Looks Like I Was Right All Along

in #magicdice5 years ago

Some time ago I had a chat with a steemian and the discussion led to how to use your SP, what's the best strategy and so on. This is how Magic Dice came into discussion. I was told that it was the best at that moment, you can get the most from them if you delegate.

bang-head-against-brick-wall.jpg

source

I'm a bit different than many others here, I told the person I'm not supporting games and gambling and don't gamble or play games either. The user tried to convince me that I don't have to play and delegating is not like paying. he said it's a very good idea. In my humble opinion even though you are not playing, if you delegate to them, you're supporting them in what they do and I can't support gambling as many people are going to lose. The discussion became awkward and it wasn't clear to me why the user wanted so much to convince me. Maybe he wanted my approval to know he's doing the right thing, I don't know.

Long story short, this morning I saw a blog, the user stated that he was upset last night because of Magic Dice. I didn't pay much attention to it, I thought he lost and that was that upset him. Now I was reading @bozz's post to find out what's really happened.

Well, well!!! Don't get me wrong, I'm not happy, not for a second! I'm sad that it happened again, another dapp went to hell and people got burned! This is not nice, not by far! It's not the first and unfortunately not the last! History has the habit of repeating itself.

Call me old school, old fashioned, use whatever word you want but I like to be in control of my finances and do the best I can to grow. This way I can only blame myself for being unsuccessful! Yes, only myself! I can blame myself for what I did or didn't do. It's easier to blame someone else, I know that and it's harder to admit that you were wrong or you could have done better.

To be totally transparent, I have two delegations, 25SP to Steem-UA and 100 to Actifit. I believe in both projects and I see the benefits. That amount of SP is something I can spare and besides, I see the benefits, it's not a waste of resources.

Delegation is good, I'm not against it but you have to be careful who you delegate to. I'm not a spring chicken any more, I've seen a thing or two in my life, both steemian and real life and know that not everything that's shining is made of gold.

As far as this platform is concerned, my experience tells me there are no shortcuts or I'm dumb and don't know about them. Hard work and consistency on the other hand pays off. There are plenty of opportunities to earn but you have to show up every day and invest your time and knowledge. We all have different skills and there are projects for everyone. If you're really interested and willing to work hard, you can find a project that suits you and you can contribute to building a strong community.

Again, I'm not gloating here, I'm not mocking anyone. I'm sorry about what's happened and hope it won't happen again, although I'm pretty certain it will.

This is a fantastic place if you're willing to invest time to learn the game, which is changing constantly. HF20 changed a lot of things, we had to learn, test, experience things and choose the best strategy. HF21 with the 50/50 split is going to change the game again. Will it be better for us? Maybe, or maybe not, or maybe for some. I'm not afraid of it, looking forward to the changes and waiting to learn the new game.

All I can say is be in control of your finances, don't look for shortcuts, do the right thing and build your empire.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you.

I too didn't get roped in by the hooplah surrounding the game. I played Steem Monsters and it was okay but no real return outside of wasting lots of time playing.

I get that people want to play games and gaming is a big part of our internet culture nowadays, but I hesitate very much from jumping in with both feet like lots of people did, for this very reason! I only delegate to projects and communities that I participate in and get some benefit from helping them out.

I saw another post about Drug Wars; they wanted 150 Steem or something for their tokens and when you turned around and tried to sell it back it was only actually worth 9 Steem. People are unfortunately getting fleeced left and right!

Looks like we are alike :) I keep seeing posts about Steem Monsters and other games but I'm not playing any of those. Me too, I delegate only to those who I believe do something good. Games are very popular and I understand people playing but apart from the fact that are very addictive, take up all your time.
Drug Wars was a dead end as well. What a shame.
The only game I would be willing to play is geography and IQ but I bet no one is interested in those 😀

That's funny you mention Steem-UA. I pulled my delegation from them quite a while ago. After seeing little communication and even less development/improvement from them I decided it was best to just cut ties.

It's ok, no worries, I believe we have plenty of dapps to choose from :)

I think steem monsters is the only game that actually has a future and it’s not just a money spinner but it’s actually fun to play and has seen a lot of development since release!

While I’m no gambler and I wouldn’t get into it some people like it and enjoy playing but the house will always win! At the end of the day it’s a business or in this case a scam! It’s unfortunate but I think we should be open minded about opportunities we never know which one will take off there just should be due diligence and should not just be about where I can get the lose return for the least amount of effort! If you want to be a passive investor there’s plenty of bots you can get behind

Posted using Partiko iOS

Of course we have to be open minded, that is key here and everywhere basically. However, I have my own set of rules and would never support gambling. I don't mind if others do but I won't.

Good advice! The landscape is constantly changing and there are no real shortcuts, only hard work!

I'm glad you too see it that way.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by erikah from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you!

You got a 9.60% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @erikah! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Thank you very much.

I suspected Magic Dice from the very start and never even tried it. I don't know who's behind the game, but after I saw who was promoting it I steered away from it like the plague.

In fact, I even removed a lot of my Witness votes recently - because they were supporting that same guy.

onjic5osu7.png

I don't know who is/was behind it but it's not nice what's happened.

I don't know but the ones promoting it were the same guys who have been involved in stupid flag wars since I joined this network, over a year ago. And they're still at it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21