A Simpler Lifestye: Amish

in #lifestyle5 years ago (edited)

Horse and buggy may not be your everyday mode of transportation but it is for the Amish people who have settled on Prince Edward Island (P.E.I.).


image

This photo was taken from the car when hubby and I were about to pass a horse and buggy full of people. This is the first time I’ve seen two buggy’s travelling together.


image

Seeing the horse and buggy on the highways has become a regular occurrence with many Amish families settling in this area.

As you will see in the photos, this buggy has a different design- more open where some have the back closed in.

Normally there is not this many people riding in a buggy. Perhaps this group is coming home from a Sunday meeting for the man has a black hat on whereas the light coloured straw hat is for everyday use.

They wear darker clothes, black or navy, but today I see white shirts.

For whatever reason, these young boys in the foreground buggy don’t have on their heads the traditional straw hat. Maybe their parents can’t see they have taken them off.

They try to stay on the side of the road where possible. I do worry they may be involved in an traffic accident with the speed vehicles travel on this highway.


image


There are highway signs warning motorists to be careful driving and watch out for the Amish with their horse and buggy. They travel a fair distance to visit each other and to come into town for supplies.


image


Seeing the horse and buggy around town is always exciting. I never tire of seeing them.

A memory of my dad always comes to mind when I see the Amish with their horse and buggy. When I was a youngster Dad had an old work horse and a cart. Often he would give me and the neighbor’s children a ride.

A fabulous sky blue blanket on the horse tied to a hitching post. He waits for his master /mistress to finish shopping.


image


The town has welcomed the Amish people. Hitching posts have been built for the horses to be secured while the Amish people do their shopping or bring in their produce.

They are a hard working people who have bought rundown farms and brought them back to there former glory.

I don’t know much about their philosophy. They keep to themselves and the children do not go to our public schools but have their own.

One man of the Amish Community is in high demand for his skill as a blacksmith because of the many horses here on P.E.I.


image


Some of the Amish have started bakeries and stores to sell their wares. In one store I saw quilts, wooden lighthouses and planters among other articles.

Amish Women



image


I often see the women in the grocery stores or on the highway driving a horse and buggy.

Ghost driver? I looked twice on passing this horse and buggy without seeing the driver.

Who’s Driving?



image


It was a cold day and someone was behind a covering.

These are some of the photos I have taken since the Amish started settling on Prince Edward Island.

From what I understand they are descendants from the Pennsylvania Dutch who lived in Ontario before settling here on the Island.


#thealliance





46B316FA-31F9-40BB-87B7-F85999B33372.png


6EE249CE-12B6-4AD7-944D-06B6CDD099C5.jpeg

Sort:  

Howdy redheadpei! I love the Amish settlements. We had the biggest one in the country close to us in Ohio and I've done several posts about their culture and belief system and ways. But we always had terrible wrecks where idiot drivers would run into the buggies resulting in tragedy. Wonderful post and with the Amish moving in you should have alot more organic produce and products becoming available.

I only heard of one incident here where a car collided with a buggy. Luckily the driver and the horse were not hurt. They try to drive the horses on the side roads but to get into town the main road has to be used part of the way.

well in Ohio it was always idiot drunk drivers causing the horrible accidents.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks @esteemapp for your support. 💕

That's really cool Red. I don't know much about the Amish but I have heard that they live a much simpler life than we do without the modern technologies we are all so used to.

I think they might could teach us all a thing or two.

Thanks dear Monchie @monchhichi. I hope all is well with you.
It would be hard for us to live as these women do wthout electricity to run our dishwashers, washing machines, TV, computers, etc. They even make their own soap and all the clothes.

I would imagine it's not easy. And for me... living down here... air conditioning is a necessity. If it's broken I go on strike! I am spoiled lol

All is well babe. How are you?

We are spoiled with our modern conveniences but you definitely need air conditioning in Florida.
Happy all is well. I’m good but tired of winter. 💕

Great post with a good read and some lovely photo's. Only know the Amish from tv and reading about them as we don't have Amish people around here. And nice to read that they are somewhat integrating in the town with their shops.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @tijntje. From what I’ve seen, they are a peaceful people who respect the environment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17