Words Do Not Define Who You Truly Are

in #life5 years ago (edited)


Photo by Christopher Campbell on Unsplash

 

For those of you who don't know, I've been working for 7 years now and have spent 11 years away from home building my own life here in West Malaysia. Looking back, I've actually been through a lot of crazy stuff, bad and good. I'll save some for next time but I would like to get an excerpt from a previous post I wrote because I think that there are many people who let others tell them who they are in today's society. Also, because someone told me she loved reading my inspirational and personal post. :D

Spending the week back in my hometown for the Raya holidays, I've been thinking about life. I usually do a lot more thinking when I'm chilled and away from the busy life. I love writing these thoughts down and as I scrolled through my posts on Steemit, I found this post speaking to me exceptionally and I would like to give this a shoutout once again.


Throughout the years growing up and 'adult-ing', I've met some really nasty people and also the good ones. But all which I have learned from to be a better version of myself. So Thank you for coming into my life and showing me life lessons.

It all started out with statements thrown at me.

"Why play the guitar, give up, you don't sound good"

"Are you sure you're an animator? More like an intern"

"Do you know you are very stupid?"

"You know that you're not as talented as me right?"

These were the exact words/context that was spoken to me before. The recent one was when I threw in my letter, my ex-boss called me stupid for leaving. It didn't affect me one bit but it gave me something to think about. The reason I'm sharing this is because these words can be spoken to another person and it can even be you but let me tell you something...

These words don't define you


It is not who you are! It never is! People can't tell you whatever they want and you don't have to prove a thing to them. I know I'm not what they say and so are you. You are beautifully and wonderfully made. I took these comments and made a better version of myself not because it affected but because I always know I can do better for myself and not for them. I'm always looking for ways to improve at my own pace. You should do yours at your own pace as well. So what if your friend is successful and living a life luxuriously and he's 10 years younger than you? So what if your friend is married and you're still single? It doesn't really matter, everyone has their own timeline. So what happened was this

"Why play the guitar, give up, you don't sound good"

I can now play the guitar and from there, I started serving in Church as a bassist, another instrument!

"Are you sure you're an animator? More like an intern"

I kept my eyes focused on my skills and improve them. Learn from good critiques and overcome failures.

"Do you know you are very stupid?"

There is not a day I will regret leaving that company. My current company is doing greater things and they include me too!

"You know that you're not as talented as me right?"

Only time will tell, because I know if I were to quit whatever I was doing, I wouldn't be here today.

I hope this doesn't come as a brag or some sort but as a positive note that you are made for more. I believe everyone can achieve something if they put their minds to it. If I had listened to these words spoken to me, I wouldn't have come to this day. No doubt, I have met many failures along the way, but these failures deserve the same credit as my achievements because they've made me who I am today.

So I hope that you've found some love and inspiration here, if you have, drop me a comment!

I believe in you, even if others don't, I still do.

Thank You

If you like what I do, check out my other posts on meetups, animation, and designs.

Get your Personalized Steemit Profile Signatures

DM me on discord : zord189#7776

Credits to @pinstory & @coloringiship for this lovely photo of me.


PHC-Footer-05.gif

Animated Banner Created By @zord189




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://zord189.steemblogs.club/2019/06/06/words-do-not-define-who-you-truly-are/

Sort:  

Indeed! Can't believe everything that's said, to us, about us, and about others.

People speak from their own level, whatever that level is. We get to choose what resonates with us.

I'm learning to filter a LOT more these days. Sometimes even the ones closest to you say some words, usually how they see me. Doesn't make who I truly am a summary of their limited perception.

Way to go @zord189!! You rock, and continue to rock to your own beat.

Cheers, and have a great week ahead

Posted using Partiko Android

Most excellent bro ! Keep doing your thing ! Enjoy the rest of your balik kampung

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you bro! End of Raya already :)

Yep back to life back to reality 🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

One thing I preach a little (too much?) to my kids is to learn how to have fun being bad at something. To me, that is the key to learning anything worthwhile.

You may have just chosen the topic of the next Zeke Thoughts!

See? You are good at a bunch of things you didn’t even know about!

Posted using Partiko iOS

One thing I preach a little (too much?) to my kids is to learn how to have fun being bad at something. To me, that is the key to learning anything worthwhile.

Oh that's some good advice there.

Haha, Glad that I've inspired you for your next Zeke's thoughts! Would love to read them

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87