LoveFriday - Bringing smiles

in #lovefriday5 years ago

For this week #LoveFriday challenge initiated by my dear friend, @liliana.duarte, I thought to share something related to the nice custom to give presents to the loved ones (and not only).

WaterMark_2018-12-07-15-41-32.jpg

Yesterday it was Saint Nicholas, the first of the winter holidays. People from many parts of the world prepared their shoes and waited for the nice old man to leave some gifts.
We did the same and old St. Nick did not disappoint us. But there is something else I want to share with you.

Our company is hosting a charity event around Christmas and every year more and more people participate. Basically, we become Santa for unfortunate children. The whole month of November is dedicated to collecting letters from kids. They write to Santa Claus expressing their wishes and asking for presents. These letters are then being distributed to us (to those willing to bring smiles, and I must say, nobody declined this pleasure so far 🙂).
This year I picked two letters as I wanted to compensate for the year I was away.

The first letter is from a little girl who wishes nothing else but health and joy for her grandma...and if it's not too much trouble, a pair of baggy jeans. I cannot help with the health request (I will try to find out if some money are required though) but I will send this little angel two pairs of jeans and a nice jacket (similar to the one I bought for my daughter).

The second letter....simply broke my heart. A little boy who dreams of becoming a football player wants a pair of waterproof boots. He has to cross a creek in order to reach school and the shoes he has are always wet and cold. Life is so unfair for these poor kids. Of course, I will buy him boots and sports shoes. And some things, football related (full gear and a ball).

Doing good deeds is supposed to make you happy but... I cannot stop thinking that Santa comes once a year. What happens with them after the winter madness is gone and things are back to normal?
I hope I will be able to help them further. After all, there is Easter Bunny and more other opportunities to give presents. 🙂

Have a great weekend!


Check out the challenge started by me and @erikah, SeasonChallenge. We would love to learn about your impressions towards the Winter (these being the theme until 28th of February).

steemit-border

Picture1.png

QvAAKWXl.gif
Member of The Steemian Directory
QvAAKWXl.gif
Logopit_1526205802368.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

I was really touched by your post. Thanks👏🌞

Thank you, my dear! I hope to i spire peoe to do something nice for those who are less fortunate. And not only for Christmas. 🙂

I am sure you did it🌹💕

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Many thanks for your support.

I already knew, but now I' m sure you are a wonderful person. That is a beautiful gesture, thanks for inspiring us:)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, my dear.
I wish I could do more. Helping other is what Christmas should be about. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87