The Importance of Setting Boundaries and Listening To Myself!

in #love5 years ago


It is funny how we sometimes take things for granted, like assuming that other people will respect your personal space, mainly because you expect that they would want the same from you. But sometimes, sometimes it seems that we have to spell things out for certain people. I imagine that for most people, they would never think of entering some one else's home without being invited in first and further more, that they would not then go ahead and use that person's belongings without asking!.

I have been feeling rather protective of my home these last few months, home as in the truck I live in. I done a reclaim my space ritual when I returned after being in Ireland, which was hugely beneficial. I really felt like I had been violated, finding out my ex had more or less moved in another women when I was away with my children. So it was only natural that I became more protective and drew more protective barriers around me and my home. I have been slowing building myself back up and in a way rediscovering myself. It is like that when you separate from some one after 11 years together. A separation that was extremely hurtful and that left me feeling exhausted and burnt out.

So I have been trying to be gentle with myself and take things easy, which is not always easy when you are a mum to 3 amazingly wild and energetic children, and trust me I would never have them any other way.


IMG_1253.JPG

A few weeks ago their uncle came to visit, their fathers brother. He came in a campervan and parked up on the land I look after. They were very excited to see him and I was expecting him to stay for a few days and then move on. But after a few days my daughter told me that he was maybe going to stay for 2 or 3 weeks. Okay, but why hadn't he communicated that with me. I was waiting for him to come and talk to me about how long he wanted to stay and more importantly to ask if it was okay. That seemed like the normal thing to do, under the circumstances. But it didn't happen and then I had friends come to visit me so I got distracted.

Then on Monday me and my girls went into town, with my friend and her family. They wanted to take us out for dinner, which is such a huge treat. We never eat out. When I returned home and after the girls were settled I went to turn on my computer only to find it was on and in guest mode. Immediately those feelings of being violated came back to me. I literally started to shake as I sat in front of the screen. Then about 5 minutes later there was a knock on the door, it was the girls uncle asking if he could use the computer to go online.

But you have already used it, I said. He immediately denied it! but it has been switched on and is in guest mode, I said to him. He then said, I only went on to get a password. At this point I just looked at him and said, you have no right coming into my home when I am not here. At which he replied but you were not here to ask. I looked at him and said then you wait until I come back. I then told him to leave.

I really was so upset, with so many emotions rushing back to me. I really did not want to have to deal with this again, some one being so disrespectful to me. Of course this is not as bad as what his brother done, but it really brought all of that back to me.



I now know that I should have went up to him before this and asked what his plans were, and also that I didn't really want him staying too long. I am happy that he came to visit his nieces, but he did not have to stay on the same land as us. I certainly am not comfortable with that now. I approached him again yesterday morning to say just that. When I told him I was not comfortable with him staying on the land, he then said that he was not here spying on me, that he wasn't phoning up my ex to tell him what I was up to.

This really threw me, I had come to tell him to move off the land because he came into my home uninvited, when I wasn't there and when onto my computer. And here he was telling me he wasn't spying on me, now I started to feel really paranoid, that, that was exactly what he was doing.

To be honest I have put so much energy into setting boundaries with my ex, that it exhausts me when he is here, because he just doesn't respect them. So as a result I really just let things slip a bit with other people, but I really did not see this happening, I just didn't expect it. But, he has left and what have I learned? I have learned that we need to set boundaries all the time and stand strong when something doesn't sit right with us. I was already uncomfortable with the fact that he never communicated his intentions with me, or even contacted me to tell me he was coming, he just turned up.

I always write about listening to ourselves, to trusting ourselves and now I know that unfortunately we can not always give some people the benefit of doubt. I kind of hate that I now feel like I have to keep my guard up, but I also know that I have to protect myself and my well being, that is my responsibility. I really need to follow up on those little fleeting feelings of uncomfort. To trust myself, to trust my own inner knowing. Setting boundaries is act of self love after all. It is through my acts of self love that I will show my children how to take care of themselves.




8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp



DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

Boundaries are definitely important and I'm so sorry you had to feel violated like that with the girls uncle. It's a sucky feeling, ha had no right obviously, but you shouldn't hate that you felt that way. Do the best you can even if sometimes your best doesn't feel as good as it can be... as long as you know you did your best.

