A War Child Charity Song In Full Format.

in #livemusic5 years ago (edited)

Since 4K video takes me 1 hour per minute of video to up load, I often reduce the format to HD to save time. Websites like YouTube also add compression to sound to save space, but with 4K video it hardly pays to do that. Since the sound gets compressed anyway, and since I don't have the resources to adequately edit recordings, I usually provide raw audio on my videos, ..but not this one.

The audio was recorded with a Zoom H1, suspended upside down from a Fishing Pole. For most situations one or two of these relatively cheap devices provide superior sound, better than most Cameras out there, and it being a separate device, can be located away from the Camera, where the best sound is.

Pen in photograph to demonstrate how small this thing really is. Should I list myself as the source? I am. Silly, huh?
P1080090.JPG

Anyway, these tiny things record sound well enough that the sound can be reworked by a competent Producer to yield acceptable results as demonstrated in this 4K rendition. Watch on YouTube to get full resolution if you are watching/listening on equipment that can make use of the difference. If you view on your phone don't bother, watch it right here.

Proud Mary, Enjoy!

Sort:  

Amazing sound indeed! Passed on this gadget tip to the camera guy in my household. (Well, whichever household he now hangs out in most of the time...)

Yeah, I read about that situation, but had nothing of value to add. How's that going, BTW?

The layout of small venues often dictates the Camera be in the direct firing line of 1 of the sound system speakers, overpowering it's circuits with a signal it can't process. The Zoom, and the Fishing Pole, was the most practical solution. Set the record level at 17 or 15 for distortion free sound (Stay away from setting the level at 16, big secret..) and amplify the sound in the video editor.

I got lucky that Peter (Guitar) was willing to rework the recording with his equipment.

Yes, I remember you hoping Peter the Great might have a mo' to sort it out for you. Well worth his time! Reason to ditch your phone and stay glued behind your proper gear for more VocksVideos! Very interesting to experience the next level difference between staying here and going straight to YouTube. You hear of "loss" but now I heard it (and that with one and a half wonky ears!)

Nifty gadget (or should I say tackle?)

Of course you want to avoid 16!! (Tower in Tarot)

Ha ha, I did not know that. So what is the full meaning behind 16, the Tower, in Tarot cards? For Zoom it is rumored to just be a software glitch, but one easily sidestepped by staying over or under.

Tackle works for me :) I'm always fishing for better sound and sometimes fail miserably, and sometimes succeed spectacularly. Like the 16 setting on the Zoom, there is no middle ground it seems.

Giggles! This post didn't even show up in all tags, and my follower list is still scrambled. Hahahaha!

Congratulations @onnovocks! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2500 replies. Your next target is to reach 2750 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65916.61
ETH 3431.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66