#LiveLondon - Vegan Nights

in #livelondon6 years ago (edited)

My heart genuinely sunk a little when I saw that the last time I posted on Steemit was 2 months. F*ck me. This has definitely been the longest time. What can I say? The London life this summer has really taken over me. 

I honestly think this is the very first evening where I came home early and realised that I had some spare time on my hands. And to no surprise, it's the first evening it rained in London in the last 2 months so that makes a lot of sense.


Anyway, I want to continue my #LiveLondon series and fill you in on Vegan Nights (a monthly pop up event) which I went to a week ago with ma gals @yasminep and Ruby. I saw a few snaps of some pretty amazing food from another friend of mine and decided to take his recommendation, and check it out for myself.

Before going I didn't expect much. I mean, all I thought it was going to be - was a few stalls with vegan food and that's about it. And the fact that I could eat outside in the sunshine was good enough reason to go.

It actually turned out to be WAY better and WAY more fun than what I had expected. There was music, DJs, cocktails, face painting, awesome vibes and much more. It basically was like a mini festival.

Anyway, here is the low down...

The Good:


  • It cost a fiver 
  • The venue is awesome (most of it was open air overlooking The Old Truman Brewery). Plus it’s just off Brick Lane, and East is just cool.
  • CookDaily’s Sticky Chick’n Teryaki Bites (I didn’t get to try all the food stalls but I can 100% guarantee that this one was the best one and most definitely worth queueing for).^
  • Fresh coconuts (though they did cost £4 but I asked mine to be cooled down on ice for 20 min sooo definitely worth it)
  • A lot of good looking men (since when are they all vegan? Or are they...? Hehe)
  • Passionfruit zing cocktails with gin (but you know me, I love my gin)
  • DJ sets and good ol' tunes! 
  • Vegan dance moves
  • Great vibes

^CookDaily is also my favourite restaurant in BOXPARK Shoreditch. And honestly, you don't even have to be a vegan to love their food - it's that good. If you haven't been yet - GO!


The Bad  


  • Herds of people. Just way too many people.
  • Queues. Long ass queues for food stalls, bars, toilets - you name it.
  • No breeze in the main dance hall (as much as I love it being warm, when you start dancing after eating a tonne of deep fried vegan food - you need that air con no questions asked!)
  • Desperados costing £6. That’s a bit of a piss take. 

Tips:  


  1. Get there earlier. Doors open at 5pm, I would recommend heading over for 6pm latest so that you can try all the food before everyone else arrives (without having to queue for 15-20 mins every time).
  2. Don’t bring any outside drinks but you can bring your own water bottle - there are stations to refill).
  3. SHARE. There are A LOT of options and most of it is pretty naughty/deep fried so bring a companion ;-)

The Boring Stuff:


When? 

The next Vegan Nights event is in 3 weeks, on the 6th of September and guess what? They are celebrating their 1st Birthday!

Where? 

93 Feet East, just off Brick Lane (Shoreditch, London)

How much?

£5 for Early Bird, £7 after. Looks like they will be releasing them on the 1st of Sep via Eventbrite, or you can download DICE app and try it there (that's how I got mine).

More info?

Check out their Facebook events page and Instagram for any updates! 


All in all it was a really good night as I never expected all the DJs and such warm vibes. I definitely recommend you check it out if you're in London on the 6th of Sep (whilst the weather still holds)! I know I'm going.

Let me know if you've heard of Vegan Nights before and/or experienced it yourself? And if not, would you go? Leave your comments below!


Love,

Inga x 


Some visual proof as always... ;-)


@yasminep tried some cauliflower skewer from OMNOM

I honestly don't remember what these friend balls were but I know they had "blue cheese" all over them. Lol

See, I told you there were people. Just WAY. TOO. MANY.

Vegan Mac 'n' Cheese - which actually tasted pretty good!

Dance hall with a DJ booth. Who would have thought?

Me and the gals @yasminep and Ruby

Sort:  

Greetings, beautiful and charming Ingaa

I really enjoyed your posting, especially the photos that referred to the food hahaha. I haven't seen one of your posts in a while. I missed you.

In addition, I really like the content you post. I think I'm your most frequent reader. Because of that, I pointed you to Minnowbooster's Whitelist today. In addition to my vote, you need an indication of five more people and approval from the administrator. If you are approved, you can buy Minnowbooster votes with more SBDs than a normal user and will have greater ROI in those votes. ROI greater = Increase your profit.

I hope you like it and Good night!!!!

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Aye we all have busy lives and so no worries about not posting for a while sometimes we just need to be in the right headspace to be able to concentrate properly.

Can't say I have every really heard of the Vegan Night before, but I don't generally run around in those kinds of circles anyway. But have to say doesn't look too bad. I would even go so far as to say I would probably eat most of that too.

Not bad when I say myself I can be picky about stuff and have no great affinity to vegetables much to my chagrin.

Glad you had such a good time and thanks for enlightening me about it's existence. For though I am not even close to being Vegan myself I do have some friends who are so would be a good excuse just for a night out of fun.

Thanks for sharing and don't feel too guilty is life stuff is taking over, sometimes we need to have time for self just so we can rebuild and renew inside and out.

Food looks so yummy, no idea about Vegan Nights

This looks cool, I don't like the sound of the queues, but would still be up for checking it out...

And I misss you!!

Congratulations @ingaaa! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Welcome back. Blue cheese over the friends balls sounds good. :-)

My friend was there thst night she goes a lot defo would love to come another time

Congratulations @ingaaa! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I hope Ruby will join Steemit if she hasn't yet. Love the chicken. Beautiful photos, lovely people here. I'm in love. Thanks so much for sharing the fun, the smiles, my heart is skipping a beat. Upvoted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00