Fractals: How Monsters Became Beautiful

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Do you know what the circumference of the British isle is? Or the length of any coastline? The answer might surprise you and it will be our starting point in a quest for the origin of fractals.


image
source: Wikipedia

Mathematics is weird sometimes. Did you know that "infinite" often isn't enough? I'll try to explain in a way I hope you can visualize. Take the circle; one of the most basic geometric shapes we know of. Now imagine starting with a regular shape with 4 straight lines: a square. With each addition of sides to that shape, first 5, then 6, 7, 100, 1000 and so on, the shape wil resemble a circle more and more. A regular shape with 1000000 sides is damn near a perfect circle already. But the perfect circle is a regular shape with infinite sides. Now imagine that you can draw from the center of the shape lines to all corners, all infinite of them; so you would need infinite lines to cover the whole shape. That should be enough for normal people, but the mathematician asks: what if I draw a much larger circle around the first one? Then the infinite lines needed to cover the smaller circumference suddenly isn't enough anymore to cover the larger one!

So, strangely enough, the answer to the question in the intro is either "infinite" or "it depends on the size of the stick you measure it with". And the smaller the ruler or stick, the longer a line you will measure. And if you can zoom in infinitely, you will always find smaller indentations in the coastline which you hadn't considered before. If I lost you here already, don't worry too much; watch the video at the end of this article and all will become clear!

Another exploration into the infinite were the so called "Mathematical Monsters". It started in the late 1800's when German mathematician Georg Cantor created the first monster, or actually the first fractal:


image
source: SlidePlayer

Another great early monster is Koch's Snowflake, where you start with a regular triangle and then remove the middle third from each side and bridge the gap with two new sides of equal length. You can iterate this action forever; just zoom in on the smallest, latest addition, and repeat. So to the eye the circumference of Koch's Snowflake looks finite, but mathematically it is infinite.


image
source: Wikipedia

This continuous iteration of actions is represented in mathematics by Fractal Equations, the most famous one being the Mandelbrot Set. This is a rather simple equation with one oddity: the "equals" sign works both ways. This means that after you input a number on one side, the output on the other side becomes the input on the first side. And this you iterate ad infinitum, with one side of the equation ever nearing, but never reaching zero, and the other side nearing but never reaching infinity.

Fractals are nothing more than all input and output from these equations put on a graph, and lighting them with a color and intensity representing the distance from previous plot-points and the speed at which they move towards zero or infinite. A true fractal is therefore a visually pleasing image that can be zoomed in on forever. This is also why the structures of these beautiful images could be examined only after the invention of fast computers; these iterations have to be done trillions of times to produce any order out of the chaos of numbers. Just look at some of the magic of the most famous fractal of them all:



Like I said in the beginning: there's so much more to explore about Mandelbrot and the Mathematical Monsters. There's for example the way that fractals are all around us in nature: the way branches fork off from the tree and twigs fork off from the branch and leaves fork off from the twigs... Fractals are the stuff of life; they represent a mathematical explanation of how simple principles and simple building blocks naturally evolve into complex bodies with complex interactions.

So, please, if you can spare the time to be a little amazed and if you haven't seen it yet, watch the story of Benoit Mandelbrot in this video:



This article was in a large part inspired by @soundwavesphoton, who regularly surprises us with the products of his "fractalized mind", go check out his blog.


lance-1 divider odrau steem
Thanks for stopping by and reading. If you really liked this content, if you disagree (or if you do agree), please leave a comment. Of course, upvotes, follows, resteems are all greatly appreciated, but nothing brings me and you more growth than sharing our ideas. It's what Steemit is made for!
A Proud Helpienaut!

Sort:  

Dude, awesome post! Haha, you explained it very well. Mandelbrot is one of my gods, I read his "The Misbehavior of Markets" book a few years ago and wow it changed my life. Self similarity at all scales, slightly all the time. It's an incredible framework that applies across many domains.

These mathematical monsters are magical haha.

Wow, thanks so much @soundwavesphoton! You can imagine I'm especially pleased you approve of and even like the article :-) And you've given me something to do too: I haven't heard about that book yet; I'll definitely give it a look now <3 :-)

I love the mandelbrot set! It used to be the image above my computer in my old studio.
This was a nice exposé of the process behind the fractal. Loved the journey! Thanks mate!

Fractals – how can anyone not be entirely mesmerized by them?

Of course, Mandelbrot was a genius of the most delightfully crazy kind. Now, with the amazing tools we carry in our pockets, we can create pseudo-fractals out of just about anything. Amazing life!

It's true – @soundwavesphoton is our resident fractal pro. Don't we all love him for it. ;)

Here’s a lil somethin’ I made this morning — my guitar, fractalized.

816A04AA-FF07-4B0A-B6FB-36AE0200F20F.jpeg

You, @soundwavesphoton and all other helpies, you're teaching me. I reference at least 1 of you in almost all my posts since joining. All I do is passing on the love I get from all of you, so thank you, @zipporah! I'm glad I can give something back :-)

All I knew about fractals was that they are awesome to look at. Now I know a whole lot more. Thanks ♡

you're so welcome @amymya, I'm glad you liked it!

Congratulations @zyx066! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Great colors on those fractals! What are you using ?

Thank you for the compliment, @illuminationst8, but I'm afraid I can't take credit for any of the artwork contained in this article; they're all created by mathematics and were born in the mind of Benoit Mandelbrot, like it says in the article ;-)

Sure but generally when making fractals you at least get to pick the colors. The coloration is not part of the equation. I work with fractals often and use many different pieces of software. Getting colors that well balanced is tricky for sure. But now I see your images are from Wikipedia

I'm glad it's clear now :-) I only wish that I had any artistic talent like you or all others mentioned here; I'm just here for the boring scientific theories behind this particular technique for creating amazing visuals ;-) But I'm glad you're here: I will take a look at your blog soon! Thanks again for commenting, @illuminationst8 <3

And there was me just thinking "hmm i wonder what to download from pootube to watch before I go to bed" , and there you have it! Sounds great, I have no clue about it all!

And to think I thought mathematics and geometry and statistics boring . School did something wrong if they could not interest an inquisitive mind in this wondrous stuff... We must do better! ;-)

I hope I didn't ruin your evening and that you find it interesting enough! Thanks and much love my friend :-)

there is something wrong with this picture....

MenO summons Minions

And I thought fractals were magical. Here comes @meno, waves his magic stick and speaks some unpronounceable words... and presto!

You spoil me brother... :-)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

In the fight of Humans vs Bots, @megabot defended you with 5.88% upvote courtesy of @omitaylor!

Support @Megabot by delegating SP to the bot and get a part of 98% of @Megabot's profit.

Direct delegation links : 10 SP || 50 SP || 100 SP || 500 SP || 1000 SP || Any other amount of SP

Join our discord group here.

Thank You !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10