A Has-Been Music Star Lights the World: Day 23

I have always said that one of the most beautiful things about the #lighttheworld campaign is the fact that it is incredibly easy to carry out the suggestions each day. Although that is true, it doesn't mean the campaign is easy. In fact, an equally amazing characteristic of #lighttheworld is that it challenges you as person. Can I avoid judging others, love my enemies and show that I care about those who are in prison?



Although that last one is especially challenging for me, fifty years ago Johnny Cash showed that it could be done.

On January 13, 1968 Johnny Cash, whose career had been on the skids, uttered these very famous words:


He said those words to a room filled with inmates of California's Folsom Prison. Then he sang for them. He performed for people convicted of committing violent crimes. He performed for people convicted of committing non-violent crimes. He performed for people who were guilty. He performed for people who were falsely accused. He performed for people who had made a mistake.

He performed for people.




Whatever You Do To The Least of My Brothers, You Do Unto Me


Although the performance revitalized Johnny Cash's career, it was not the only reason he performed for these (and many other) inmates.

When asked to explain why he thought Johnny Cash had chosen to perform at so many prisons, Merle Haggard (who was inmate who saw Cash perform at another prison) said:

"I think there are a number of reasons. A big one is he was the kind of person who felt he had a Christian duty to help other people. He saw that playing for prisoners brought something to their lives, a glimmer of light, a glimmer of hope."

Others have said that Cash identified with the prisoners and knew that with a little bit of bad luck, it would have been him on the other side of that stage.

Today's Light the World theme is:

"I was in prison, and ye came unto me."



Johnny Cash was much better than I have been at recognizing the fact that prisoners were flawed human beings who made mistakes... just like all of us.

When I sat down to write this, I feared this would be too big of a struggle for me. How can i write something positive about people who have done something so wrong that they ended up in jail?

A good start would be to recognize that I am not perfect and have made huge mistakes as well. When I was younger, I was involved in several altercations while out with my friends. What if one of those had ended with someone in the hospital... or worse? Should I be shunned by society for the rest of my life over one foolish act?

Next, I remembered that every prisoner is someone's mother, father, sister, brother, daughter, brother or friend. They are not all monsters who need to be forgotten. They are people who are away from their loved ones due to a terrible mistake. How would I feel if I made one mistake that meant I could not see my children?



Have you ever known someone who was incarcerated? I do. And he is not a monster. He is a good person who made a mistake. Now that he has paid his debt to society, he is living a good life.

Today, the Light the World campaign is asking us to remember that prisoners are people. Many great spiritual leaders, including Jesus, teach the importance of loving all people... including those who are in prison.

The website reminds us that:

"Some prisons are literal, physical institutions, but other “prisons” include physical and mental afflictions, and addictions. Reach out to those who are feeling trapped and let them know they’re not alone."

The site goes on to suggest the following ways you can be a light in someone's life.

  • Do you know someone who’s been affected by addiction?
    Reach out to the person and offer your support and love.

  • Do you have an incarcerated family member or friend?
    Pay the person a visit, and offer love and encouragement.

  • Have you seen how an illness or depression can trap a loved one?
    Reach out and go for a walk or have a nice chat with the person.

I don't have the talent to put on a show at a local prison. I am not quite ready to volunteer to teach at a prison. But can I do something? The light the world campaign is not "all or nothing". It allows for people to take tiny steps in their growth. I am going to need to start small.

For me, the best I can do right now is to make a donation to an organization who is living the example of Jesus... and Johnny Cash (never thought I'd write that in a sentence).

Luckily, I found such an organization.

Prison + Neighborhood Arts Project (http://p-nap.org) is an organization that provides art classes for the men at Stateville Maximum Security Prison.


Screen Shot 2017-12-23 at 8.35.37 AM.png

For more information on #lighttheworld, please visit https://www.mormon.org/christmas/25-ways-25-days/day-23

Several community members have already followed @gavvet's lead and have created #lighttheworld posts of their own. (Thank you all for participating!)

Now we need someone from the community to inspire others on day 24. Tomorrow's theme is: "Ye must watch and pray always." You can find more information here.

If you decide to participate by creating your own post for day 24, please make sure to use the #lighttheworld tag and include the day's video, theme and link, as we have done.



