ADSactly Literature - Famous Writers on Love

in #literature5 years ago

ADSactly Literature: Famous Writers on Love


Photo by Yiqun Tang on Unsplash

I think I'm not alone in saying that words can work wonders on the soul, regardless the state it's in. That's why we read books, after all (or perhaps even Steemit posts), because we like knowing there is someone else out there who understands the magic ways in which our brain works. Well, magic to us, anyway.

Nobody wants to feel alone and finding yourself in someone else's words is an incredible feeling that many of us crave. So, we read in search of kindred spirits. And we find them, some easier than others. Maybe you're feeling a particular kind of indecisiveness about whether your parakeet would be happier in the wild jungle of Tanzania. Oh, just an example, but you get the idea – it might be a bit harder to find someone who gets that specifically. Though not impossible, not by a long shot.
Then, there are the easier, more common feelings that we all share, at some point in life. Say, for example love. Everyone has felt love at some point in their life, it's impossible not to. And many have written about it.
I don't really see writers in term of genre, but rather as writers of life. Because regardless if you're writing a horror story or a children's book, what's going on inside your soul will undoubtedly reflect unto the page. And that's amazing because we're not alone when that happens. Someone else has been through this and I, for one, take great comfort in knowing my favorite writers have gone through the same heart-twisting feelings that I'm going through.

So, without further ado, here's a list of famous writers and their thoughts on love. Maybe you relate to some of them. I know I do, and I hope you do as well.

1. Charles Bukowski


Image

Charles Bukowski was a prolific American (well, German-American) writer of the 20th century, who spoke up for the all the misfits, gave a voice to the down and dirty. It seems impossible not to connect with at least some of Bukowski's writing, because he wrote so much about life. He was the father of all life writers, as it were, because everything in his pages is about it, about love, hate, pain, alcoholism, suffering, loss. Feeling.
He was a very human writer, very close to the reader. Where many others were set up on a bit of a pedestal, he could've easily been your next door neighbor. And obviously, he had some interesting truths about love to share.

I want to be with you, it is as simple, and as complicated as that.

Now, I told you he spoke plainly. And this is a feeling that anyone who's had at least a crush can relate to. It's that awful feeling of drowning when you're not with the object of your affection.


Image

This poem is another great example – who can't relate to this? Who doesn't have a small room somewhere in the forgotten corners of his or her soul occupied by old lovers? Who hasn't been at a point in life where laughter seemed impossible and then found a way to laugh again?

2. Neil Gaiman


Image

Now, this one I felt I had to share, because it's a quote that's meant so much to me. And I think, to many many others, as it was written long before I was even born, so it's had over 20 years of affecting people.

You know what I love about this one in particular? That there's something delighted inside its brokenness. The speaker is clearly in pieces, utterly heartbroken. There's love inside the words and to me, that is phenomenal – that there can be so much love in words about pain. So much feeling.

Oh Missy, shall I sing the body and the blood of you, the lips and the eyes? A thousand hearts I would give you, as your Valentine. Proudly I wave my staff in the air and dance, singing silently of the gloriousness of me, as we skip together down Cemetery Road.

Can I tell you a secret? This is my go-to story, whenever I fall in love. It's called 'Harlequin Valentine' and it's part of the short story collection 'Fragile Things'. So, if you're feeling a bit in love, read it, it's wonderful.

3. A.A. Milne


Image

I love this, it brings tears to my eyes each time I read it, perhaps because it is so true and so heart-breaking. It's about loss, it's about that awful fear that can only stem from great love – the fear of losing someone, the fear that one day, you might wake up and the person who makes your world a little brighter might be gone from it.


Image

Books have always been a huge part of my life and the Winnie the Pooh stories are priceless in a child's education, in my opinion, because they carry so much feeling, teach so much about love and about the life they're going to have on this earth.

4. Edgar Allan Poe


Image

I know, I know – what is one of the creepiest writers of all time doing on this list? Well, it just so happens that he wrote one of the most true-to-love poems that ever existed as well and judging from his words, he obviously knew a thing or two about it, so here he is.

For the moon never beams, without bringing me dreams
Of the beautiful Annabel Lee;
And the stars never rise, but I feel the bright eyes

Of the beautiful Annabel Lee;

The fabulous, terrifying emotion of living through another, of feeling ever-connected to that someone. I think he captures that tremendously. I highly encourage you to read the entire poem, if you don't know it.

