peacock feather exploration, close-up and fabulous

in #macrophotography6 years ago (edited)



Quick Personal Update

Hello Steemians; friends and readers. It's been a while since I've posted. Life gets hectic and sometimes you have to put something on the back burner and unfortunately, Steemit is what got shifted back while I focused on kids and end of school activities. With summer starting soon, I'm hoping to get back to my weekly posts again. Now, onto the pretties!!! <3

steemit-HR-01.png

For my birthday in May I got a new toy for my camera, a Micnova macro extension tube. It extends the distance between the lens and the camera, which lets it focus on objects closer than it normally would. This magnifies the object being photographed by enabling a lens to focus closer than its normal set minimum focusing distance. It has three parts that you can use separately, or combine them to get a variety of extension lengths. It's a cheaper way to start taking macro shots instead of dropping a ton of cash on a fancy macro lens.


image credit: myself, iPhone 6s

steemit-HR-01.png

I really love macro photography, especially getting a closer look at the beauty of nature. I took about a hundred pictures of this peacock feather, and ended up with a handful that really stood out. One of the things I love about peacock feathers is you can get a variety of colors based on how the light is hitting the pigments in them. I haven't adjusted the colors or levels. I've selected the few that I think are the most interesting and I hope you enjoy them!

WhiteSpace.png

12mm extension tube, 18mm lens, f/5.6, Exposure 1/60


click on image for larger view

WhiteSpace.png

32mm extension tube, 18mm lens, f/5.6, Exposure 1/60


click on image for larger view

WhiteSpace.png

36mm extension tube on 18mm lens, f/6.3, Exposure 1/80


click on image for larger view

WhiteSpace.png

36mm extension tube, 18mm lens, f/5.6, Exposure 1/80


click on image for larger view

WhiteSpace.png

68mm extension tube (all 3 combined), 18mm lens, F/5.6, Exposure 1/30


click on image for larger view

steemit-HR-01.png

What are your favorite things to photograph up close? What are some other items/objects that would work well for macro photography fun? Drop a comment and let me know. Have a wonderful day ya'll!

Sort:  

This is awesome.
You've got some master skills.

Thanks @gamsam. That is very kind of you to say. 😀


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Hi leathertinker,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Congratulations! this post got an upvote by @steemrepo and was manually picked by the curator @gamsam to be added on STEEM REPOSITORY, simply comment "YES" and we upload it on STEEM REPO Website.
Want to know more about the Steem Repo project? Contact us on Discord

Oh @leathertinker... these shots are gorgeous!! The colors are beautiful and so vibrant... I haven't had experience in taking pictures with anything other than my cell phone. And Happy belated Birthday!!

Thank you for the birthday thoughts and for your kind words. I'm new to photography with a non-phone camera (since Christmas 2017), and I'm really loving it!

I love these! Kind of amazing how different these all are in look and feel. Not just the colors, you did a great job compositionally. Second from the bottom almost looks like textile, like a rug. The photo immediately above that (3rd from bottom) is my favorite, love the bokeh in that shot!

I hope to see more from your new lens, you obviously have a great eye for macro photography.

Much love - Carl

Thank you very much @carlgnash. I hope I can continue delivering exciting macro shots.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-11T18:21:57
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 61.65/100.00
Total Photos: 11
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations @leathertinker! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Insane magnification! Wow! Do you need a tripode for that kind of shooting?
What about aperture?
And what if to add these tubes to macro lense, let's say Canon Macro 100mm? Will you see the microbes on the peacock feather? :)

I started out with no tripod, and quickly realized I needed one. The pictures looked great on the camera’s small view finder, but looked blurry when viewed larger. I dug out my tripod and tried again, and that’s how I got these. The aperture ranges from 5.6 to 6.2, depending on the shot, I can go back to the image info and add that in the morning (it’s 12:43am here) ☺️
I don’t have a true macro lens yet, but I would guess that it would be pretty amazing. The paperwork says it works with canon AF lenses, but I found the manual focus gave me more control. Adding in a remote shutter release too would probably help with the blurring I was getting from pressing the shutter manually.

Thanx!
Yeah, i think even 2 sec shutter delay will work fine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71