If you'd like to see a great example, please check out @methusalem's inspirational Day 3 post https://steemit.com/lighttheworld/@methusalem/freely-ye-have-received-freely-give.

or

@sonofthunder's wonderful Day 6 post https://steemit.com/lighttheworld/@sonofthunder/lighttheworld-day-6

or

@frieda's beautiful Day 9 post https://steemit.com/lighttheworld/@frieda/i-was-sick-and-you-visited-me

or

@bigbear's emotional Day 12 post https://steemit.com/lighttheworld/@bigbear/blessed-are-they-that-mourn-matthew-5-4

or

@cindycam's heartfelt Day 15 post https://steemit.com/lighttheworld/@cindycam/blessed-are-the-merciful-matthew-5-7

or

@darlenys01's thoughtful Day 18 post https://steemit.com/lighttheworld/@darlenys01/the-art-of-forgiveness-lighttheworld-day18

or

@bigbear's touching Day 21 post https://steemit.com/lighttheworld/@bigbear/for-i-was-hungred-and-and-ye-gave-me-meat-matthew-25-35

Image 1, 2, 3

Sort:  

Great post - very inspiring.
I wasn't aware that Johnny Cash had performed at so many prisons. I'm sure he touched their hearts with his songs.
It's amazing to think about his lack of judgement. No matter if these people had done horrible things, he still wanted to give them the gift of his music.

It's really incredible. I don't know if I could do it. I'm glad there people who can.

Johnny Cash! Now we are talking bro ... Bob Dylan, Elvis ... The great ones are always great. Light a candle for all these innovators with guts and passion. peace !

yes i sure say the prisoners are the people like us but they made some mistakes unffortunatly but some time feeling sad to think about them that why they cannot feeling the christmass freedmly like us i pray fol all those that god give him freedom specially this great day of christmass

I was in Prison for a total of 4 years.... Really just another day. In the Federal prison we were given Domino's pizza buy the warden, something I would like to forget !!

That is a very nice way to put it. You have a big heart.

really to listen he was best and he perfomerd best for all also the video of prison is impressive @hanshotfirst hope GOD give us all happines in this christmass

Amazing post. Johnny Cash was a great musician and a man with a big heart. We are taught not to judge and to forgive one another which can be a challenge but we must do it for our own soul if for no other reason. Things happen and only by the grace of God you or I could be sitting in that prison cell.

Powerful message. "Whatever You Do To The Least of My Brothers, You Do Unto Me"
I actually met Johnny just before his death, about 2 weeks before. My wife and I were at a Sam's Club near Hendersonville, TN. My wife and I were scanning the vast, inventory filled aisles and then I heard this man cough on the other aisle. Believe it or not, even his cough had it's own unique sound and it caused me to look through the boxes to see who that was. I couldn't believe at first who I saw, so I had to go inquire. I won't go into his appearance at the time, but let's just say it was not what you would expect of a 'country' legend, I'll leave it there. Once I ascertained it was actually him, I couldn't help myself but to say hello. He said hello back with a smile and a glean in his eye and it just melted me. I'll never forget those few moments. Thank you for inspiring the memory.

And thank you for this series. As Burt's song says, "What the world needs now is love, sweet love."

That is so cool that you met him. He was incredibly talented!

I'd heard of this famous concert, but I don't think I'd ever seen any video of it. Truly impressive.
Speaking of inmates as flawed humans who are still someone's child or brother... a few days ago, I read a story about a woman who regularly visits her son in jail, a son who - as a troubled teenager - had brutally murdered his baby sister. It's hard to imagine how that poor woman deals with a double tragedy.

Great post. I've really enjoyed this series. It is very encouraging to see so many inspired.

And, in case I do not get another opportunity, Merry Christmas to you and your family!!

Thanks! Merry Christmas to you and yours as well!

I havent been able to jump on the #lighttheworld train all this while. I however, do resonate with this message that you dropped today. I have a friend who is incarcerated, and not a day goes by that I do not remember the errors of his ways.

It was a mistake, but the law recognizes that not.

Drunk driving is no excuse to hit another with a car and maim them for life.

Was he a monster? no, just a driver who got too tipsy and choose to drive. WIth the family still crying, he is in prison.

I will put more effort to light the world. The kids, the young and old, the depressed.

As steem has provided me an opportunity to help, Ill do so.

Thanks for awakening me boss hans, wish chewbacca was here to see this.

Thank you for sharing your personal story. It is very sad. But it is a reminder that even good people make terrible mistakes.

@hanshotfirst, I really love the way you approach the scriptures, the wonderful examples, what I can tell you is that we must always act with mercy, without judging, to redeem the captive, The people who are in prison are our brothers and suffer a lot loneliness, a lot of indifference and even rejection on the part of many of us. From a merciful heart we make the commitment to approach the imprisoned.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02