Light the World day 2: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink.

in #lighttheworld6 years ago (edited)

One of my favorite memories of 2016 was participating in the Light the World campaign with my family. This campaign is intended to "... celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ by serving others this Christmas season. As we follow His example, we can help #LightTheWorld."



This is not my daughter... but she has the same wonder in her eyes.

That might be the official mission statement of the initiative, but as my 10 year old daughter MJ put it, our family took part in "Good Deed Days" last year. She has been looking froward to doing the same this year. Actually my whole family has... but she is the only one who has been counting down on her calendar.

That is the true beauty of Light the World. It is about doing universally Good things. It is not called "Only Christians Should Light the World". It is open to everyone with love in his or her heart regardless of the religion he or she practices... or doesn't practice. You don't have to be Christian to recognize the role modeling of Jesus. Many religions and philosophies preach the importance of treating others how you would like to be treated and helping those in need. Light the World is a chance for all people to do more than simply "talk the talk". For the first 25 days of December, let's all "walk the walk". Actually... how about we start with those 25 days and see how far we can make it?

Today's lesson is: "I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink."





The official Light the World website explains that:

"People around us are thirsting both physically and spiritually. We can help them receive the life-sustaining water that their bodies need and the living water that their spirits need."



At least 783 million people do not have access to clean and safe water worldwide.

The site gave some really easy, yet meaningful, ways to help "quench others' thirst".

  • Consider donating to a cause that helps provide safe water to individuals or communities.
  • Donate a case of bottled water to your local shelter.
  • Help someone who is "spiritually thirsty."

To be honest, I didn't get past that first suggestion. As soon as I read it, it immediately reminded me of something I had seen back in August of 2014. That summer, I participated in my first viral social media campaign known as the ice bucket challenge. The goal of the challenge was to raise awareness and donations to fight ALS. Basically, participants filmed themselves dumping a bucket of ice water on themselves, explained why they did it and then "nominated" others to do the same. The campaign raised over $20 million... and countless spirits. Many celebrities got into the act. My favorite was from Matt Damon.

Damon not only used the opportunity to help raise money for ALS, he also shined a light on a global crisis that many were unaware of.





Damon has done much more than simply pour toilet water on himself (ummm I hope that wouldn't be his greatest accomplishment). He is one of the founders of water.org, an organization that aims to "empower families with access to safe water and sanitation through affordable financing."

Do you have 70 seconds to learn more about the water crisis?





I had always intended to follow up and donate to the campaign... and then I forgot. But Light the World has reminded me. More importantly, it has reminded my children... and there is no way they will let me forget again.

Therefore, today's good deed will be for my family to donate to water.org. My kids are going to do some extra chores around the house in order to earn their portion of the donation.



Nearly 1 out of every 5 deaths under the age of 5 worldwide is due to a water-related disease.

Here are some facts and statistics about the water crisis from another charity called The Water Project:

  • 783 million people do not have access to clean and safe water worldwide.

  • 319 million people in Sub-Saharan Africa are without access to improved reliable drinking water sources

  • 1 in 9 people world wide do not have access to safe and clean drinking water.

  • 443 million school days are lost each year due to water-related diseases.

  • In developing countries, as much as 80% of illnesses are linked to poor water and sanitation conditions.

  • 1 in 3 people, or 2.4 billion, are without improved sanitation facilities.

  • Exposure to unsafe drinking water, inadequate sanitation and poor hygiene is a leading cause of cholera and a variety of infectious and tropical diseases in the African Region.

  • Half of the world's hospital beds are filled with people suffering from a water-related disease.

  • Of Sub-Saharan healthcare facilities, 42% lack an improved water source within 500m, 16% lack improved sanitation, and 36% lack soap for hand washing.

  • Women and girls are responsible for water collection in seven out of ten households in 45 developing countries.

  • Over half of the developing world's primary schools don't have access to water and sanitation facilities. Without toilets, girls often drop out at puberty.

  • Less than one in three people in Sub-Saharan Africa have access to a proper toilet.

  • Nearly 1 out of every 5 deaths under the age of 5 worldwide is due to a water-related disease.

  • According to the World Health Organization, for every $1 invested in water and sanitation, there is an economic return of between $3 and $34.

  • By investing in clean water alone, young children around the world can gain more than 413 million days of health.

  • The United Nations estimates that Sub-Saharan Africa alone loses 40 billion hours per year collecting water; the same as an entire year's labor in all of France.

I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink.



#lighttheworld



Image Links 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

For more information on #lighttheworld, please visit https://www.mormon.org/christmas/25-ways-25-days/day-2

@gavvet wrote about day 1. I just took care of day 2. Now we need someone from the community to inspire others on day 3. Tomorrow's theme is: "Wherefore it is lawful to do well on the sabbath days." You can find more information here.

If a post is especially creative and inspiring, @gavvet and I will reward that post with a significant up-vote. Then that person can choose the "winner" for day 6.

If you decide to participate by creating your own post for day 3, please make sure to use the #lighttheworld tag and include the day's video, theme and link, as we have done.

Although we will be on the lookout for great #lighttheworld posts every day, we will definitely need contributions on days 3, 6, 9, 12, 15, 18, 21, and 24.


My daughter MJ just asked if I would add this picture. In it, the kid is thinking "I love good water." Santa is then putting the water under the tree as gifts for people who need it. Santa has clearly been drinking a lot of water and exercising. Good for Santa!


Screen Shot 2017-12-02 at 7.59.32 PM.png

Sort:  

This is great post We should think about people who dont have water to drink and we should stop wasting water :) I love your #lighttheworld idea and cant wait to see next post ;) Also, I would appreciate if you could check out my profile, I am new to Steemit :)

New to steemit? Well jump right into the #lighttheworld campaign. We are hoping these posts will get a lot of attention.

