Victoria Terrace - Accidental light trail


20150301-IMG_8276 copy.jpg

I felt like today was a good day to post another light trail, this one however is a slightly older one. In fact, this is my first light trail photo, but it was entirely unintentional. I was taking a long exposure shot of Victoria Terrace in the Old town of Edinburgh when I car passed in the street below (victoria Street). I have posted shots of this street before in the past from very different angles. It is a great place, full of lots of quaint but delicious restaurants and the only cheese monger I have ever seen in Edinburgh. There could be more.. but I wouldn't know.

The light trail was a happy accident that got me thinking. I thought about how I could add interest to a city scene by doing long exposures with traffic. It helps give a sense of motion and life to an image and helps add to the perception that you are in a place that is alive.


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-11T19:39:18
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 573.42/800.00
Total Photos: 37
Total comments: 26
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I often do the opposite, I wait in a spot that all the people and life disappear and I get a clean shot of the street 😝

I do that a lot too :) The nice thing about long exposures is that you don't have to wait for people to move out of the shot as they tend to not show up in the photos because they are moving.. unless they are carrying a light of some kind, then they show up as a trail :)

Have you ever seen those shots of LA and other cities where people have taken photos in such a way that it looks completely deserted? Really cool.. and eerie.

http://www.upout.com/blog/los-angeles-2/heres-la-look-like-completely-deserted

I often do the opposite, I wait in a spot that all the people and life disappear and I get a clean shot of the street 😝

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14