LifeWithBlockchain: Reduce bureaucracy at work!

in #lifewithblockchain5 years ago (edited)

Working at a large company often comes with many benefits - however, it also requires a huge administrative effort to manage all employees.

1. What is the pain point?

As a working student, I get paid hourly. To make sure that my employer knows how many hours I worked per month, I
have to clock in and out with my employee identity card everytime I come and leave.
20190507_173326.jpg
One might think that's it because there already is a system which records my working hours. However, there is the option to adjust coming and leaving times afterwards (in case you forgot to clock in or out) - which means that the system could be cheated. So before HR receives my monthly working hours, I have to print an overview, go to my boss and let him review it. If he thinks that it's plausible (meaning that I didn't cheat), he has to sign it and then I can finally send it to HR.
20190508_163522.jpg
Of course, it's an unnecessary effort for us, apart from the fact that neither I, nor my boss would be able to remember the exact times I came and left every day.

2. How could this pain point be reduced or eliminated in a blockchain-world?

A blockchain solution could make the whole process redundant. Since each block contains an exact timestamp and is resistant to manipulation, there is no risk of cheating. Furthermore, it does not require an intermediary - in this case my boss - which reduces the bureaucratic effort.
Of course, it would still require me to clock in and out every day. But one could also think of linking the coming and leaving to starting and shutting down the computer. So as soon as I start my computer in the morning (which is the first thing I do anyway) a blockchain solution would notice that I am there to start working. Same process in the evening and there would be less effort for everyone!

What do you think?
#LifeWithBlockchain
Thanks also to Pascal Mehrwald (@pascalmehrwald), Benjamin Pabst von Ohain (@benpvo), Prof. Dr. Isabell M. Welpe and the TUM seminar team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12