Tomorrow @gavvet and I need someone to write an excellent piece for day 3 of light the world. One of the 'entires" will get a pretty big vote or two.

Check out his and mine as an example and follow theses parameters:

If you decide to participate by creating your own post for day 3, please make sure to use the #lighttheworld tag and include the day's video, theme and link, as we have done.
Although we will be on the lookout for great #lighttheworld posts every day, we will definitely need contributions on days 3, 6, 9, 12, 15, 18, 21, and 24.

Same here :D will check u out if u do the same :P

As a citizen of nigeria,an oil rich country (though mismanaged),i can say first hand that lack of portable drinking water accounts for most deaths in the northern part of the country. It is therefore heartwarming that causes like this exist. It is hoped that proceeds from donations go to the right people as most times ,things like this are mismanaged. More grease to your elbow and thanks for the writeup

I agree. I have donated to water.org before and this is surreal because just today I was wondering how I can contribute this Christmas season. I thought of water.org but forgot. This is a sign from God that I have to do my part however small. I also like what you are doing and would love to contribute. Day 12 sounds feasible for me or any day not weekends cos I work weekends. Great write up.

This is wonderful! I too had forgotten and this campaign reminded me. Thanks for sharing!

For now we shall never thirst for we drink from Fountain of Life itself; near God's throne in the new Israel. < 3

We've got to figure out how to distribute resources and food to the third world. I think if we can (as a collective) develope blockchain technologies like BitCoin and Ethereum than this feet must be possible. Let's see someone develop a crypto platform for microloans for poorer countries! Let's see decentralized resource distribution schemes employed vs. NGO's and UN making the problem worse. We can solve this problem with pure democracy. That's the trouble though-- The people in these parts of the world don't get to participate in democracy. They might get to participate in a local or national level elections but they don't have any economic say in what effects them. Decentralized technology has the power to correct this I think. I'm not sure how exactly yet but it will. It has to!

I agree 100%. I truly believe that Steem can help so many people in the world.

If you have a chance, take a look at some of the other days (especially 3,6,9,12,15,18,21,24). We need some community members to join in.

Right on. I'm down. Really excited to see that there's a community of practicing Christians here on SteemIt. Crypto seems to share an essential spirit in some way with those most beloved of Christian communites that existed in the 1st and 2nd centuries ("And they had all things in common") so I think the Lord looks favorably upon the whole thing.

Render unto Caesar what is Caesar's and Render unto God what is God's; take the difference and invest in BitCoin futures! (;P just kidding)

What's interesting is that I am actually not very religious. But... I am all for the most important lessons of all religions. Especially the Golden/Silver rule.

that is one of the reasons I am so humbled that @gavvet invited me to participate. His faith is very strong, yet he has allowed me to participate in this initiative because it is universally Good.

Plz follow back

Tomorrow @gavvet and I need someone to write an excellent piece for day 3 of light the world. One of the 'entires" will get a pretty big vote or two.

Check out his and mine as an example and follow theses parameters:

If you decide to participate by creating your own post for day 3, please make sure to use the #lighttheworld tag and include the day's video, theme and link, as we have done.
Although we will be on the lookout for great #lighttheworld posts every day, we will definitely need contributions on days 3, 6, 9, 12, 15, 18, 21, and 24.

what does this mean? I thought this Light the World event came from a specific foundation/organization; can any of us in any country participate? :D blessings!

Oh yes. Please participate. part of the goal of the program is for regular people to share it on social media. @gavvet and I are trying to do that on steemit. The more participants the better! So it doesn't matter what country or what religion. If you think these are good lessons that should be spread... then spread the word to #lighttheworld.

Beautiful, I love this. I think I have a couple of projects like these to get involved in, or at least to promote. I will soon, if all goes well. May the Lord bless his children this Christmas... Let his Light radiate through us.

By the way, would u be able to tell me if it is okay to upvote my own comment like I did there? Thanks again

:)

Do not, my friends, become addicted to water. It will take hold of you, and you will resent its absence!

-immortan Joe (from Mad Max Fury Road)

Africa doesnt have to be like Mad Max world... @tj4real @xpency @richforever @mcsamm @kwakumax @anaman can spread the word of Ecola Blue Atmospheric Water Generators and start building or ordering them ($1200 each or cheaper smaller ones) that create 8 gallons of water a day (more in humid sub saharan african climate) and water from the air using gasoline and solar power can be the big solution... and start researching hydrogen fuel and get ahead of the game!

That sounds like very interesting technology. I hope people will be able to take advantage of all viable options.

Wow, this is inspiring. I think I will follow in your trail, @hanshotfirst and donate to water.org.

In fact, forget the "I think." I will, right now.

Beautiful! That made my morning!

time to make this world the best with our small efforts

Leaving in a place where there are more taps to turn than thirst to quench we tend to forget that people live in the opposite world, where water out of a tap is the rare occurrence.

Thanks for sharing.

This information really surprised my kids. A big part of this is educating the world. We can't solve a problem if no one knows it exists.

every body enjoy there memory

This is such a beautiful initiative!
Have you seen this YouTube video?


May I take day 12?

That video is awesome! Thank you for sharing it.

Sure! We hope 100 people take it. The more the better!

for sure, anybody can take day 12

A very good article:
Each Christmas, we celebrate the life of Jesus Christ, the Light of the World. By following His teachings, we let his light shine—in our lives and in the lives of others. This year, use this calendar for inspiration as you plan your Christmas activities to help #LightTheWorld by serving those in need.

WE NEED TO RALLY AROUND THIS FOLKS! THIS IS MORE IMPORTANT THAN OTHER BLOGS OUT THERE!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71