Long exposure Photography of the Eiffel Tower


20151026-IMG_1400 copy.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

So this is what I came to Paris for. Well.. not really, I had a photo assignment I was hired for in Paris .. thats the real reason I went, but I had a lot of free time being there for a full week, so one of the things on my to do list (pretty much the first thing on the list) was to get a good long exposure of the Eiffel Tower. The fact that there was actually water in the fountain (but the fountain was off) provided the added opportunity of having a totally kick ass reflection shot going on.

The shot was taken right after a light show that happens night on the Eiffel Tower, where lots of lights twinkle all over it making it look like a sparkling jewel. Here's a random video from youtube showing what I mean:

Interesting factoid.. The light show is copyrighted and technically its illegal to photograph it.. which is none sense.. everyone photographs it.. what is actually illegal, is to take a photo of the light show and to then try and profit from it by selling the prints, or as stock imagery etc.


20151026-IMG_1409 copy.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

Not long after I took the first shot, the fountain came on and the water went from a wonderful stillness and a near perfect reflection to the water moving and blurring the reflection as you can see here.. it doesn't matter though .. I got the first shot .. and it took an hour of gritting my teeth and not murdering the tourists who completely disregarded that I was there and would walk in front of my shot ruining it.. like this:


20151026-IMG_1405 copy.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

See that.. she at least wasn't the worst. Just the one that stood still the longest that she didn't appear as an unsightly blur. The really annoying thing was all the families that were doing group selfies. I was secretly hoping they'd fall off the edge there .. would serve them right for climbing over the barrier and walking all over the fountain.

Anyway.. I got what I came for .. so it was still a success.


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-13T15:51:18
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 865.92/1600.00
Total Photos: 82
Total comments: 26
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 4.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Bloody tourists! There's always one entering the frame.

Still, you got away with some good shots!

Yeah.. damn them! :) and thanks, it took some patience! :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=fiftysixnorth
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=long-exposure-photography-of-the-eiffel-tower


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Gorgeous photographs! I think this copyright thing about the Eiffel Tower is assinine as well.

As far as tourists are concerned, I see this happen all the time when I take long-exposure shots. People who don't know anything about photography assume that you aren't using your camera. So they will step in front of you.

I have had to explain more than once what I was doing for people to actually get it. And then, the usual answer: "Your camera looks awesome. It must take great photos." LOL

lol! I hate that! but then, i think all photographers hate that particular line :) my skill with the camera is more than just my ability to pay for an expensive camera! lol

Exactly! People assume many things when they don't know much about something...

yes, it can be rather frustrating

Hello @fiftysixnorth, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks @creativecrypto, that's really great!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34