the effects of mental illness

in #love6 years ago

all right guys this might just be a big story, and I'm going to have to give some background before the actual story starts

so lets rewind to about 2 months ago

at that stage me and my ex girlfriend were dating and it all got very serious, like I love this woman to death, and I know she loved me, but if I knew then what I did now I would not be sitting here and writing this post, yet, here we are. we decided that we would move in together , I left my home town to be with her, and man was that a scary step to take. just packed up and moved in with her as soon as I got a job in her city, which is about a 4 hour drive away.

at the initial stages we were house sitting so I didn't really get to settle in for the first two weeks, which was okay because I was with the love of my life every single day which made me feel a lot better about the whole situation

so here comes the big scene... Depression, I have struggled with Bi-Polar disorder and I used to get treatment but left that years ago, because smart me thought and to a certain extent believed that I was better and I don't need them
well turns out I did

the stress of starting a new job, moving very far and not having a support system got to me heavily, to the stage where I would have manic episodes again, something that hasn't happened to in years, it was a whirlwind this much I can tell you. 13974181800_13b32acb45_o_0.jpg

so, after this started taking over my mind, everything got foggy, and it still is a little bit I started making huge decisions without thinking stuff I always felt bad about after, and doing the classic stuff depressed people do. like withdraw, I didn't talk to my ex girlfriend about how I was feeling and I can fully say that led to the demise of our relationship.

I moved back to my home town after a very straining couple of weeks and I was back in my home town, I should feel better right? no I feel even worse now, do I regret leaving and moving back home? A MILLION TIMES YES
my judgement was heavily clouded by whatever is taking over my mind, and I lost track of myself but also of this person, this person that is so important to me, this person that I love and I believe is my soulmate. I have hurt this person so deeply that she will never ever forgive me. C if you are reading this I am so very sorry for everything that I have done to you.

but I digress. i am back in my home town and I've gone to the psychologist and had a massive conversation and he prescribed medication, that I should have been on for years. and I have been taking them religiously.

but this whole thing made me realize that a mental illness can have a major effect on you yes, but also the people around you, your decisions and actions hurt other people, and I know when you are feeling so bad/low/tired/drained, you don't really see past your own issues, but I wish I did! I wish I could go back in time and correct some of my actions

and not eventually lose the love of my life. but you live and you learn right.

Sort:  

Congratulations @whereisruan! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @whereisruan! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06