5. Sam Shepard


Image

I've left the best for last. By that, I don't mean the best writer, no, that's very subjective, I believe, and while Sam was a tremendous writer, I think it really depends on the reader. But I do believe that this is the best quote on love I've ever read, the one that touched my heart most, at least.
What is particularly interesting, I think, is that this is not a quote from one of his works (though he has written some tremendous stuff on love – see Fool for Love). It's a fragment from one of his letters, in which he talks of his love for the actress Jessica Lange (they were together for some 30 years after meeting on the set of Frances).

I love this woman in a way I can’t describe & a feeling of belonging to each other that reaches across all the pain. It’s as though we’ve answered something in each other that was almost forgotten. I look back on that whole ten years in California & I see myself hunting desperately for something I wasn’t finding. I know the Work point of view is the only true one. That life is inside. That nothing outside can ever finally answer our yearning. I know that’s true but, in some way, finding Jessie has reached something inside me. A part of me feels brand new — re-awakened.

Really, what more can I say? I do hope some of these quotes have touched you, that they've meant something to you, as they have to me.

What is your favorite quote on love?

Authored by @honeydue

Click on the coin to join our Discord Chat



Go Adsactly

Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!
Witness proposal is here:


Witness Proposal
Witness Proposal Update


Go To Steem Witness Page
In the bottom of the page type: adsactly-witness and press vote.
witness vote.gif
Use small letters and no "@" sign. Or, click here to vote directly!
Thank you!


Sort:  

I really enjoyed this post, @honedue! Love for me is one of the engines that moves the world. And if it's linked to literature, it moves more. I'm a hardcore romantic! Those who cry for the love of the characters and suffer the love between the lines. I've been lucky enough to be a muse of love poems and I think there's an eternization of feeling when you write. Every time you want to relive it, it's there, intact, waiting for you on the page. Stendhal, a French writer, said: "Love is a beautiful flower, but you have to have the courage to pick it up at the edge of a precipice". Loving is not for cowards!

Love and lack of love are recurrent themes in literature, many writers have dedicated their works to show us the different forms of this feeling; and love is everywhere, it is the force that moves the world, even if it sometimes breaks hearts in a thousand pieces. I agree with you that Poe's poem is beautiful, I share these beautiful verses that speak of an eternal love that transcends any limit:

But our love was much stronger than love.
Of those who were older than us
From many wiser than us
And neither do the angels in heaven above.
Nor the demons under the sea.
Can you ever separate my soul from my soul?
From the beautiful Annabel Lee;

Thank you @honeydue for this publication and @adsactly for sharing it.

A beautiful and sensitive post, @honeydue; I like very much the sincerity and feeling with which it is written. The chosen quotations, whether in prose or verses, delicately and sharply pick up the emotion and thinking about love. In truth, of the English-speaking writers that you quote only know Poe, Bukovsky and Shepard, and of them you have selected punctual texts. Of the tormented Poe, the romantic presence of love in his stories and poems is undeniable; the libertine and daring Bukovsky confronts us with a memorable love; and Shepard, I appreciated him in the love stories of his extraordinary film scripts (I will never forget the painful love story of Win Wenders' "Paris, Texas"). After all, love could be said to be something like what the French poet René Char said: it is "desire that remains desire". I thank you for your sense of post, @honeydue, and @adsactly for allowing us to enjoy it.

Nice selection. The bear's the one I identify with the most. There's somethining very loveable about that bear and his friends!

The Unbearable Lightness of Being is maybe the most realistic book on love I've ever read.

I don't tend to read books about the topic much TBH.

Leonard Cohen's 'Dance me to the end of Love' is a pretty stunning love song. Plenty of lines in there that'll get your heart strings going.

I'd call him a poet rather than a musician, so I guess that counts as literature.

Posted using Partiko Android

Some of the greatest writers... All of them made a huge contribution to community...writing with such a passion and dedication

Thank you for this post. Really love it. Here is my favourite author quote of love:

“The greatest happiness of life is the conviction that we are loved; loved for ourselves, or rather, loved in spite of ourselves.”
Victor Hugo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84