Rusty, weather-beaten love...

in #love6 years ago

I took this picture back in July when I was in Finland visiting my family. It was taken on a footbridge in the small city of Tampere about 176 kilometres north of Helsinki. My brother @tarazkp his lovely wife @momone and the cutest kid ever, my niece @smallsteps, were great hosts and left me with a really great understanding of what life looks like for them in Finland and we did some sightseeing around the area and Helsinki. This image was taken during a nice walk around the central city area of Tampere. I'm sorry, I don't know what the bridge is called but it had hundreds of padlocks, engraved with lovers names, locked onto it as often happens on bridges in cities.

See that padlock in the middle of the picture above? The old rusty, hammered up one...It made me think about love...Long-term love. Old, rusty, hammered up love. You see, love, [and I mean between two people, not the love of donuts], is alive...Meaning it's fluid and changeable; What was a particular sort of love between two school-sweethearts may be a completely different thing in their 30s or 50's...If they are still together. Does it get any less powerful or encompassing...More? Well, it's situational and subjective of course.

I knew some younger people in their very early 20's who believed that at their age they loved more passionately than someone in their 40's or 50's. I couldn't really address their idiocy though, they were millennials and so knew everything. I think love is an individual thing and can be just as passionate and strong when found at 50 years old than at 25. It's really up to the people involved to create the sort of love and passion around themselves that they desire, need and want.

Have you ever seen an older couple walking down the street hand in hand? I have, and I always wonder about their story. Have they recently met after being widowed, have they been together since a very young age? I think it's nice that they still desire that simple human gesture of contact though. I mean maybe they've been together, married for 60 years and here they are, in their 80's, still together and holding hands in a public display of affection. Nice huh? So, is passion, and love still achievable as older people? Sure as hell is I think.

Like the rusty old padlock on that bridge in Tampere love can endure. It can withstand stormy weather, some tarnish or rust; It can withstand the test of time. Love can be as steadfastly secure as that lock is on that bridge, unbreakable. Love can also open and close...It's not a trap, more a safe place to feel secure, or free when the need arises. But unlike the padlock love can be flexible. It can adapt, ebb and flow...That's what helps it stand the test of time, the march of time.

When I saw this padlock amongst other shiny and new ones I wondered who placed it there...Old lovers or retro-loving funky young ones...We'll never know of course. What we do know is that their love brought them to place the padlock there as a symbol of their enduring love. Will their relationship, and indeed love, last the test of time to become rusty and beaten, but secure like their padlock? I hope so.

Sort:  

Deep thoughts of the day 🙂

Love is something that needs to be worked on for a lifetime in order to grow. Infatuation is that first year or two, maybe three to four years if you're lucky, but after that, love is something that only grows deeper with time. Well, if you work at it..

Love doesn't come easy, and it takes some conscious effort to maintain, but the more you cultivate it over time, the stronger it becomes! Those millennials will learn the fallacy in their beliefs soon enough.. Hopefully...

I agree with you. Love is many different things, not just the idyllic picture portrayed in the movies. It's hard work and takes effort. Many people are in love with the idea of being in love and don't actually allow it to deepen and yet others confuse infatuation for love as you say. It's different for everyone I suppose.

There'd be so many keys on the bottom of that river. Pull em up with a magnet, and see if you can match them to their padlocks. Unlock them all from the fence and string them together into a chain, then throw the keys back. That'd trip people right out :)

It would be a long padlock chain for sure...A lot of work though.

I've always said - if there was one Steemian who could make a rusty old lock seem interesting - it would be my mate Galen.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you sir for your kind words...

I always love seeing such padlocks on a bridge when I travel too <3 Even if they're not together anymore, 'cause who knows, it's still so sweet because at one point, they loved each other so passionately as to place that there and think it's forever. And it's sweet and frightening at the same time...because maybe they don't now..:/

I think the sort of couple you're talking about is kinda rare, I don't know if it's just people being used to just changing things and not used to fighting the good fight or whatever (maybe it's a matter of commodity...) but I don't think there are many couples like that around. Love's confusing.

I couldn't really address their idiocy though, they were millennials and so knew everything.

Well, you should know better than to challenge millennials by now :))

And what have you got against donuts? :P

Love's confusing.

Yes, I agree and yet it isn't when broken down to it's most simple form. Yes, it's complicated l, or at least often is, but it really comes down to a few key elements...Respect, trust, loyalty, passion and attraction. Sure, there's other elements but these are the foundations.

Love requires the good fight as you put it, but also some surrender.

Thanks for your comments. Not all millennials are the same either. Sometimes one stands apart, and above the others. :)

I don't know...lately I keep thinking that it makes no sense whatsoever :/ But I think it's just a mood, passing.

My, as I live and breathe, is that a compliment? I'm honored :D

A lot of things make no sense HD, it's just the way it is.

is that a compliment?

Hmm, looks like a compliment. Sounds like compliment. Must be a compliment. :)

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @fordays and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

You got a 48.23% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp!

I hope to look back after 50 years and say the same about my love @kelsnm.

Words so silky smooth.

I too get thoughts when viewing PDA of elders. Life is beautiful, with love its even better!

Hey, @galenkp.

Thanks for saying what needed to be said about love and millennial idiocy. :) I'm not even sure if the younger ones even know what passion means, and they may be mixing it up with hormones and insecurities. :)

Okay. Now that I've tipped my hat on what I think about 20-something millennials and love...

My wife and I will be married thirty years this coming January. I know we haven't gotten this far on passion alone. And sometimes, passion can get in the way of what's important—understanding, true communication, and actual love. Seeing beyond the surface, overlooking the warts and the other defects, to see the person inside. Putting their interests many times above self.

That's interesting about the padlocks. I wonder how often these lovers pass by the bridge. I wonder if it helps them to see those padlocks? I'll try to make it work if I can see the padlock! As you said, who knows who put the rusty padlock up there, but I'm rooting for the couple who's been married for 50 years, although, I do have to admit, my esteem of the youngest generation would go up if they had the insight to put up the rusty lock, not just because it looked cool.

It's an interesting concept, the padlocks. I first saw it in Paris a long time ago on a bridge near Notre Dame. I believe the authorities had to cut them all off as the sheer weight of them were overloading the bridge. They build up again and they cut them off again. A cycle.

I wonder how many truly think about the longevity of their own love when they put the padlocks there or if they approach it with the same mentality...Let the love run its course then simply cut it away...

I would hope it would be meaningful enough to do, and act as a reminder when things get tough—otherwise, not really sure other than vain tradition, some kind of peer pressure/keep up with the joneses kind of thing it would really be. I know. Too logical and practical. Not romantic at all. :)

I've seen the padlocks on the bridge in Paris, in a movie. It's probably the first Now You See Me. I wasn't aware that the padlocks get cut off over time, but it makes sense why. And yet, they don't seem to discourage it. That's a lot of locks to cut off. I would guess, though, it takes a while to build back up?

Can't think of anything comparable to the padlocks on the bridge that anyone en masse does here in the states. I haven't been everywhere, though, so there certainly could be something.

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.201 which ranks you at #2803 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 48 places in the last three days (old rank 2755).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 391 contributions, your post is ranked at #55.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43