believe that the opportunity of curating exceptional content on Steemit is like a dream come true for me. How could I ever get bored of detailed reading/appreciating/constructively criticizing great posts? I wouldn't know. I feel specially identified with the @curie project, for example, and I'm about to explain you why.

8.jpg

In 2009, my grandmother gave me an outstanding gift during my teenage years: the biography of the illustrious Marie Curie, written by her daughter Eva Curie. She had the gesture of adding photographs, taken from the Internet and printed, to some pages of the book. She did this to complement my reading and give me context about the flesh-and-bone woman who succeeded in such a relevant way.

Marie Curie's life, not exempt of troubles but with the right dose of happiness (according to herself), inspired me to become a scientist and to try to pursuit excellence of my own. The @curie project clicked right away on me because it reminded me that book and what it taught me.



📷

I must tell you that not everything has been colours and flowers. I've undergone a series of hard times: familiar disgregation, alexithymic periods, and a daily worsening economic crisis to the point we, my family and I, can't even get to eat properly in terms of nutrition. It's quite tough to talk about the accumulative and destructive effect of these conditions.

I even had a creative vacuum that lasted years and left me without a scape valve, clueless about how to deal with pressure and depression. I’ve felt like a stranger trapped in my own body. I longed my own death for days, weeks, months. I kept wondering, am I the biggest mistake ever?


BUT (yes! there is a but, thanks to all that's good in this world) then, I found a platform in which the words, the ideas and the healing started flowing. Every post as a new opportunity to introspect, to express, to improve on the things that I said that I love: reading, writing, science, art. To talk about the accumulative and benefic effects of this environment it easier, and I'd love to share that with you now, if you continue going through this post.


I am connected, not only to other humans through empathy but to myself. Most people never realize the importance of being connected with oneself, and I’m glad I am feeling myself now. I’ve changed physiologically and my body hasn't yet got used to it entirely. I no longer feel numb and disconnected. My heart beats faster. My brain reacts in more complex ways.

It's hard to get asleep because the ideas keep coming in, nonstop. For now, I rest less but I'm productive as you wouldn't imagine. I do hope it stabilizes a bit so I can get some deep, dreamless sleep.


Everything feels different. Where did the shady, blurry tones go? How come I enjoy the sunlight so much again? Believe me when I tell you it all looks so bright, in a way that doesn't hurt my eyes anymore. I can see the beauty in a stormy sky and the sounds of rains as well as in the brackish warmth of a sunny beach day. I don't understand completely this process I'm undergoing; I'm just enjoying the ride.

Don't think I have quitted being realistic. I'm aware that not every day is going to be as clear. Caracas, the city I live in, is a hostile place to be, not compatible with the feather-like lightness of soul I'm experiencing today. Quoting a dear friend, “puede que esta sea la ciudad de la furia pero yo soy el exceso” (in english, “this may be the city of the fury but I am the excess”). Despite that, I'm now able to look at myself and see not only heavyweight flaws but the good traits that make me what I am. I decide to be patient, I decide to be better. In the present, I'm more human than ever. I feel whole.

Mamá y yo.jpg


Those who were portrayed next to me in the photographs I showed you above are keystones in my life. I want them to know how valuable, outstanding and exceptional they are. I would like to be able to spare them the existence of such things as unnecessary suffering, judgmental behaviors, self-destructive habits, conformism. Believe me, these are amazing persons who have been there for me, one way or another, and nothing would please me more than to retribute somehow the received love and support through what I hope have been my darkest time. To them I say: thank you, infinitely. ❤️

To the warmhearted welcoming users of Steemit who have guided me and read me patiently in the 39 days I’ve been here, I say: thank you very much too. Bees work all together for the sake of the hive. 💛


All photographs are my property, taken by family or friends. Unless otherwise stated.

Sort:  

Great post, curie is teaching us well

Omg, thank you so much! 💛

Hey, qué hermosos estos fragmentos de tu vida, congelados en fotos.

Te cito "One can encounter art in doing science and science in doing art." Totalmente de acuerdo, y como mencionas más abajo, que encuentras formas y colores en el arte y en la naturaleza... Eso es tan hermoso, tan real. Tan honesto, tan acertado, tan real. Sí, la ciencia, y en particular la biología, como el arte, son un aglomerado de objetos que al verlos por separado es igual de hermoso que ver el todo, tan hermoso, increíble y emocionante.

" I don't understand completely this process I'm undergoing; I'm just enjoying the ride."
En particular pienso que a veces las cosas no se deben entender a profundidad. Simplemente disfrutar.
Disfrutar el hecho de adentrarse a lo desconocido, a lo que no entendemos, que mientras disfrutamos entendemos. Entendemos que hay que disfrutarlo. Así es la vida.

Te quiero mucho, querida Zoe ♥
Gracias por estas hermosas palabras. ¡Eres un crack en steemit! jajaja ♥ te veo lejos, love u

¡Me encantó tu comentario! ♥ jajajaja gracias por citarme, vale, y por sustentar mis palabras con tu propia experiencia. También te quiero. Ánimo que ahora es que se viene lo bueno 🎶

Dios, me emocioné mucho al entender todo esto🖤 Gracias a ti Zoe. Simplemente: eres luz.

que hermoso post! :D bueno Caracas suele ser intensa y eso nos fortalece como habitantes de ella, que bonita trayectoria, siempre el arte acompañándote y la ciencia, me pasa igual los amo a ambos! ;) me alegra haberte encontrado por estos lares! éxitos mil

¡Gracias por tus palabras!

y a ti por tu genial post ;)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Hi zoexantelamv,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

¡Magnífico, cuánto me alegra, @zoexantelamv!

Loooooveeeee youuuuu! GBU

♥♥♥♥♥ Love you, mom.

Congratulations @zoexantelamv! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by zoexantelamv from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87