I hope you will get out of that that feeling fast, I know it sucks!

thank you my friend, it really has shaken me to be honest, what with already feeling that way in the summer, but I obviously needed to have this happen so that I strengthened my boundaries and protect myself more xxx

Just seeing that it has strengthened your boundaries is a positive thing righ? Do I need to get my cousins involved... give him a good scare? (Kind of joking but they do enjoy protecting others 😁💚)

it is a positive thing for sure xx don't think I need cousin protection as of yet, but will let you know lol , thanks my friend xxx

You're welcome!

What a jackass! And the way he did it, "Hey, can I use your computer?"... the only reason he said that is because he probably remembered that he left it on, and was trying to come back and switch it off because he didn't expect you to get back so soon.

Furthermore, saying 'I'm not spying or calling up my brother" is suspicious as hell. Often when folks deny something that hasn't even been brought up yet it's a big sign that they are doing precisely that thing.

I'd say, invest in some padlocks, scour your machine for trojans, and take notes. Maybe I'm just paranoid, and I don't want to freak you out or nothing but... Two-Legs is Two-Legs...

Oh I know, it really says a lot, him coming out and saying that that is guilt in my eyes. I have securely locked my truck now and will check over my computer again, thanks @yestermorrow xx

oh, I am so sorry this happened to you. His actions were way out of line and I agree with @yestermorrow - total jackass behavior from beginning to end. You should not feel bad about this, it is not something you would expect from an adult - even a young child would know better than behave this way.

thank you beautiful, it really has shook me up, but i am glad I stood my ground and told him to leave it is just a shame for my kids really, but I did explain to them that sometimes these things happen so that lessons can be learned. I hope you are well xxx

I was going to pose the question to you, "what do you think this is telling you?"... but it seems you've already had that realisation.

Boundaries are such a tricky thing to manage. From my own experiences, I found I just couldn't re-establish or maintain after boundary violations. The only way was to do a kind of reset, where everything was blocked out... and then slowly pull them back to the level I was comfortable at.

It was really useful for me, as it purged a lot of bad shit out of my field, and anything/anyone who remained was more than capable of hearing and respecting my boundaries.

😊🙏🏽☯️

Wow that must have been intense, but very empowering in the end. I have their dad visiting tomorrow so I really need to be clear in my boundaries for that. Trying to really draw on my core strength and protect myself. Thanks @metametheus xx

Boundaries are SOOOO important, especially when someone doesn't respect them, but even when they do. Boundaries are a big part of building communities that work for all involved.

I know . . . I've always sucked at setting them, and Marek regularly tells me that I am too nice to people who don't deserve it. Which is true.

Good for you for standing up to him, and good for you for being kind to yourself in confronting him about your concerns, and making your boundaries known.

And yeah, it sucks to have to, but he brought it on himself for being a callous jerk. And you not only have your own boundaries to protect, but those of your children, and if he doesn't respect yours, it's unlikely he'll respect theirs.

I can't even imagine anyone I know just walking into my home in my absence and using my computer . . . I would be livid, and would likely have called the authorities on the spot.

I've been stalked more than once. I don't play around with that shit.

Of course, the chance that Lolo would stand idly by if someone came into the house is pretty remote, which is one of the reasons I have a large protective dog.

You did the right thing, you have every right to feel as you do, which is entirely reasonable, and he's lucky you didn't punch him in the flipping face.

I'd have been tempted.

Posted using Partiko Android

thank you @crescendoofpeace, I was so angry when I realized what he do, it really shook me to my core. But then my youngest daughter climbed onto my lap and was there when he came in so I could not really express my anger towards him but I did get my point across and I feel so much better for being assertive and telling him to live, he had a lesson to learn in this a big one, I really hope he got it. xxx

Always take care of yourself first because if you are not ok, you are not able to do good for other either. Boundaries are wonderful. We often feel like we are selfish if we have them but that is healthy selfish :) That art with boundaries is gorgeous by the way. Much love!

thank you @zen-art yes there is that fear of appearing selfish if we are assertive, especially as women, it is crazy that such acts of self care are perceived in such a way.xxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14