Happy birthday little one...

in #love6 years ago

Today is my niece's second birthday. She has had a weekend of celebrating at home in Finland with her mum and dad, friends and family and from what I heard has had a really nice time. You can see her here in a photo with me taken several weeks ago when I was in Finland visiting. With a grip like that she'd make a great koala...But she's not a koala, she's my niece and I miss her so much. You may know her as @smallsteps.

I have only spent seven days with my niece but we bonded really well and I think she misses me and my wife as much as we do her.

It was a sad weekend for us here in Australia as we were unable to be with her on her birthday however we sent over some gifts for her which she should receive soon and I'm sure her mum and dad will send us lots of pictures. We also sent her a video of us saying happy birthday and a few other things, you will never get to see it I guess. Apparently she watched it intently, and her mum cried. We miss you too @momone! It was difficult to do the video as every time I think about how much I miss her I get very sad and have to stop myself from crying.

It's been amazing at how easily she captured my heart and even now writing this post I'm tearing-up. You see she's such an amazing little thing. So loving and funny, intelligent and inquisitive. She and I had some great conversations although only in english as I don't speak her other language, Finnish. Still, she slowed it all down for me so I could understand and I think we communicated well. I taught her some Australian slang which she still uses and she generally stole my heart. I'd do anything for her.

When I first met my niece I knew I would miss her every day until I saw her again however I didn't know it would be so difficult for me. Yes, I know there's Skype and WhatsApp video calls but they run a poor second place to this little girls hugs, kisses and all the little things that make her the best thing I've ever seen. She's the coolest little kid!

As a couple unable to have children, but who love them very much, having our niece around was something very special and she has made an indelible impact upon us. She asks about us all the time wondering where we got to; It's hard for her to understand the distance I suppose and not a day goes by that I don't think about her as well and wish I could get a koala-hug like the one in the picture.

Happy birthday little one. Uncle misses you so much.

Sort:  

I saw it was her birthday and can totally understand how you're missing her so much; she really is a cutie!

She sure is Lynn. We video called last night and she was full of beans! Talkative and as always, inquisitive. I wish I could share some of the video's I receive as it would bring a lot of joy into people's lives. Alas we keep them private for obvious reasons. Thanks for commenting. Hopefully Brian is on an up week this week.

I'm glad you both can enjoy her via video at least @galenkp. Brian seems to be turning a corner from a rather difficult stretch. Thankfully!

She is a awesome little Kuala isn't she. She is a blessing to the world and will be for a very long to come.

She is mate...Such a lovely little girl. We video chatted tonight. She's a funny thing!

Bright kids are awesome man. It's a joy to see young minds shaping personality and learning to apply knowledge.

She's a smart one for sure man!

Nobody ever warns you about how hard a kid can punch you right in the feels XD Being so far apart really sucks! Bridging with the video calls may not be nearly good enough but at least it's better than nothing, you can at least watch her growing til next time :)

Happy 2nd birthday to the small one!

Yes it's better than nothing at all. It wasn't that long ago we didn't have the ability to video call like we do now so I am grateful. Thanks for commenting I appreciate it as always.

Cute kid! Happy birthday, keep growing

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

happy birthday little friend, hopefully long age and healthy always.

Thank you for your comment today it is much appreciated.

You are welcome @galenkp, and have a nice day

Jappy Birthday to her. She deserves all the happiness 🎉🎂

Yes she certainly does. Thank you for your comment, greatly appreciated.

Happy birthday, @smallsteps, she is so cute!

You got a 37.63% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76