An update on @briancourteau's battle with cancer

in #love6 years ago (edited)

838wt4g6ke.png
(photo from 2012 when we opened our restaurant)

Hi everyone,

Lately I've been having people ask me how Brian is doing, and especially since he hasn't been posting anything, I'm sure there are those of you who would like to ask, but haven't.

So, here's how he is:

He continues to lose weight, unfortunately he's about 125-130 lbs now; so yes, quite thin. Due to the inflammatory illness that he has (that has never been diagnosed), and the cancer, he is in constant pain; some days are worse than others. The upside is that the "Burning Mouth Syndrome" has all but disappeared, although the mouth tumors continue to grow. He takes CBD oil which seems to keep them at bay, but nonetheless, his mouth is often sore. I can tell when he talks "funny", but he rarely will tell me or complain about it.

For several weeks now, he seemed to have hit a plateau, getting no better, but also no worse. I took this as a positive sign, something to be thankful for. This week however, the tumor around his adrenal gland has been causing him terrible pain, and that is also the time that the frequency of seizures increases as well, regardless of any medication that he takes.

We do manage to get out for a little walk most days, but then once we are back inside, he is finished for the day and says that it feels as though he has run a marathon, completely depleted of energy.

I wish I had better news for us and for all of you, but I do want to thank you for all of the continued support, well wishes and love sent our way. Brian and I both really appreciate it.

It really does warm my heart when I continue to recieve messages asking how we both are doing, and there are even those of you who end a public comment with "sending you and Brian love". So many times in life, unfortunate things happen, friends and family offer support, and then over time, it is forgotten. That is not the case here, and we continue to be in awe and overwhelmed with your continued support.

Thank you for remembering us. Thank you for not forgetting that I sometimes struggle with this too. Thank you for remembering to check in on Brian, even if he isn't posting. Thank you for being you. As difficult as this is at times, what all of you have given us is something words can't adequately express. Saying thank you can't come close to expressing what is in our hearts, but it is all I am able to do.

So thank you, from Brian and I, from the bottom of our hearts. So many of you have added to this journey we are on, in ways that I never imagined possible.

Proud Member of :

SB-Marvel-Family.gif


Asapers.gif

![](

Sort:  

As always, light and love to you guys. <3

Thank you so much @solcross ...for your kind words and continuous support <3

I have just started follow you. I had gathered most of your situation but did not go back and read any of your old posts. I have truly enjoyed your posts and our conversations. Hopefully the Steemit community's support helps you. You and Brian will be in my prayers.

Thank you @steven-patrick; Brian and I appreciate your thoughts and prayers. This community has been unbelievable with its' support. I am continually in awe by it all; it's like nothing I have ever experienced! You are now included in that too and have become a part of our journey <3

may the pain go away!
Amen

Thank you @adeoyesteem! We appreciate that very much. <3

My heart goes out to you both.
I can’t even start to imagine what it’s like for you guys. Just wanted to let you know, you’ve both been a great inspiration to me, and I will never forget that.
I might be tuning out - maybe for a while, maybe permanently, but please know your strength has gotten me this far. And I can’t thank you both enough for that.

You’re among the strongest people I ever came across, and I learned so much of you both. That will be forever in my heart.
Xxx

Oh @simplymike, you're so beautiful! Thank you! And what do you mean "tuning out"? Send me a private message so we don't air out our dirty laundry here in public :)

Thank you again, your words are unforgettable to me as well! I'm glad that "good" things have come from our 'story'. <3 <3

Don't worry, @lynncoyle1. I was in a bit of a drama queen mood yesterday. There's some stuff going on and I'm pretty emotional about it, but I shouldn't go all drama queen like that - especially not to you guys. I'm even ashamed I posted it on your post :0s

I will just keep going on and off, like I have been for the past few weeks. But I'll be back eventually - how could I not with all you amazing people on here <3

Please don't be ashamed for posting that here! If we rank all of our complaints, we'll never get to whine about anything because there will always be those worse off :)

You're pretty amazing too and would be dearly missed by me and many others if you ever were such a big baby as to leave all together :)

I hope you don't mean that you are leaving Steemit. YOu would be missed!!

Thanks for the kind words, @mariannewest.
Just going through some difficult times. I don't know... sometmes SteemIt takes my mind off things, but often I just don't feel like it.
I'll get through it, eventually. And then I'll be back, because you are an amazing bunch of people :0)

hugs to you - hope the better times are just around the corner!!!

That's exactly how I feel @mariannewest!

Oh Lynn I just woke up and you made me teary eyed :(

I know your struggles and the pain that Brian goes through and think that you are totally a wonderwoman to be able to go through all of that, being active and caring in Steemit and looking at the sunny things in life.

I know there are some days that you struggle to keep that up and admire you when you take the extra step to rise above it.

You and Brian have been a part of my Steemit journey and know that both of you will always have a place in my heart for showing how truly wonderful love can be, making me believe in the goodness of man with Dave spearheading a huge campaign and that I will always say a silent prayer of strength for you.

A big virtual hug from me Lynn!


