The Love of My Life, My Son on the Rocks & Some of My Thoughts on Love

in #love6 years ago

I want to remind you that with love, anything is possible. I know it might sound cliché, but hear me out through the end because I think you may be able to relate to my story or learn something.

AC2B74D6-06E1-4BD5-AD40-80F6D9237BED.jpeg

8 months ago, I was down, out, and feeling all alone.

The only “person” I had aside from family members was Wilson, who was more of a puppy at the time. Nonetheless, I needed his love. I had just gotten out of a very long, very toxic relationship. There were many things wrong with this relationship, but I will sum up some of the worst things which are most relevant. Basically, the whole relationship was asymmetrical in that I felt like I was the one thinking of all the details, I was the one supporting us, and I was the only one who felt confident with my skills. That’s not a healthy relationship.

After this relationship ended, for a brief period in time, I was feeling totally hopeless.

I had completely given up on finding the person who was “right for me” because I just didn’t know if I was going to have the energy to actually put the work in. After all, most relationships I had been in at this time (which was right after college) were people I met in classes I was taking. That’s right, just because I’m sexy doesn’t mean I’m not super nerdy and crave nerdiness and intellect in my relationships.

For a while, Wilson’s Love was enough for me.

I had never had “my own dog” before, just family dogs. Since I finally had a dog which was totally mine, I felt like I had a son who loved me and needed me to be there for. Wilson is a really good dog and the main issue he has is not being able to control his bladder when he gets excited.

447DEC31-E28A-40F4-9A4B-251BCDAE5B47.jpeg

I got by with a little help from my friends.

My friends in Florida @dwizard & @maddie26 took me in for a while and let me crash at their place when I was having a hard time.

Eventually, I said “F^ck it”.

Right before Hurricane Irma smashed into Florida, I packed myself, Wilson, and as much stuff as I could into my car and left Florida going North West, feeling magnetically pulled to Colorado.

E7E4C521-60F9-488B-987F-D7C0E8DD89BB.jpeg

I had hardly any money at all, and a ton of debt I’m still working on paying, but I knew I had to get out of Florida.

I knew Hurricane Irma wasn’t gonna kill me or ruin my life. There was definitely a lot of fear and FUD spread about it, but it wasn’t going to be fatal. I just knew I had to get out of FL.

I landed in Colorado Springs and fell in love with the area.

This place is seriously awesome. There are so many adventures at your fingertips in the Colorado Springs area, 95% of which are close and free of charge. People here tend to be happy and I was immediately blown away by the energy here. I figured there had to be a reason why the USA Olympic teams train here.

662DA5A7-492C-4234-964F-5266987CA7A3.jpeg

I ended up meeting Ingrid because she was the friend of my AirBnB hosts.

I tend to think that if you’re supposed to meet somebody, it will guaranteed happen, no matter what. After a couple times of Ingrid and I hanging out, we realized we were in love, on Thanksgiving Day 2017.

Ingrid and I have so much in common, that we can tell eachother anything.

If something seems like something that one of us should keep inside, it comes out even stronger as something that should be shared with the other. We listen to eachother and support eachother and always come out stronger on the other end. And when you can share anything with your partner, you are truly committed in accepting love.

I am finally going to be a father, and I am so proud and excited.

I always knew that I wanted to have a (human) child, but didn’t know if I was ever going to find somebody responsible and willing enough to also want the same. It seems like more and more people are not having kids “because everything is so f^cked” but I don’t think we’re going to un-f^ck anything if we all stop having kids out of fear.

My Final Point: Follow your Heart, even if it takes you deep into the uncertain and unknown.

If I didn’t leave all my fears aside, and pack myself and Wilson’s stuff into my car and drive off, not knowing what would happen, just knowing I was in seek of a better life, I wouldn’t be in the amazing position I’m in now, and wouldn’t have been able to meet so many awesome people (& you know who you are)!

EBB0005A-09CC-4DFD-AE3E-37E0908E1281.gif

GIF by @stellabelle

Sort:  

glad you found her - i found mine too - and it's amazing!

Nice thinking in such a situation. May God bless u.

So proud of you for taking the leap across the country to me❤️💜💙

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64111.27
ETH 3065.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00