Sunday Multivitamins | One Of The Most Powerful Words

in #life5 years ago (edited)


Photo by Alexandra on Unsplash

About 11 years ago, I was selected for national service for my country. There was a period in time when Malaysia had to enlist guys and girls that were 18 years old, right out of school into military training service. Something about 'We need to know how to defend our country when enemies come' but a few years later, due to corruption practices in Malaysia, the training was disbanded.

During that time in the green boots, it was still a challenge for me to greet and meet new people. Being an introvert by nature, I find it hard to keep conversations going and would most likely come out as awkward. The present 'me' is far far different from when I was 11 years ago. At least I can talk a little more now.

I got up early, mum drove me to the dropoff point where buses were lined to transport all cadets to their respective basecamp. I was dreading the morning because I had already previously experienced military and discipline training way before getting enlisted so I thought that this '3-month enlistment' was a waste of my time. The reason behind this was also because those that have gone earlier told me that it was more of a vacation stay rather than a training camp. They feed you 6 times a day, wake up for sports and recreational, have classes on moral values and principles and just play dirt among friends.


Photo by Menglong Bao on Unsplash

I reached the basecamp with the saddening fact that I was going to be there for 3 months but it wasn't a total lost cause.

I remembered how God was with me there and led me to lead the Christian group of people that was there in worship. I also learned a thing or two life lessons along the way, especially when you've just met strangers from all part of the country, you quickly find out whether there's a click or you just can't get along with some people. I had my fair share of not getting along with someone in the camp and this brings me to one of the most powerful words that I find often neglected and forgotten by people.

That is the word sorry.

I had a little conflict with one of the cadet who was offended with my words which he suddenly got triggered. It was late evening and it was recreational time where everyone gets to go enjoy their physical training exercises and I particularly love playing ping pong. I was at the ping pong table taking turns with the cadets and when he came over, I asked him a very simple question, 'Oh, how long have you been playing ping pong?'

At that moment, he snapped and shouted at me saying I was showoff waving my 'ping-pong experience' at him and he left.

Now I don't think I've done anything wrong even up till today, except for him just being overly sensitive but the thing was, it involved me.

At that moment, I was reluctant to do anything about it, I mean 'why should I even care about someone I just met' right? But the bible snapped at me a bible verse.

For those who exalt themselves will be humbled, and those who humble themselves will be exalted. - Matthew 23:12

Because I had another 2 more months having to face him, I knew that I needed to solve this little problem that was blown out of proportion because he misunderstood my question. I approached him one night when we were all seated and having our supper, tapped him on the shoulder and said 'I'm Sorry for offending you'.

The situation immediately recovered and nothing else happened for the next 2 months. And NO, we are not friends or best friends or did I ever want to meet him and catch up with him after the military service was over, it's just that at that point in time, I felt it was necessary.



Photo by Wenceslas Lejeune on Unsplash

The word 'Sorry'


The word 'Sorry' doesn't always necessarily mean you are wrong, sometimes it just means that you're able to see pass every flaw, who's right and who's wrong, and look at the bigger picture, your relationship.

The word 'Sorry' is so often forgotten but has this miraculous healing power that can mend broken souls and lead the relationship into reconciliation.

The word 'Sorry' has two meanings, your regret that you've hurt someone or a feeling of sorrow that something bad has happened on someone. Both showing that you care.

The word 'Sorry' can calm even the harshest situations and when given chances, would be the beginning of empathy, forgiveness, mercy, love, and hope.

Now I know that some of you would say that the word 'sorry' is useless and sometimes even overused because it was done without sincerity or you don't say sorry because it's not worth it and wouldn't mean a thing to that person. You've got it all wrong.

My point here is this, if you could see yourself saying 'sorry' and you could save a relationship, yourself or a dire situation, then it's 'sorry' being done right.


I hope that this little article gave you a little perspective of how short a word but with big impact can affect our lives. A lot of us are ego stricken people and would usually ignore or care less about others, but if this word can be the beginning of healing of the heart or one's relationship. Why not?

Have a blessed week ahead.

Thank You

If you like what I do, check out my other posts on meetups, animation, and designs.

Get your Personalized Steemit Profile Signatures

DM me on discord : zord189#7776

Credits to @pinstory & @coloringiship for this lovely photo of me.


PHC-Footer-05.gif

Animated Banner Created By @zord189




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://zord189.steemblogs.club/2019/06/09/sunday-multivitamins-one-of-the-most-powerful-words/

Sort:  

Some folks are just dealing with stuff they are repressing, don’t know how to handle it, are passive aggressive and just looking for help and don’t know how to ask.

When you use your little word, it turns it from a fight into something you can work on it together. Either that or they are just looking for a confrontation and you can now out gracefully ;)

People have to realize that you are choosing to be offended by words plain and simple. Why make that choice?

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hello @zord189, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

As we say here, that was quite big of you. Shows good character :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63594.33
ETH 3039.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10