What I’ve Been Up to This Week

A week spent mostly on garden work, but I did seasonal chores early in the week.

Sunday while the guys cut tree limbs a helper friend and I washed more windows and put in screens. I also was washing all the winter outside clothes in preparation to put them away on Tuesday. Two days of window washing totally wiped me out.

So on Monday I slept between loads of laundry to be ready to put things away on Tuesday.

Tuesday my helper friend and I changed out the winter clothes for the summer things.

Tree trimming - both trees2 crop May 2018.jpg

Wednesday I went out and raked up the mess from the limb removal and put the fence back up. It had come through undamaged.

Tree trimming - catalpa mess crop May 2018.jpg

Then I set about removing the hundreds and hundreds of catalpa pods from the Big garden. That took the rest of the day and some of Thursday.

Lilacs and eggs2 crop May 2018.jpg

Wednesday was also our anniversary and my husband picked this tiny bouquet of the flowers I had in my wedding bouquet and in my hair.

Big garden - planting onions crop May 2018.jpg
Onions planted

On Thursday my helper friend was here and we planted 5 26’ rows of onions. There were to be 3 rows of Walla Walla Sweet seedlings and 2 rows of Cortland storage onions.

While I was cleaning out the garden, my helper friend removed the mulch from the whole onion area and prepped the soil. Then we both started planting seedlings. I discovered somehow I miscalculated and was short ½ row of Walla Walla Sweet seedlings. I put the remaining Cortlands in and planned to put any extra leeks in too. We started mulching the seedlings until he had to leave and I continued putting mulch down.

Big garden - onions mulched crop May 2018.jpg
Onions mulched

At one point I looked up and there’s Momma bear and her 2 cubs over by the picnic table. I mulch kneeling down and one of the cubs thought I was interesting. So I got up and went over and closed the gate. He thought I was much less interesting standing up. By the time I’d gotten back to my row to mulch, they had disappeared.

Bear and cubs8 crop May 2018.jpg

So I continued mulching and a gray SUV comes up the driveway. She wanted to know if I knew the bears were in my side yard. She’d seen them, and me out in the garden, not acting alarmed. I said I’d seen them and closed the gate. So I guess they were still in the yard but on the other side of the house. I finally got the mulching done and quit for the day.

Big garden - potatoes planted1 crop May 2018.jpg
Potato bed planted

On Friday my helper friend was here and removed the mulch where the potato bed was going in and prepped the soil. Then he planted the potatoes I had chitted weeks earlier and prepped the day before. We decided not to mulch as he had forgotten to mark where the potatoes were. We’ll wait until they’ve come up a little and mulch then.

Big garden - mesclun planted crop May 2018.jpg
Mesclun starts

In the meantime, I had finished cleaning out the winter/catalpa mess from the rest of the garden and prepped the soil and planted, then mulched leeks. The next job was prepping the bed for the mesclun starts. We got those planted and mulched.

Big garden - mulch1 crop May 2018.jpg
You can see how the weeds come up when there’s not enough mulch.

I then decided to mulch the walkway which I had just finished weeding. It had not had mulch last year and the weeds would come back quickly. So we mulched the part that didn’t have any at all, saving what mulch I have left for the New Herb garden.

Big garden - laying out crop May 2018.jpg
Walkway mulched, laying out garden

Our next job was laying out the rest of the Big garden. We got that about ½ done when it was time for him to go. I stayed out there and pulled up the markers for the garlic and moved mulch off the ones that couldn’t make their way through. There were 14 of these out of 200+ plants.

Friday, May 11th, was a sort of sad day, as it was the first day I had not posted to Steemit since February 3rd. But I had no more backup posts written and was too tired to make any.

Here’s photos of the veg garden and flowering things I saw this week:

Big garden - comfrey crop May 2018.jpg
Comfrey

Big garden - horehound crop May 2018.jpg
Horehound

I found 3 of the 8 horehound plants had survived the winter and the mice.

Big garden - rhubarb crop May 2018.jpg
Rhubarb

Crabapple crop May 2018.jpg
Crabapple

Crabapple - flowers crop May 2018.jpg
Crabapple flowers

East lilacs1 crop May 2018.jpg
East lilacs

McIntosh - comfrey1 crop May 2018.jpg
Dwarf comfrey under the McIntosh tree

McIntosh - comfrey2 crop May 2018.jpg
Comfrey flowers

Quince crop May 2018.jpg
Quince in flower

Bulkhead garden - tiny daffodils crop May 2018.jpg
Tiny daffodils in the Bulkhead garden

It was to rain all day on Saturday so I planned to make lilac, violet, and daffodil jellys. I went out after supper and picked the flowers because if the rain came early, they’d be splashed with mud.

As I was picking violets I found 2 new hybrids: striped white and freckled purple. (I posted about them here: https://steemit.com/gardening/@goldenoakfarm/the-violets-of-golden-oak-farm )

Basket of lilacs crop May 2018.jpg

I needed 4 cups of violet flowers for 2 batches of jelly, 2 cups of lilac flowers for 1 batch and 3 cups of dandelion flowers for 1 batch. By the time I had collected all of them, the dandelions had started to close up for the night. It was 10 PM by the time I got all the flowers processed for the next day’s start.

Jellies - done1 crop May 2018.jpg
Left – right: violet (2 rows), lilac (2 rows), dandelion

On Saturday I spent all day making jelly. They came out with pretty colors and the lilac was delicately scented. I decided to use up the lilac flowers, which I had stored in the fridge, and make 2 more batches. So I processed those for an early start on Sunday.

So that was my week.

Sort:  

Very pretty! I'm happy there are no bears or anything dangerous in poland :D

Those jellies are intriguing, I haven't tasted anything like them. Do you add sugar? In any event, thanks for sharing pictures of you garden and your activities.

Yes, to gel they must have sugar. But I use a low sugar pectin. They intrigued me also! I made violet before but the lilac and dandelion are new to me.

Wow, what a busy week!! Happy anniversary! ♥
Your garden and flowering trees look fantastic! Great work!
How crazy, to live where bears just wander on into your yard... I hope they don't damage your garden or anything!

The only thing they damage is the electric fence. They plow right thro it, and it's often 20' longer than before they hit it! We've been here 35 years and no damage or problems except for that.

Oh wow.... sounds scary, but I guess like with any area, there are natural predators and other issues that you just end up getting used to dealing with. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84