Macrophotography ~ Backyard Wildflowers ~ Part II ~ Garlic Mustard

20190508_155018.jpg
(All photos taken by @paradigm42)
Native to Europe and parts of Asia, this member of the mustard family was first introduced and cultivated in the US by early colonists as a source of food and medicine. It is now concidered a serious invasive species in the northeast and throughout the midwest. The plants removal from wild areas when found is highly suggested. Since it is edible and nutritious, you might as well make use of it if you find it!
20190508_155020.jpg
(Not my best photo but I like that I caught the bee mid flight.)
All parts of the plant are concidered edible. The are leaves rich in vitamins A, C and E as well as several key minerals. They give off a garlic smell when chrushed and can be cooked or used in salads. It is best to use young leaves as they grow bitter as they mature. The seeds can be used as a pepper substitute and can vary in intensity. The leaves can also be used to make a tasty pesto sause from what I read though I have yet to try it.
20190601_005214.jpg
Garlic Mustard has some medicinal uses. It can be used as an antiseptic in a poultice for wounds and ulcers. It also has qualities that make it useful for treating bronchitis and asthmatic symptoms.
20190508_155056.jpg
I hoped you enjoyed this look at yet another unassuming and underrated wildflower. This one with positive uses yet invasive consequences..
Classification source:
https://www.wildflowersearch.org/search?
Information gathered from:
https://www.ediblewildfood.com/blog/2012/04/eating-garlic-mustard-is-a-win-win/
https://www.eatweeds.co.uk/garlic-mustard-alliaria-petiolata
As always thanks for looking in! :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @paradigm42! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 100

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

wow you got very nice macroshots 👍

by the way dear , thanks for joining #up-gage , kindly comment on chris the vbatman's post too , so he would know that you recommended his post , and i will upvote that comment too. thanks!

Thank you very much! :)
I am happy to participate in your awesome initiative! I did leave a comment on his post, though I did not say that I recommended him. I will do that now.

thanks much dear ,appreciate your effort 👍

I think I have seen similar Brassicas gone wild hereabouts. I teased my family this past weekend about dragging a ham sandwich thru the massive landseas of wild yellow mustard, so the concept of using Garlic Mustard for something palatable is more than appealing!

Recipes??(

I love learning about all the wild plants out there that are edible and have medicinal and other uses. I don't know of any recipes to give you that I've actually tried yet, but the info links I posted as a bibliography of sorts have some. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86