Saturday Hike Along the Patapsco River

in #longexposurephotography6 years ago (edited)

I went out for a hike along the Patapsco River today at the site of the old mill town called Daniels. There is still a dam that was used for electric power for denim and canvas mills back in the day. I took along my Sony A7ii and my pocket tripod and took some photos as I hiked along the river.

D8684773-DD2C-4ED8-AD7C-F9EE9B567181.jpeg

You can still see some of the foundations of the old town below the dam, but above the dam is now a great spot for picnicking, kayaking, hiking, and fishing.

A57DA1E0-313E-44DF-9019-1D37EADC6D3B.jpeg

The shot below is looking up river just above the dam. The guy on the paddle board was just finishing a cruise along the very calm water.

E2455DFB-FE95-42DF-9B7B-78685D32E841.jpeg

The trail above the dam goes for several miles and is very flat, but scenic. I ran into lots of families and couples out for a walk. I was by myself today, but will be back out with my wife for a hike tomorrow.

6CC44E50-516B-4B56-9C3E-4BDBEEB2A454.jpeg

The leaves a just starting to turn on some of the trees. It should be beautifully colorful in just a few more weeks.

DAB15956-52F3-499C-B7A0-48911C51E5F1.jpeg

There were some kayakers paddling by a log full of Canada Geese who decided to give me the opportunity for an action shot.

23AA1407-026E-4202-82F7-31C0FF9C5DDE.jpeg

6B44BAC4-6C3F-4AB5-A671-A13031F67C8F.jpeg

I hope your day was beautiful as well.

99BD487F-12C7-4467-8330-4C9CBA797053.jpeg

Sort:  

Hi dabeckster,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you Curie Community!!!!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

These are lovely! I really enjoy the first two and that long exposure.. it’s somehting I haven’t attempted yet in my photography journey but really want to.. it looks so magical. The forest shot really sticks out to me. The greens in contrast to the browns of the path.. it captures that feel of the forest perfectly. Thanks for sharing these!

Thank you for your kind comments. It was a beautiful day for a walk and the trail and river were very peaceful.

The one with the waterfall is mesmerizing! Perfect photo to print in a large format, frame it and hang it in a living room.

Everything is still so green and lush. In Switzerland the leaves already changed colors a week ago or so. There are still a few trees that are green but most of them is yellow/orange/red now.

It looks like a lovely, easy hike with many beautiful views and things to see. Thank you for sharing!

Thanks. I’m sure the green will change quickly. I love the change of seasons and how very hike is a different view.

Beautiful photographs, great nature, I love that still water with smooth surface, you captured beautiful reflection in water. The little waterfall is so smooth and like someone "combed the hair" I love the colors, beautiful shades of gray. The geese fit so well in that scene, you were lucky to be able to capture the one with open wings and flying away. Real beauty!

The photos are really beautiful, I especially love the photo of the waterfall, it is just magical. It's amazing how photos can reveal the beauty of a place.

The geese were there right on time, waiting for you. I love the colors of plants around there, some yellow, green etc... They are cool!

Aaah really nice photos <3 The subdued lighting creates almost a mysterious but romantic feelings * ___ * Love the shot of the path and the waterfall! Gorgeous!

Congrats for curie, as well <3

Thanks for your kind comment! Curie is always a nice surprise!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82