This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

I'm so sorry for that @maverickinvictus! But your comment made me teary eyed too...so I suppose we're even. I think we keep making each other cry when it comes to these posts <3

Thank you so very much for your kind words and for recognizing what I go through with all of this; that means more to me than I can say. I can feel your hug my friend, and I'm giving one right back to you as well! <3

I was just thinking of the two of you and here is an update. Thank you so much for that and I hope you will return at least to the plateau. Hugs to you!

Thank you @mariannewest for your kindness and continued support! I was thinking this was the case for many, and it was time for an update :) We both really appreciate you caring <3

You are very much in my thoughts. I think I told you that I had cancer myself in the past and my brother in law just passed away last week. I know that it helps to know that people do care - but also, sometimes, you just don't want to talk about it. So, I hesitate to ask and I am grateful for your update.
All the best to both of you.

Oh no @mariannewest, I'm so very sorry to hear about your brother in law! Life really can be so unfair, can't it!

I never have a problem talking about it; in fact, it helps me to do so. Please don't hesitate to ask anytime.

Thank you again. Sending my best to you and your family as well <3

Hi Lynn. I know you came out with a recent post, but I will comment on this one. I am happy to hear the burning mouth syndrome has gone away, but realize he is still uncomfortable with other health issues. I can never know what you both are experiencing so will just send my best wishes your way. ❤️

btw, love your outdoor haven in the garden post. You made it very inviting and the hibiscus plant growing is awesome. It's too cold here for hibiscus as an outdoor plant. Hope you two spend many relaxing moments outside enjoying each other's company.

Awww thank you so much @beeyou; we both appreciate your thoughts and well wishes always <3

Yes, I love the little balcony! Often if Brian is in a bad way, I don't venture too far from home, so I'm so thankful to go out there and take a few deep breaths, feel a little fresh air and sunshine, and recharge the batteries so to speak.

Or a nap in the hammock lol

Thanks again!

Sounds calm and peaceful @lynncoyle1. Helps to have moments of serenity.

Thanks for the update @lynncoyle1. Super happy the Burning Mouth is pretty much gone. Glad he's at a bit of a plateau. Love you both!

Thank you @tryskele for your kindness and continued support; it means a great deal to both of us. Lots of love right back atcha :) <3

Thank you for the update @lynncoyle1. I'm glad that Brian's "Burning Mouth Syndrome" has all but disappeared and sad for all the other things that add to his pain.

I'm also very glad to see you around more again and hope that means you're feeling a bit better and finding ways to cope again.

heaps of love to you both as always.

💙 💛 💜 💚

Thank you @gillianpearce! I am back to "normal", whatever that is :) but coping again for sure. I think sometimes I fight the current, so to speak, instead of just rolling with it. Acceptance. It's easier that way for sure.

As always, we appreciate the "heaps of love"! <3

I think sometimes I fight the current, so to speak, instead of just rolling with it. Acceptance. It's easier that way for sure.

So true @lynncoyle1 but it's not so easy when life presents us with stuff we'd rather not have.

You do a great job generally so a little slip for a short while is understandable.

I'm having a big rethink this week of what I want to do on Steemit and how I want to approach things going forward, not just on Steemit but with my other work stuff too. One thing's for sure, I want to spend less time at my computer.

I'm feeling like a really big clear out, both on and off line. I need more space.

I wish there was an easy way to find out some pay out stats in a clump. I'd like to know just how much I earn in SP from posting and how much from commenting. And i'd like to be able to remove the odd ones like an occasional vote from esteem or other random ones that very occasionally occur.

I want to be more efficient here, in terms of how I spend my time, but I don't really know what's going on at the moment. Hopefully, I'll be able to work it out! 😁

So glad to see you really engaged again. 😍

I'm having a big rethink this week of what I want to do on Steemit

Uh oh! I'm feeling a deja vu here :)

You should talk to Asher, I'm sure he'd be able to pull some numbers for you!

Yep. Definitely a bit of a deja vu @lynncoyle1 but more of a strategic one than a fed up one this time.

I asked about tools to use but the ones he mentioned are ones I use already so, it seems, I'm just going to have to go through them a post at a time and take some numbers from there.

I didn't like to ask him to do it for me as I don't want to drag him away from his lilo. 😂

@gillianpearce, I'll be curious what you discover!

I had a good look but wasn't able to find anything, even after asking around @lynncoyle1. 😊

Oh well, it was worth a try. Thanks for letting me know @gillianpearce !

Who is this Brain guy ?
Picture looks like some Hockey Superstar with his arm around his eye candy.

Hang in there. one day at a time. You know where to go to let off some steem. Prays and wish always.

Thank you for making me laugh and smile throughout all of this! We do look pretty good there, don't we? :)

One day at a time. Good advice @wolfhart. I used to stress about the future, what will I do? What's going to happen? but I figured out that one day at a time is the only way to survive this journey we're on. Thank you for the prayers and wishes too <3

only way to get through the bad days and enjoy the good days.

So true @wolfhart! And I'm a firm believer that laughter has a lot of health benefits too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87