Reversing the Damage Done By Facebook etc. - Using Steem To Spread Information Feels Like Being Released From Prison!

in #love6 years ago (edited)

I have been using social networks since their very beginning, way back with tribe.net, which was a great space for meeting thinkers and sharing wisdom. Not long after that though, the control grid of corporate dominance shut down the free thinking and we were left with Fakebooc, Gurgle+ & Pootube. Today, Steem continues to be a breath of fresh air and I feel free.

not love.jpg

I feel this short observation says so much about what is going on here. When tribe.net got bought out by Cisco systems around 2007, I could feel immediately that this was not done to build upon it's success. Sure enough, within weeks, the site was 'breaking' and it's single developer had less and less support. People were syphoned onto Facebook since they had little choice if they wanted to build a social network online using useful tools.

It took many a long time to realise that Facebook is not our friend, but I could see pretty quickly that I now had much less ability to create meaningful threads of conversation and I felt somehow more distant from people.

xlarge.jpg

The reason, I now know, is that Facebook and G+ etc. are heavily filtered and controlled - plus designed to ensure a shallow level of interaction. Just like most of modern corporate culture is shallow and simply designed to exploit people for 'profit', Facebook is not about creating and stimulating growth - rather it is about channelling our energy into forms that can be harnessed by the site operators.

Steem & Blockchains: Reversing the Damage Done By Facebook


Steem and more specifically the blockchain technology that underlies Steem, truly does provide us a way to escape the tyranny of social network domination. When I first began using Steem I was upset that my first 100 posts made almost no money, but I was meeting great people and since I had been using social networks for a decade without making a single penny anyway, I stuck with it. Once I realised that success here requires us to literally give value and useful content to the other users AND to socially connect with others - I began to open up again to being how I was originally on Tribe.

I realised that after a few years of using Facebook, I had become more ANTI social - due to the total failure of Facebook to support real community and interaction. One of the main problems is that Facebook doesn't allow long threads to develop over time and for us to find them easily - the millions of groups makes finding threads almost impossible and even when searching in a known group it can still be hard. The old style of having forums where the lists can be sorted by number of posts, view counts and other metrics is a much better way of organising discussions.. Oh yeah, discussions - remember those? Instead of angry slanging matches? Well, we have them on Steem now, thankfully!

So just as with an abused animal, we have to be rehabilitated into Steem to open up again to being who we really are, instead of the limited versions of ourselves that the limited social networks have turned us into. No more worrying about whether your post is actually being seen by other people due to you possibly not conforming to the behaviour patterns of the system controllers who can limit your post reach as at will. Now your posts are seen by literally everyone, if they want to (and if you use a blockchain explorer other than steemit.com - which is currently censoring posts to conform with legal requests etc.).

Recent Excitement


I will be making a few posts later today about some recent discoveries I have made about Steem that are really showing me it's potential and how amazingly liberating this system can be as compared to the old dinosaur social networks..
Stay Tuned..

Wishing you well,

Ura Soul

Vote @ura-soul for Steem Witness!


vote ura-soul for witness

View My Witness Application Here


(Witnesses are the computer servers that run the Steem Blockchain.
Without witnesses there is no Steem, Steemit, DTube, Utopian or
Busy... You can really help Steem by making your 30 witness votes count!
Don't forget, there are more than the 50 witnesses you see on the witness voting page in steemit.com)


steem ocean - diving deep into the blockchain

Find out your voter rank position at steemocean.com!


ureka.org

I run a social network too!

Sort:  

Steem blockchain will surely destroy the anarchy of facebook. Good post @ura-soul

I agree with most of what you wrote here.
I hate FB more than you do, based on my personal experience with them and because I may be better at hating.
With all of the criticism about Youtube, part of which I agree upon, they are nowhere near as bad.
Remember demonetization is more of the advertisers' initiation, not much Youtube's.
Youtube care for their own income, which is legitimate.
I also have to thank Google for Gmail, which I use for years.
Yes, they mine my data, and at times I feel like they also mine some POW currencies, but overall Google is more good than bad.
Better than FB and better than Microsoft, although the latter one is debatable.
They are also better than Mozilla and AAPL if u ask me.
As bad as steemit is, fact is I use it so much, and as bad as Youtube is, fact is I use it so much.
Youtube has more relevant competitors than steemit has.
Chrome and its "derivatives" does not have relevant competition, Firefox is much worse, except for 2 precious plugins for video downloads.

I suggest watching 'Google and the World Brain' to learn insights into what has really been motivating Google all along.

You got a 22.08% upvote from @luckyvotes courtesy of @stimialiti!

You got a 14.81% upvote from @sleeplesswhale courtesy of @stimialiti!

You got a 36.36% upvote from @proffit courtesy of @stimialiti!
Send at least 0.01 SBD/STEEM to get upvote , Send 1 SBD/STEEM to get upvote + resteem

Almost in every country people are complaining about facebook. Starting from selling data to politicians as well as grouping people to ad maps. Me, 12 years on facebook get nothing but fake friends. Now even worse, facebook is becoming a fake news spread / hoak and a group of people spread misguided information without any limitations. Do we still want to stay on facebook?

Yes, at least people have had enough now!

The era of traditional social networks likes Facebook, Google plus and Twitter is coming to an end, as more and more people now realized that their personal information's are not safe on these sites like Facebook and Google plus because they work in hands with the government . People now realized that decentralized social networks are the way for the future because they not only create valuable contents for their followers nut there also earn from their daily engagement and content created on the network. Steemit is the savour and answers for future social interaction and engagements @ura-soul

I could never understand FB, people are conditioned by them and become addicted to meaningless and useless ways of spending their time. Steemit not only rewards authors we also have many great projects and initiatives here that really help people. Thank you for sharing this message.

You are welcome. FB does a lot to limit the spread of information, often limiting the spread of information about Steemit. I have video of my comments literally being deleted from facebook in real time when they contained steemit links. We need more exposure for Steem, which is why the work of @promo-steem is so important.

For me, Steemit is the best social network out there. It's always a relief to be compensated for the good contents one create. Instead of striving for likes on Facebook, steemit users strive to be better content creators . Steemit is more financially advanced than Facebook. The whole world needs to be on steem.

When i discover steemit i forget all about facebook or other socials network.
It's the best platform for me.

Hi @ura-soul i wanna tell you that Ned invited you on SMTs Telegram :) https://t.co/FiXSp02Ba0

Thanks, I actually already joined very recently ;)

Thank you for the value you just add to steemit like you always do.

The only regret I have and will still be having about steemit is that I know about it so late, after wasting away my precious time using facebook and some other social platforms.. But I'm glad have to later find my steemit. Smile

Please, I will like to make use of the picture you used above where facebook is eating up all the money if you can grant the permission sir?

I'm waiting anxiously to read about all the new discoveries, I'm sure it will help in meeting one need or the other..

Stay blessed

Sure, that image isn't mine - it's just one that I found somewhere on facebook a while ago. :)

Alright, thanks sir

I dumped facebook long time ago, never use it, but when ever I see a good post I press the icon on the post to share there, but never go there to chat or so.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87