Cold weather macro shots - [Original Photography]

in #macrophotography5 years ago (edited)

Hey guys

It's been a while since I posted any macro shots and finding these was hard work. The impending winter makes it the worst time of year for an insect macro photographer but after some really hard searching I did find some worthy subjects. As per usual, shot with my Sigma 105 Macro. Hope you like them; don't forget to click them for a larger version.

IMG_8744.jpg

IMG_87372.jpg

IMG_8722.jpg

IMG_8728.jpg

Thanks for looking

Mark

Sort:  

Hmmm all of them look much more beautiful and adorable in these shots. Looks like magic, because otherwise I won't really care when I see them in real XD.

I'm always amazed at how amazingly well built the insect world is. All of the hairs and armour.

Great shots, I just love insect eyes. It always makes me wonder exactly what they see. The ladybug was pretty awesome as well, it almost felt like it was antiqued. Poor thing has worn some of the color off its shell.

If you mean the slightly whiter section, that is the reflection from the flashlight softbox that i use when shooting these images :)

Well not necessarily the spot from the flash, the color is much lighter almost a gray color where the elytra attach to the body. It probably isn't from wear, but it looks cool. I had to go inspect a couple and 2 out of 5 I caught had lighter coloring there as well... If you wanted ladybugs, we have had an infestation the last couple of days. When it warms up after being cold, they swarm the house outside. It seems like they are attracted to the color white.

Fascinating your macro photographs, I have a rokinon 28-80 manual has cost me to make macros for being manual to find a good point of focus is a headache however the achieved some interesting catches.

if you lived here in venezuela you would have the opportunity all year round to do macro to the insects, the tropics allow more species to reproduce and the best throughout the year. although there are evidently times that are of some insects specifically.

I love the photo of the fly and ladybug, they are all great but those are my favorites, great sharpness and good depth of field management.

Good job, thanks for sharing.

I leave you a macro photo I did recently.

Lovely shot. On my canon i use a bit of software called Magic Lantern which has a feature called Focus Trap. This takes and exposure as soon as the focus point comes into focus. Makes it so much easier to get shots in focus.

Dude, this is insane. Bloody amazing. I LOVE love love the first photo the most. Are those eyes naturally red? Like is that how the photo came out? That's so crazy. I didn't even know you could take photos like this. I'm over here trying to get the focus on a giant building or a mountain range and you're locking it on a fly or a lady bug. Stunned at how cool these are.

The detail on the lady bug is sick. I can see the texture or bumps on its body. Floored by this man.

Great work and thanks for sharing. As a photographer I will definitely be looking into doing something like this. I think these are fantastic. Cheers!

The eyes are naturally red. Maybe not naturally as red as they appear here (i did increase the contrast and saturation a little bit).

Thanks for the comments, much appreciated.

Crazy man, had no idea that's how they looked in such good focus. I guess in my mind I saw their eyes as black or a bunch of little eyes. We're all adding a little saturation and contrast so I see no problem there. Fantastic stuff man.

Thanks again for sharing!

Beautiful and artistic photos. I like how the eye is guided by the debth of field and how you keep the colors consistent.

Particularly in the first one with the red eyes really popping out but at the same time in harmony with the rest of the picture.

Thanks for the comment. I am trying to develop a "style" in my macro shots which is different to most. Keeping that consistent across a number of different subjects is hard.

Ones own style is something every artist wants to achieve eventually. I still remember how I was searching for that in my younger years... in the end it just happens, although it always changed a bit over the years. And yes, still keeping it consistent isn't easy!

Looking at these pictures makes me unsure if I should feel shivers or wonder. These are awesome shots and it's amazing how much focus today's lenses could get.

"The impending winter makes it the worst time of year for an insect macro photographer"

Shouldt it be the other way around? Hahah it's cold so the animals move slower and you should have more time haha :D Byt maan, those pictures are crazy. My fav is the last one :)

True enough. They do move slower but it took me a good hour to find four of these non-moving subjects :) In the summer it's a bugfest!

Beautiful pictures, you have captured the insects very well. The world of insects is really impressive they are so many different shapes and colors and all looking different from each other. My favorite in your series of course ladybird, always loved them, the most interesting mechanism is their under wings, those are normally folded and hidden behind the protectors. Thank you for sharing like them very much :)

Thanks for the comment, glad you liked them

They look like painted, Mark! Beautiful photos. All those details and colors..stunning! Trying to choose a favorite one but it's not possible 😉

Flies are pretty much always my favourites. I just love the contrast of eyes to body.

Theses are insane Mark.. so well done! The details, the colors.. the mood.. it’s all perfect. 🙌🏼

Thanks, and thanks for taking the risk on the curie sub :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87