A Series Of The Lessons I've Learnt from Life..Part E

in #lifelessons6 years ago

This is the fifth piece of my life lesson series. This one took me a while to put together. I had to do a lot of soul-searching and reminisce on past experiences to put this together...

Here are the links to the previous lessons.

Part A, where I talked about relationships and debt

Part B, I talked about Fun been underrated, failure, anger, kindness, age and grudges.

Part C, where I talked about accepting we are not always right, travelling, the little things and how adversities would pass.

Part D, where I talked about the benefits of risk-taking, our ability to handle tough situations, our inability to control everything especially people, and the blissfulness of gratitude

I do hope you find them useful and applicable to your own life.

24142544454_30d2790882_o.png
Image - Flickr CCO(Creative Commons)

So off to today’s lesson…

Self-honesty is freedom.

There are a lot of things we fail to come to terms with about ourselves. Sometimes it’s our belief, our relationship preference, our desires or our shortcomings. We refuse to accept these things, hoping they would go away if you ignore them hard enough. From my experience, they usually don't go anywhere. You have to come to terms with these things, as that results in unlocking other areas of yourself you aren't aware of. You being in denial only results in you blinding yourself to the truth.

Somethings the truth hurts, but it will ultimately set you free. Maybe now, or maybe later in the future, either way, you would be set free. Be honest with yourself so you can live truly.

Perfection is boring.

Coming from someone whose bones ache to achieve perfection in every action, I know this first hand. Now there’s a difference between perfection and an excellent work. However slim it might be, do not mix them up.

I may be wrong in explaining them, so feel free to correct me

Perfection is unattainable. It is excellence at its extreme and the pursuit of it makes us boring. That’s because perfection is result oriented.
Excellence, on the other hand, is "process oriented". It comes with satisfaction and happiness
It is our differences, our imperfections that connect us to one another and makes us real.

Learn forever.

The beauty of life is that we can never know everything. I'm sure my parents used to think they knew a lot more than I did while growing up. Then the internet came, and we were all on level grounds again. If they had refused to learn, they would be left behind.

There really is so much to learn in our short lifetimes. Try to take a day out and learn something new. Challenge yourself to acquire a new skill, read about a different religion or a different course, take a class. Learning keeps our minds engaged and sharp, even into old age.

Worry is worthless.

My greatest gift in life is my ability not to worry. On some terrible occasions where I feel my world might implode, situations where others might worry themselves to death. I'm calm because I've learnt that the solution to my problems doesn't come from worrying. Worry is useful if it leads directly to a solution, but the very nature of worry implies that it doesn't.

That’s because when you worry, you focus on the bad situations and conditions. Which eventually causes stress and physical symptoms that cause real trouble. Learn how to manage your worry thoughts.

Ponder on a problem only to find a solution and not to imagine the worse.

Sort:  

i am gradually loving these series of yours.. keep it up @winarobert

Thanks boss.

Once we are still alive, there is a lot to learn in life

Yea, we can never finish learning

We should all thanks God for the gift of life

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Great lesson learnt. Most of your experiences is applicable to most Nigerians.


@bigwaves

True, but most of them have failed to adhere to these lessons. Maybe that's why we are stuck as a country.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88