Litterwalk #4

in #litterwalk6 years ago

HEY STEEMIT IS WORKING!!!

Yay, I finally got a #litterwalk in for the first time in a while!

If you've seen my previous litterwalks, you know I always manage to fill a bag or two (granted, I don't have large bags) just on my block. A fair percentage of those bags are always cigarette butts. A lot of people don't think cigarette butts are really a problem; they imagine they decompose quickly, but they don't.

From http://www.beachapedia.org/Cigarette_Butt_Litter:

"Cigarette butts are composed of cellulose acetate, a form of plastic, which can take many (estimated 2 to 25) years to decompose. Cigarette butts may seem small, but with several trillion butts littered every year, the toxic chemicals add up!According to LegacyForHealth.org, data derived from the Ocean Conservancy demonstrated that approximately 3,216,991 cigarettes or cigarette butts were collected from beaches and inland waterways all over the world in 2009, during that year’s annual International Coastal Cleanup (ICC). However, an astonishing 1,362,741 cigarettes and butts were removed from the waterways of the United States alone. There were other items in relation to smoking that were further collected from U.S. waterways, as well. They include 18,555 cigarette lighters, 74,399 cigar tips, and 36,397 tobacco packages.In a study performed by Elli Slaughter of San Diego State University, a single cigarette butt that had traces of tobacco was introduced to a liter of water. This resulted in high toxicity levels, and the death of 50% of the fish in the water. This is the result of one little cigarette butt"

So, please...

image from Jurassic Park

ANYWAY, let's go show some respect for Mama Danu (the Earth), and pick up some litter!

IMG_20180702_191323.jpg
appropriate attire, non?

So, how far did I get today before I filled my bag?

IMG_20180702_195812.jpg

I circled my building. Not my block, my building. This is ridiculous, y'all. And yeah, the wood? That's fucking hardwood flooring. There were two pieces outside the building from where they were remodeling one of the units. They're apparently knocking it off the balcony and either not noticing or not caring. Sigh. But flooring isn't just wood, it's glue and plastic and shit now. It's not gonna decompose if you leave it in the bushes.

On a side note, I ran another errand today, just over a mile, and @actifit counted pretty much no steps: it showed 59 steps, but I already had almost that just puttering around for a minute before I left. Adding the litter walking, with a bunch of bending over too? It added ten steps. I give up until the update is released, which hopefully should happen in a week or so.

Screenshot_20180702-184124.png
Not. Even. Close.

I hope y'all are having a good day, and that Steemit stops being broken and lets me post this! 😉

That Red Fish your momma always warned you about

Referral links:

Get free Manna, crypto UBI: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=6e4b50d35e

Join Simbi, the barter economy website: https://simbi.com/wren-paasch/welcome

Earn rebates from your everyday shopping with ibotta. Join with my referral code: ptonkkp. You’ll get a $10 welcome bonus and I’ll get $5. https://ibotta.com/rebates

Use Presearch for all your internet searching, including on specific websites, choose your search engine, earn free crypto: https://presearch.org/signup?rid=480866

Buy a Druid a Coffee (or the kittehs some noms, more likely): http://ko-fi.com/phoenixwren

photostudio_1518154776752.jpg

Sort:  

Omg I just LOVE that selfie of you!!!!!!!!!!

Aw, thanks. :)

Yes, Steemit is working finally! Till now I never knew that, cigarette butts take up to 25 years to decompose, I think it is a serious problem, I think most of us not aware of this thing, thanks for sharing @phoenixwren.

Thanks for reading! :)

You got a plankton sized upvote from @worksinsane because your post appeared in the We Curate quality post search tool. It is a web art thingy thing that searches posts which fulfill predetermined guidelines. Upvoting isn't automated, @worksinsane reads posts before upvoting.

For more information read the introduction post.

Hey Wren!! Just to let you know i did not forget about that card. Just so swamped. BUt ill get around to it soon!!

No rush, pass it on whenever you like! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75