At-One-Ment

in #love5 years ago (edited)

Atonement (noun)
\ ə-ˈtōn-mənt
1 : reparation for an offense or injury
2 : the exemplifying of human oneness with God

I am human, for better and for worse, and I make more mistakes than I would like to admit.

But experience shows that acknowledging my shortcomings is super important if I want to be a better me, so I practice humbling myself.

And I need a lot of practice, because I'm definitely not very good at taking a knee. I'm willing to acknowledge, explore, and reflect on this too.

IMG_8274.JPG


Lately I am considering my recent mistakes in letting anger get the better of me - again. Of taking it out on people I deeply love and respect...yet what kind of love and respect am I actually embodying and demonstrating to behave like a jackass if the mood strikes me just so? Is it really love and respect if it comes with all kinds of conditions - like I can only feel it and live it IF I'm well rested and not hungry, or only if the other person behaves just so? Yeah, right...

I can't control anyone but myself, so better let go of any and all expectations of who or what someone else "should" be asap...otherwise I'll always find myself displeased, disappointed, unhappy, unsatisfied, and I'll always be a victim with someone else to blame for my own suffering! No thanks.

And what kind of self-mastery is it to "be love" only if I'm within a narrow range of physical comfort? I'm going to be hungry, tired, hot, cold, crowded, etc from time to time in this life... I won't be much of a badass if I flip shit any time the external environment is not to my optimal preference. That is also weak victim bullshit if I make it something else's fault for how I conduct myself.

After my recent moment of rage and disrespect, I felt like a big dumb asshole for losing my temper. Again! And then came the guilt and shame spiral, which in some ways is worse than the anger...

Oh brother!

Welp, it happened. I made mistakes that don't feel good.

My loved ones have already forgiven me - thankfully THEY are embodying the type of radical love I want to experience. Thankfully I can learn from them, because my way isn't building a better world. Thankfully @quinneaker has been holding my hand for years, teaching me and repeating all these lessons again and again. THANKFULLY he has done this for me unwaveringly, even when I was a bigger asshole than I am now, so I know in the depths of my soul the truth of his generosity and benevolence and compassion...

I am forgiven, so it's not really that big a deal...except that it is, because this is hardly my first offense.

How many fouls do I get before I'm ejected from the game? It is not my intention to push the boundaries of "how much bitchiness can I get away with"...

SO the real question is, how to make up for fucking up???

Apologies are fine and all, but don't mean anything without some action behind it. I have to acknowledge the mistake, accept where I'm at, and take responsibility for and actually upgrade.

Maybe it is not perfect, but this is my atonement. This is a return - coming back to truth, coming back to oneness, coming back to love.

Coming back, humbled, to try again.

I may not be perfect, but I can try to wear my imperfection gracefully.



















✨💛✨ Sara!

Sort:  

Just the fact that you can even write a post like this proves that you are highly evolved and far more responsible than most.

We all make mistakes, none of us are perfect, but yes keep evolving and yes actions speak louder than words.

💫🙏🏼💫

Super powerful Sara. Responsibility is key as we all know! All of us putting it into practice blesses us all. Grateful for you and your ability to stand in the purafire of life. Love you!

I love you too 💛

I'm not sure that beating up on yourself is any better than beating up on someone else :-)

Looking on mistakes or wrong attitudes, whether your own or someone else's, with compassion and gentle guidance would seem, to me, to be the middle way.

I absolutely agree! And I appreciate your witness to my process of striving for thrival.

I believe I can love and respect another only as much as I love and respect myself, so ultimately how I treat anyone is a reflection of how I feel about and treat myself.

Beating myself up is in no way ideal, and just draws out my suffering of transgressions great and small. I recognize I have more programming to upgrade in how I treat myself thus others. But I'm coming back to compassion and self-forgiveness, and recognizing I'm truly the only one with real power to make the life of my dreams.

I agree~
Wise words~

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @saramiller! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 80000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 85000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83