How to Easily Batch Resize your Images on a Mac!

in #mac6 years ago (edited)

Would you like to know how to easily batch resize your images on a Mac just using a built-in application because if you are working with a lot of images like I do, this will be useful for you.

How to Easily Batch Resize your Images on a Mac!

If you are reading my posts on Steemit, you have certainly noticed that I have a lot of screenshots in my tutorials or a lot of photos for my travel posts.

Resizing images is one of those things that can take you a lot of time when you have 20 to do. I have been resizing all my images to 1,000 pixels for Steemit using Automator on Mac and it is great when you have more than 20 to resize frequently.

You may want to read the post here: How to Resize Images Automatically with Automator on Mac!

Today, I am showing you a simpler method that everyone can start to use now.

How to Easily Batch Resize your Images on a Mac!

First, I prepared a folder with 5 screenshots that I am going to resize.

Screenshots always have different sizes like you see below where the width is 1,310, 1,305 or 1,309. This is too large and I want them to be all the same width.

How to Easily Batch Resize your Images on a Mac!

The first thing is to select them all in the window using the keyboard shortcut "Cmd + A."

How to Easily Batch Resize your Images on a Mac!

Then, you click right and select "Open With" and "Preview."

How to Easily Batch Resize your Images on a Mac!

This will open the preview window with all the images in it.

How to Easily Batch Resize your Images on a Mac!

You can use the keyboard shortcut "Cmd + A" or the menu to select them all: "Edit" and
"Select All."

How to Easily Batch Resize your Images on a Mac!

Then, go to "Tools" and "Adjust Size."

How to Easily Batch Resize your Images on a Mac!

This will open this panel where you can select a "Custom" size if you wish.

How to Easily Batch Resize your Images on a Mac!

Instead, I am going to select a default size: "1024 x 768"

Note that "1280 x 720" and "1920 x 1080" are very useful sizes for thumbnails.

How to Easily Batch Resize your Images on a Mac!

So here I have the width: "1024"

The height will be different for each image, but what's important for my blog is to have the same width.

How to Easily Batch Resize your Images on a Mac!

Note that "Scale proportionally" and "Resample image" are checked.

The images were 4.8 MB and they are now 3.2 MB. This is not an optimization tool, but it's still good to see a reduced file size.

Click "OK" when you are ready to resize.

The images are resized now.

How to Easily Batch Resize your Images on a Mac!

Save and close "Preview."

You can verify that the images were indeed properly resized.

How to Easily Batch Resize your Images on a Mac!

This one has the new width of "1024" like all the others.

I bulk-resized all 11 images in this tutorial using this method without problems.

I hope that this is useful for you if you are a Mac user.

Would you upvote this post and follow me for more because this will encourage me to write more posts like this one?

I have categorized my posts on Steemit for easy access:

Steemit tools | Steemit strategies | Steem economics | Steem on WordPress | Blogging on Steemit | Steemit posts I curated | Cryptocurrency | Cryptocurrency trading | Mac computer tutorials | WordPress & online marketing | Self-development & motivation | Travel in Thailand | Travel in Japan | Travel in France | Life in Thailand | Fitness challenge | Fruit-veggie juices & smoothies | Education | My answers on Quora | Fundition tutorials & projects | Miscellaneous writing

You may prefer to go to my Steemit Posts Directory.

The most important votes you can make on Steem are for Witnesses. The top 20 witnesses can influence the addition or removal of features in future Steem hard forks. Read my post: What is a Steem Witness, How to Vote and Why?

Michel Gerard

www.michelgerardonline.com

Sort:  

Thanks for your information about Easily Batch Resize Images on a Mac.

Thank you very much for commenting @omg04.

@gmichelbkk
Another helpful informative post..
Resteemed

Thank you so much @anishag. I am glad this is useful for you.

Very well and nice information sir about resize images on Mac , I think this is info is not anywhere I read.....you are great you all blogs are awesome or helpful for all .

Thank you very much @aliwajid for your kind words. I am glad this is useful for you.

Thnx for good information.

My pleasure.

Hi can you please help me and advice me why my prifile score is still 25 it is not increasing? As i am continues active on steemit still profile score is same please advice me thanx in advance.

You need upvotes on your posts to see the reputation increase.

ok thank you for suggestion :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25