Take Macro Photographs on a Budget

in #macrophotography6 years ago

Take Macro Photographs on a Budget

Marigold.jpg

Click the above photo to enlarge

Would you like to take some great macro photos without breaking the bank for some expensive glass? Or do you just want to experiment taking some interesting close ups once in a while? Have you ever considered macro extension tubes?

Extension tubes work by physically increasing the focal length of your lens. Because there’s no glass in the tube they cost way less than an equivalent lens. Hundreds of times less! Admittedly, you’re not going to get the same quality results as you would with an expensive dedicated macro lens, but you’ll still be able to have fun and take some decent macros.

Macro extensions are available with mounts for most of the popular digital cameras. They also come in 2 versions. The least expensive one is the very basic tube which includes the camera mount and lens mount as well as several different length tubes. This type costs around $15 USD on Amazon. You will also have to manually adjust the aperture on your lens, which isn’t a problem if you have a manual lens. For more money you can get the version which contains the electronic connections which allow your camera to communicate with your lens. This way you can adjust the aperture from the camera and receive the metadata from the lens. You can pay about $50 USD and up for this type. However, it’s still a lot less than the macro lens.

Here's my setup:

It the basic no frills least expensive extension tube for my Canon.

Tubes.jpg

It comes in a 5 piece kit. 7 mm, 14 mm and 21 mm tubes plus a camera connector and a lens connector

TubePieces.jpg

The camera connector

cameraConnection.jpg

The lens connector

LensConnection.jpg

I'm using an 85 mm prime lens. All manual

Lens.jpg

The total assembly

Assembled.jpg

The assembly mounts easily and securely to the camera

CameraWithTubes.jpg

What magnification can I expect from this set up?
Here’s the math:
First thing that you’ll need is the magnification factor for the lens that you are going to use. You usually can find that information on-line.
The mag factor for my lens is 0.08
Next you’ll need the length of the extension tube that you are using. I combined 3 pieces to give me a total of 49 mm.
To get the magnification that the tube adds simply divide the tube length by the focal length of the lens. In my case I’m using an 85 mm lens.
49/85 = 0.58
So I’m getting an increase magnification of 0.58 and the total increase is
0.08 + 0.58 = 0.66 lens plus tube.
Also my camera has an APS – C sensor with has a crop factor of 1.6 which increases the magnification as well.
0.66 x 1.6 = 1.05
This gives me a 1:1 subject to image ratio which is what you would expect to get from a macro lens.

Here are a few examples that I took a few days ago. For these shots I used an aperture setting of f/5.6 and set my camera to aperture priority. I think that I can stop down my aperture a bit more to increase the DOF. I'm still experimenting.

PinkAndWhite_1.jpg

PurpleFlower_2.jpg

PurpleFlower_3.jpg

RedFlower_1.jpg

WhiteFlower_2.jpg

YellowFlower_2.jpg

Bud.jpg

yellowFlower.jpg

Hay.jpg

This is my entry in #macrophotography by @juliank and @photocontests daily photography contest.

Check out my How to click to enlarge your photo tutorial

All photos, images and text in my posts are my original work.

Please visit my galleries on the following sites:
Society6
Fine Art America

Follow me on Facebook

Enjoy!

Roger

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

asapers 2.png
Banner by @shai-hulud

Sort:  

That's really awesome Roger; great tips here, because you're so right, you can totally break the bank on some camera "essentials"!

Thank you so much Lynn!

I think this is the best #macrophotography post I've seen on Steemit, because you're not just sharing your awesome photos, you're sharing your process. Excellent stuff, and CONGRATULATIONS on being Curied!!!!!

Thank you Traci! I appreciate your comments! That was pretty cool about being curied! This was a post that I've been wanting to do for a while now, I just finally got around to it.

You're very welcome, Roger! 😊

What beautiful photos you took for us, i hace a question, how about the tubes for be better quality in our cell Phone camera, thanks.

Thank you for your comments! These type of tubes only work on cameras with removable lenses. There may be some kind of attachment that would work on your cell phone, but I don't have any experience with them.

Ok dear we bougth some for try how good are this for took photos from nature.

These work great for nature photos. You will have to get close to your subject, so they won't work too well for busy insects like bees! Have fun! Let me know if you have any questions.

Really nice explanation, not to mention picks..they are nice..and have some strange feeling to it..its hard to explain..

Thank you for your comments! Macros give you a whole different perspective of the subject that's probably why they give you that strange feeling!

Impressive outputs with budget setup, very well done indeed!

Thank you for your comments!

Hi rwedegis,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Thank you so much!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-14T16:24:36
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 2943.16/3200.00
Total Photos: 251
Total comments: 81
Total contest wins: 26
And have also received a 2.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

My fellow macro photography. you did excepcional job with this post. Love it. Just love it.
We love to have you taking part at HORROR FROM THE FOREST macro GAME, check it out:
https://steemit.com/macrophotography/@marjanko/wellcome-to-horror-from-the-forest-the-game-round-1-win-2sbd-in-24h

Thank you for your comments and invitation. I'll check it out!

For shure❤️ Love to have you! Enjoy the weekend 🍀

I always love your photos in your posts @rwedegis! You always take great shots! Thanks for sharing :)

Thank you for the compliments @spreadyourword! I appreciate them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63671.94
ETH 3040.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01