My submission for "Monday Photography Challenge hosted by SteemUSA - #steemusaphoto".

in #longexposurephotography6 years ago (edited)

The story behind one of my favorite images taken in 2016:



Every year in July and November the Nubble Lighthouse in York Maine puts Christmas lights on the lighthouse. In the summer the local chamber of commerce hosts a week long festival named "York Days". And if you go on the last day (which is a Sunday) you'll also be treated to fireworks!


Sometimes when taking photos of fireworks, for some reason there can be too much smoke in the sky ruining the photos. I wasn't crazy about the photos I was getting - but this was the best shot out of all of the ones I took.

After the fireworks were over it was the perfect time to shoot the Nubble Lighthouse because it was finally pitch black / nighttime. So I headed over to the spot that I scouted earlier and I noticed there was a man sitting on the ledge of the rock. I figured I'd take a few shots to lock in my exposure and wait for him to leave. But after I took the first shot his silhouette looked amazing!

Based on his body language it seemed he was stressed out. He was also sitting there for quite some time. When he started walking toward his car I introduced myself and told him I took an amazing picture of him and I think he should have it. He said "no thanks" and didn't give me an opportunity to show him the pictures.

Every photographer has their "go to spots" and The Nubble Lighthouse is one of mine. If you'd like to read about some of my other "go to spots" click on the image below...


Here's a bonus photo I took during what photographers call "blue hour".


If you'd like to participate in this Monday photography challenge hosted by SteemUSA head over to: https://steemit.com/steemusaphoto/@steemusa/2lhfau-monday-photography-challenge-hosted-by-steemusa-steemusaphoto

SB_new.png

Qme3_PTCb79zk_MRn8b_Ereq9o_MYZb8_R4e_Lfa_Pa_GYp_GUg_RXDm

STEEMIT_PLUG

Posted from my blog - check out colonphoto.com for more!

Sort:  

Such a shame he didn't even look at the photo. It might have made his day a bit easier with an amazing shot. Well I guess maybe he was going thru a lot and just wanted to be alone. The last one is my favorite almost looks surreal.

I know - I was bummed out when he said no as (not to toot my own horn) the picture turned out really well. He was definitely going through something. Plus it was a pretty dangerous spot to sit as he was sitting on the edge of a cliff.

Thanks for stopping by!

Those are such awesome shots but the guy sitting there in the first ones makes a wonderful story in a shot

Thanks - before I took the shot he was "in my way". But when I looked in the back of the camera I was like holy ****! He definitely added another dimension to the photo.

Thanks for stopping by!

A pleasure to visit when I see such a wonderful shot

i always love your photography, love the lights and beautiful colors, wonderful edit my friend mikeycolon.

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

All of these photos are so magical and wonderful, I can hardly choose my favorite! The silhouette, the fireworks, the magnificent colors, and the Blue Hour, everyone one is spectacular! Thank you for sharing these beauties with #steemitbloggers 😊

Thanks for the kind words and for stopping by and your welcome!

These are beautiful :). Thank you for sharing them with us. :)

No doubts you love photography and know how to take a perfect shot. The illuminated lighthouse is quite outstanding....how you managed the blue hour one ? Is is digitally editted ??

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the kind words. After "golden hour" (sunset) there's what photographers call blue hour where on some days there's a blue hue after the sun sets. It isn't always this blue but it was that night. So to answer your question in one word no. LOL

Hahaha...it was quite a good information...i need to see those blue hour some day...hard to get here...

Posted using Partiko Android

It doesn't really last an hour, but if you hang out a bit longer when the sun goes down you may see what I'm talking about!

Haha..i know...we are more on the eastern side..and in middle of jungle..so after sunset it get too darker

Posted using Partiko Android

Dear @mikeycolon,

Your story attracted our attention and we would like to introduce our tag #archisteem that could provide you with some extra support. For your information, we are currently running the project – 1001 Places to Remember. Your content is a fit for the project and could be qualified for the 10 Steem reward biweekly contest.

It would be great if we can have this story of yours included in the project. If you agree, please reply to us.

Do drop by and take a look :) Hope to see you around soon.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Very cool! Yes you may use it to promote the #archisteem project and I'd be flattered. Thanks for your support! ✌️

You are most welcome too @mikeycolon :) We are glad to have you with us too. Looking forward to read more of your stories.

The photo of the man's silhouette is absolutely stunning. I wonder what was going on in his mind as he was sitting there contempating...

You and I both! LOL

these are super cool shots! i agree with tatt the guy sitting in your first shot is spectacular and your footer is amazing. saw you in steemusa monday lineup. love your work, eagle spirit

Thanks - I'm glad you dig the shots!

yay eagleeeee thats me yo! saw you are in NYC, my second home !! nyc for over 25 years ... yup your shots are hawt!

LOL Thanks!

I've seen plenty of hawks in NYC but never an eagle. I'd love to see one in the wild as opposed to a zoo one day!

✌️

yeah i dont recall that in my over 25 yrs of living there ... lol yep eagles are awesome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34