Happy Mother’s Day to All of the Wonderful Mom’s Out There!!!

in #love5 years ago

6279CB67-3B6A-4A32-80E0-4D7E756CC95C.gif

As I go to see my mom today, it’ll be a bag of mixed emotions again. That’s par for the course as of late and it won’t really be getting any easier as time goes on. My mom suffers from dementia amongst other things and is now in a round the clock care facility. My dad took care of her as long as he could and did a hell of a job, but her needs surpassed what he alone could provide...so here we are.

It’s not bad. The nurses and aides are super nice and she’s actually improving in certain ways. For example, she’s now taking steps again which she hadn’t done on her own in ages. That’s because they are working on strength and conditioning in her legs. Things like that help me look at the bright side of this messy disease.

5E89F066-5456-460A-BA2A-0C01309DF835.jpeg

She’s mostly happy. I’d say out of all the times I’ve gone to visit, I’ve only seen her have a bad day or two where she’s agitated and upset...which is good odds that I’ll take any day. It just bums me out greatly that I can’t have the conversations with her that I used to. Now it’s just simple small talk for the most part. Long stories lose her so I keep em short and sweet.

She tells me she loves me about 20 times a visit which is flattering, but I miss my mom. While I’m super lucky to still have her here, it’s just a shell of her former self. I think it makes me appreciate all the memories that much more I guess.

Either way, I’m looking forward to seeing her and spending some time with her today. I know you won’t see this but I hope you know just how much I truly love you. I am grateful for everything you have done as it’s helped shape me into who I am today.

After the visit, I’ll be taking the other special mom in my life out for some lunch. I told my wife that it’s her choice and I think I know where she wants to go today as she’s been talking about this one place a bit as of late.

8F017FB1-62B4-42FE-8744-FF822D63E2A0.jpeg

I’m very lucky to have her as well. @reeseshara is not only a great mom to the kids and pets but in a sense...me as well. She motivates me to be a better person and gives me the drive I need to want to get us all to a better place. She is maybe a bit retarded as she chose me but whatever...today is not the day to question such decisions. Just gonna roll with it...

To the rest of you wonderful moms out there. I love you all. You all help make this world a better place and we are all appreciative of all the sacrifices you consistently make for the ones you love. Oh, and a very special Happy Mother’s Day to a couple of friends from the chain here. @roxane ...Congrats on the lovely new addition and I hope you have a wonderful day changing diapers full of mud! As for @evecab, we will let you slide on celebrating this day...almost there and that counts in my book!!! ❤️

Happy Mother’s Day to all!!!

Except the moms smoking crack and that kinda shit...

Blewitt

Sort:  

Lovely post, @blewitt. I’m sorry for what you’re going through, and that you have lost the essence of the mother you once knew. That must be so hard. Enjoy celebrating with your wife. She is beautiful!

Hey @jayna! Ah, it's part of life. Just a mess to watch this horrific disease rip away at someone you love more than anything. Ya know? But she's happy and that's what matters. Much love to you my dear friend.

I never know whether it's harder to lose someone fast or slow. Either way, it will tear your heart out. I'm so glad to hear she's happy. I know that is not always the case with that disease. Hugs to you.

The part about your mom saying she loves you 20 times made me smile.

Looks like you got a lot of love in your life so it’s good to read about in this angsty internet times.

Enjoy the day and your loved ones!

Thanks. So funny...she tells me that so much everytime I see her. That and she tells my wife that she's beautiful several times a visit. It's flattering and sweet and she seems genuinely happy in those moments.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

That is such a sweet post! I lost my grandma to dementia and totally know the feeling. When she didn’t recognize my mom anymore it was very hard on her... oh and it’s hilarious how you call your wife retarded for choosing you 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah it is just a mess to watch unfold. Sorry about your gram.

I think any of my ex's are retarded just a tad. The ones that dumped me a bit brighter than the current one. lol

And you think i’ve forgot you. 😊

I thought you died. Glad to see you are still with us here. lol

Miss ya!

Hi there! Nice post! By the way, thanks for the upvote in my latest post. I followed you, please follow me too so we can be friends here in Steemit community and keep in touch with each other.
Thanks! Blessed Mother's Day to your mom!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks brother. Appreciate the kind words.

such a beautiful post! life has its ups and downs...

Thank you dear. Year. Extreme highs and lows but ultimately I know I am lucky to have mom still around...even if it's not like it used to be.

Thank you for the thought !!! <3

No prob! How are you feeling and how are you guys doing in general? Is this a huge adjustment?

Not really a huge adjustement she is sleeping all the day and all the night long LOL
And as she is still very small we can bring her everywhere (even 'quiet' concerts!) and she is fine :D :D :D Let's see how it's will evolve LOL
And I don't know if I told you but Olivier took 4 months break to stay with us :) So it's really easy :) Hope you are fine <3

Least you still get to see her @blewitt and I know what you mean she is there yet you miss how she used to be before her memories got taken away.

I know. I realize I am luckier than those that aren't afforded that opportunity. Still blows though...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94